We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hotel”
Review of King Thomond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Thomond Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Upon arrival, the hotel appears very nice but we were shuffled to what seemed to be underground rooms...like basement rooms, the restaurant was okay, lacking atmosphere. The locals arrived to listen to traditional Irish music in the main entrance which was interesting but didn't seem well organized. The bar was confusing as it was not open all day and into the evening....only sporadically open. The hotel could be so much better with just a few improvements.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank 2fridad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2015

5 nights is to long to stay in hotel like this. Walking in bad irish weather and to come here to eat and sleep was not nice for wife and me. Bedroom is small. Food picks is not enough and what is there, is not so tasty. Breakfast was not better, no picks at all. Some young people working in restaurant seem to be very unhappy in work and service is no good for me and my wife. Ladies at desk can be too hard to talk with and why I want to leave reveiw. Must work more to make nice place to visiting.

Room Tip: Have room to see the green at the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gunther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Stayed with a cycling group and was very disappointed to say the least. Service was very poor in all areas, room outdated and still had a portable television. Food below par. Tried to make my complaints known, but I was not listened to or understood. Looks good from the outside, but that is deceiving.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Most hospitable and welcoming manager who arranged secure storage for our two bicycles.
Excellent value accommodation with super fresh and tasty breakfast - best hotel of our cycling tour.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here because everything else was booked up during the month of September due to the Matchmaking Festival in Lisdoonvarna. And boy, this hotel really takes advantage of that. We paid about twice as much as we did for any other hotel in all of Ireland (outside Dublin) and it was not worth it. We stayed at some seriously nice hotels in other towns that were far and above nicer than this place, for less than half the price. The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and the lobby is nice, but the rooms are a bit dated and the mattresses were definitely old and lumpy. The telly in the room wouldn't work. Breakfast was a bright spot - we loved everything we ate, and the service was very good at breakfast. But despite the lovely breakfast, I recommend that you plan ahead to avoid getting stuck here because you'll get ripped off on the rate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank BayAreaLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisdoonvarna hotels
0.4 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
271 reviews
0.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
184 reviews
1.9 km away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
317 reviews
0.5 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Thomond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Thomond Hotel

Address: Kilfenora Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland (Formerly White's King Thomond)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: RM216 - RM437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Thomond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Thomond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing