We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Sonder

Sonder
Ranked #24 of 112 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Description: A unique coffee & fresh food experience from Chef Martin Anderson , all lifestyle choices catered for , deli style salads , fresh carved fillings , local farm produce & bakery choices , fantastic coffee , organic teas , dairy free & vegan hot chocolate "This must be the place "
Restaurant details
Description: A unique coffee & fresh food experience from Chef Martin Anderson , all lifestyle choices catered for , deli style salads , fresh carved fillings , local farm produce & bakery choices , fantastic coffee , organic teas , dairy free & vegan hot chocolate "This must be the place "
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Anytime we are in the Letterkenny area, travelling from Bangor or to Moville, we always make an effort to call at Sonder. Breakfast is very good - my personal favourite being scrambled eggs and smoked salmon with sourdough - but the lunch is just outstanding. I have enjoyed many stunning Chicken Caesar Salads and, when needing to take food out, the lunch boxes are unbeatable.

Martin Anderson runs a tight ship, while making sure that there is a friendly welcome for all who call.

Recommended!

Thank TouristBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin a, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review , we are absolutely delighted you enjoy your visits with us , we look forward to spoiling you all again soon , Chef Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Feeling overfed after a visit to Sonder to check out the burrito. Service was excellent and very welcoming. The burrito could feed a small family for a week. Parking was easy peasy. And the restaurant is spotlessly clean. Washed down with a very good coffee and a chat with the head chef/patron. Ask for Martin when you visit and say I sent you.

Thank michaelmacginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin a, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review , our burrito certainly is one of our most popular choices and very good value , see you soon I'm sure , Chef anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch with very friendly staff. Had the chicken Caesar salad... best I ever had. It's located on the outskirts of Letterkenny so you don't have to go into the town centre to get good grub!

Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin a, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your honest review, we are delighted you enjoy your visits to Sonder, hard to beat staying out of the traffic in Letterkenny for sure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Too many locals know Martin Anderson, the chef at this establishment, maybe they exaggerate just a little bit when reviewing Sonder. My wife and I visited Sonder for breakfast and discovered a largely unfriendly cafe with very little atmosphere. The breakfast menu is not extensive but we each settled on what we thought were safe options. Two poached eggs and bacon for my wife and three scrambled eggs and bacon for myself. We had a pot of tea for two and later in the meal we were offered a refill. I was a little surprised that toast was not included with my three poached eggs. Our orders arrived after about fifteen minutes my streaky bacon was lovely and crisp, however, eggs were not fully mixed and contained large bits of egg white and for me that was not good. My wife's two poached egg yolks were really hard and not runny. But, that is exactly how she likes them. If it was my meal I would have sent them back to the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robbiefromdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin a, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi thank you very much for taking the time to leave an honest review of your visit with us , we will by all means improve our breakfast choices to ensure your next visit is more pleasurable, Chef anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We ate here recently.
I ordered the chowder. It was a bit thick with too many vegetables. It was almost like a thick stew.
My wife and the couple with us ordered baked potato and a salad. It looked delicious and tasted every bit as good according to them.
The place is lovely with plenty of light and space. There were lots of people coming and going. It does take away too which is excellent.
I will be back here again.

Thank bandd2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin a, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review , our chowder is a unique recipe of ours and is , gluten and dairy free when requested, we will certainly review our recipe to ensure it's not to thick when served again , delighted your friends enjoyed their meal with us , Chef Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonder also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Sonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing