We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place To Relax”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Co Louth
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect Place To Relax”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

On arrival both myself and my partner enjoyed a massage. The treatments were reasonably priced and set our mood for the weekend. We enjoyed a beautiful meal in the restaurant that evening and retired to the Hot Tub which was a lovely experience. The room met all our needs, was spacious and well equipped. All the little touches made the difference. Breakfast in bed not to be missed! ! Location incredible and staff excellent throughout our stay. Cannot fault the Wineport, look forward to our return in the future.

Room Tip: Cannot tip as all rooms have a view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear FiFi64CoLouth,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted that you & your partner enjoyed your stay with us & appreciated so many aspects of the lodge including treatments,your meal, the hot tub & the service your received.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    159
    87
    33
    9
See reviews for
117
675
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have just come back from an overnight stay with dinner in this lovely hotel where the staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met but most importantly they seem to be genuinely happy. Our room was beautiful with the bed set at an angle in the room in order that you could look out at the sunset. The dinner was probably the nicest we have eaten in a long time. The restaurant was almost full which was a good indicator for a cold mucky night in March

Room Tip: We had a luxury room on second floor overlooking lake and it was fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Fredbetty,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & that felt that service was excellent & that your meal was the nicest you had in a very long time. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team here at the lodge.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had dined a couple of times in the past in the Wineport but this was the first time we had stayed there. The location on the lakeside is superb especially if you are lucky enough to catch the sunset across the lake as we were (even at the end of February). The reception was good and friendly and we were very well looked after. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent and as we had found before the food is very good and the wine list almost dangerously so. The lack of paths for walking along the lake is a drawback but that has much more to do with the lack of good walking trails in Ireland than a particular Wineport problem. Glasson is easily accessible even though the road can be a bit off putting because there is no footpath (I hate the Athlone Relief Road address which does no justice to the actual location on the lakeside).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublintourist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Dublintourist12,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed so many elements of your recent stay with us. All of your feedback is greatly appreciated. I have passed your comments on the the rest of the team here in Wineport lodge.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just back from a night at wineport lodge. Truly amazing. Had a massage and facial and it was so relaxing. Following this had dinner in the restaurant and it was the nicest meal I have ever had. Recommend the slow cooked beef. Melt in the mouth. All the staff are so welcoming and friendly they truly make u feel at home. Loved this break from start to finish and will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireDwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear ClaireDwane,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & that you felt Wineport was a little piece of heaven during your break. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team in the lodge.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the hotel for 2 nights for a special occasion. On arrival we were greeted by smiling staff, had our bags brought to our room and given the story of the hotel cat ornaments ;-) we were over the moon to be brought to the top room in the house the Captains Suite! An upgrade compliments of the hotel we couldn't believe it. We were shown the room and when the staff member had left we found prosecco and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us and a letter from the hotel manager advising us of our upgrade and welcoming us to the hotel.
The room was a duplex with comfy couches, large balcony, 2 bathrooms with heated tiling and large windows with electric curtains to add to the luxury of the room. Unfortunately the fire in the living area wasn't working but no doubt would add even more of a warm atmosphere if it was.
We managed to glance over the other suites while passing and have to say they looked very spacious and nicely decorated also.
We ate in the bar and the restaurant and we were delighted with the food. The service you receive from the staff is really attentive but not intrusive and even though the hotel was fully booked we really felt we received individual attention.
While the hotel doesn't have a pool/gym facility it does offer a rooftop hot tub which has some lovely views.
The hotel also offer BMW bikes for free to take out on the trails or up to the village which is a nice extra.
Theres Wifi throughout the hotel and they also have a media room with a Wii if the weather is bad!
All in all it was an amazing weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and only over an hours drive from Dublin. It's by far the nicest hotel break we've experienced in Ireland.
We hope to come back and visit again soon to celebrate our next special occasion.
Thanks to the staff for making it a trip to remember and worth every penny!
Laura & Pete

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Shanzey,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

I am delighted to hear that you & Pete had such an enjoyable stay in Wineport Lodge. We were more than happy to look after you & appreciate all of your positive feedback regarding your time in the Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge for your next special occasion!

Best regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
5.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,845 reviews
1.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
8.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
5.7 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price range (per night): RM810 - RM1,710
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing