We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shealane Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Glanleam House(Valentia Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ring of Kerry Hotel(Cahersiveen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butler Arms Hotel(Waterville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Dwyers The Villa(Waterville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derrynane Bay House(Caherdaniel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caitins(Cahersiveen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
199
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomacross the bridgeskellig michaelb bring of kerryfrench toastfull irish breakfastwonderful hostsboat tripbeautiful viewtoastieslast juneenjoyed our visitthought of everythingfluffy towelsperfect staysmall fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This was one of our favorite stays in Ireland. It was spotlessly clean and well appointed (there were even washcloths). Mary was awesome. She arranged for us to take a boat to Skellig Michael which proved to be one of the highlights of our two week trip. Parking was easy and the location was ideal. Beds were comfy, too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank urbancroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Shealane is open until mid-September 2016 before closing for the winter -- if you are traveling to Portmagee/Valentia Island, you still have time to enjoy one of the most lovely, comfortable, and perfectly located B&B's in Ireland!! Everything about Shealane is exceptional. We were traveling as a family of five (2 parents and 3 adult children). We have become 'spoiled travelers' through the years and have been blessed to stay in fantastic hotels, resorts, and B&B's. As you cross the bridge from Portmagee to Valentia Island, you sense you are entering a very special place. You see the red Shealane House as you drive onto the island. From the moment we pulled into the driveway until it was time to leave, everything about our stay was truly perfect. Mary and Jim have created a beautiful space for travelers to come and rest, explore from, enjoy beauty beyond what we expected in this area, and delight in the best of breakfasts each morning. Mary and Jim are exceptional hosts and have created an atmosphere of what five star hospitality looks like. Their home is welcoming and comfortable, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very, very clean, you have a personal tea/coffee service set up in each room, bottles of water, the most comfortable of beds, fabulous bathrooms with plenty of soaps and towels, and one of the things we immensely enjoyed were the views from every window of their home - fields of flowers, farms, views of the harbor, and mountains in the distance. Mary greeted us and showed us to our rooms. I had communicated with Mary before arriving and her response time and assistance was fantastic. Mary was even able to get us 5 spaces on the Landing Tour for the Michael Skellig Mountain, when I had tried and tried for two months to no avail. Sadly, the weather did not cooperate so the boat tours were cancelled for almost four days which included three of the days we were there. Sometimes, these sorts of things bring about blessings in disguise!! Mary and Jim suggested a few hikes on Valentia, the Skellig Ring drive, a fish restaurant that the locals enjoy in Portmagee, a fabulous fish restaurant in Cahirciveen - The Point (which is fun to take the 5 minute ferry ride to from Valentia), a local ice cream shop and more. We embarked on the Bray Head Loop Walk on a blustery day with on and off misty showers and periods of the sun breaking through -- what a fantastic walk through fields of the most colorful flowers, fantastic cliffs along the Atlantic Ocean with the wind creating fantastic breakers on the rocks, cows grazing along the paths, and a vista at the top that gives you an incredible view of Michael Skellig! We LOVED this hike! We had no idea that Valentia Island had SO much to offer!! We feel like there is more to explore on Valentia, so we'll definitely return and be sure to book our reservation at Shealane well in advance! Maybe we'll even get a chance to visit Skellig Island next time ; ) We also highly recommend driving the Skellig Ring - what a gorgeous, even if one of the narrowest drives we did all along the Wild Atlantic Way. Do not miss out on exploring this most spectacular area in Ireland and being blessed by the hospitality of Mary & Jim. Since leaving this area, we have missed our morning conversations with Mary and Jim about life in Ireland, their lives, and events around the globe. Thank you Mary & Jim for making this stop the highlight of our trip!!

Room Tip: I honestly do not think you can go wrong with any room choice.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giftsfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We stayed at the Shealane Country House just a couple of weeks ago and it was the most fabulous B&B experience my family has ever had! My kids enjoyed staying here so much that they didn't want to leave! The hosts Mary and Jim were OUTSTANDING! Mary had corresponded with me over the months prior to our visit and she was so helpful and responsive. She helped my family secure a landing tour onto Skellig Michael and was very pleasant. It was a great treat to finally meet her in person after the months of chatting over email. Mary would provide many suggestions on where to eat and what to do and her suggestions always turned out wonderful. We had two rooms, 4 & 5 to accommodate the four of us. Basically we had the entire downstairs bedroom wing to ourselves. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. Each room had supplies to enjoy tea time and the soaps and shampoos smelled divine. Best of all, the homemade breakfasts are to die for! The made to order menu was excellent, I wanted to try everything! You were guaranteed to start your day with a full and happy stomach. The view from the breakfast room was quite amazing too. Thank you Mary and Jim for making our experience in Ireland one we will never forget! We hope to someday visit Shealane Country House again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank renelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We visted Valentia Island in late May 2016, stayed at Shealane and LOVED the proprietors. When we met Mary there was an immediate bond. Her warm, welcoming fun spirit reminded me of my Irish mother. We only drove half the Ring of Kerry and decided to explore Valentia Island. No other Irish breakfast during our trip compared to the authentic breakfast we enjoyed at Shealane. The rooms were perfect and wonderfully fit into the aura of the island. We hope to return to Valentia island and Shealane. It was a very special place.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lrossi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Beautiful bed and breakfast across the bridge from Portmagee. The views of the harbor, fields of flowers and farms is amazing. A short walk to a few pubs and restaurants. Our room was large and very clean. Comfortable bed and big bathroom. Large windows provide a bright and airy atmosphere. There is a nice patio outside and the breakfast room has a view. Mary was great and helped us book a tour and taxi. Great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CGin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews