We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & comfortable”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I was part of a large-ish group that descended on Foyles for a wedding in mid September. Myself and two friends shared a family room up on the second floor - which had 3 single beds & a double bed. More than perfect for what we needed (including the exercise associated with climbing stairs clearly not good if you have limited movement etc). The room was super large, 2 windows (lots of light), over looked the street which got a bit noisey (but highly likely it was some of the other guests associated with the wedding, not the locals). The room had a door which could be used to close off the room for some privacy but you needed to open it to get tot he bathroom. No mini fridge. Our shower was a bit weak, but our other friends said they had no complaints about theirs. Hotel breakfast was great, though I couldn't stay there longer than 2 nights or I'd be fat as a house from it - full Irish & croissants & cereal & juice.. nom nom nom! Parking - not onsite, all on the street - there are parking meters & restrictions out front (not sure on how strict the parking cops are). Free parking in the nearby streets or just down the hill in the free council parking area. Bar downstair was fine, girl staffing it was over her head with a handful of customers & their orders, didn't cope well when the other 15 people showed up. Hopefully she was new & has mastered it now..

FYI - Irish tap water is a bit special, I suggest if you aren't local, buy shampoo products when you get there and they may be produced with local pH balances in mind i.e. they may rinse out slightly easier (yes, this may seem petty, but when you have a lot of hair & 3 girls are trying to get their hair done for a wedding it's important to meeting time frames!)

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed here due to a wedding we were attending near by. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nothing flash, but really not a problem unless you were expecting 5 star luxury. Breakfast was good and brought out quickly. Absolutely no complaints from our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel is right in the centre of clifden which is a stunning place.
The bedrooms are a bit dated and could do with an update.
The hotel bar is very funky and isn't what you'd expect from looking at the rest of the hotel.
There was great music(more suited to youger people) the nite we were there.
The breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

....then this hotel may appeal to you. There is absolutely no sound insulation in the hotel. You can hear a pin drop two floors up - not to mention drunken people fumbling with their keys trying to open their doors. We Stayed for one night and it was 4am before we managed to get to sleep and that was only because we wedged our ears with toilet paper! There is a bar there that had a music session going till at least 3am - had to call reception twice to ask to keep the noise down, my requests were ignored. I think this hotel would suit young groups of people who wanna party and would only be going to bed at that time anyway - but for a rmoantic getaway or a family vacation try elsewhere.

Appart from the noise factor - the hotel is really dated, the equipment in our room (phone,tv) was reminiscent of the stephen king film - the Shining . yes that old.

Smell of must throughout the place - especially the bar. lots of water dripping don the walls in the smoking area.

On a postive note - the girl at reception was very friendly and couldnt do enough to help us - good old fashioned irish hospitality.

Botton line - we will never go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Me and my husband have enjoyed a lovely stay in foyles hotel cliften. We are greeted at reception with a smile. Our room is lovely with big comfy beds and spacious bathrooms and clean. We look forward to our breakfast in foyles as we have inquired because they taste so good is handmade sausages and pudding from the local butcher that are to die for on the breakfast menu . This hotel is run by a local family so you are getting a true welcome when you stay and alot of local infomation and advise with where to go if needed . The marconi restaurant in the hotel is excellant the chef puts on specials depending on seasons so we are always spoilt for choice. We always look forward to dining their when we stay. The hotel has its own bar and outdoor smoking area and they have the best selection of bands playing there. Me and my husband enjoy a delightfull stay

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack13Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.3 km away
Clifden Station House
2.3 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
0.0 km away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
328 reviews
7.4 km away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: RM380 - RM580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing