We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clanree”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clanree”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed at the Clanree for two nights, i found the hotel a bit dated and in need of refurbishments. I did really enjoy my stay and the staff were lovely very helpful and friendly. The pool area was great. The rooms were extremely warm in the hotel and the a/c didn't really make a difference.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    333
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
310
426
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First impressions outside are of a modern new hotel and when you enter reception the staircase is imposing and impressive. Staff where excellent helpful and friendly. The spa facilities were good and appeared to be kept clean. On one occasion the spa had run out of towels. The attendant told us "there were no more you will have to use the towels from your room". The girls on reception sorted the problem when I spoke to them something we feel the attendant could and should have done himself. We asked for a non smoking room to the back off the hotel and we were allocated no129 (this a good tip) the main road outside does get extremely busy and very noisy. We found our room to be clean and tidy but in need of modernisation. The furniture would be something akin to a student bedsit. We stayed 2 nights and dined in the bar both nights. We found the food excellent and good value for money although on checking the bill we found it wrong on both occassions. We stayed here as part of a deal and got the room half price at £55 for 2 nights bed only. We really would not like to have paid anymore than that for the room. We feel the hotel has a lot of potential but is let down by the state of the room (we stayed in) and attention to detail. Would we go back.........at that price yes. Full price no.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking room to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Disappointed with stay in Clanree - food in hotel distinctly average - unfortunately I was physically sick in the early hours after eating dinner last night. The cheesecake was disgusting, but of course on mentioning this, both in the restaurant, and at checking out this morning was told that "no one else complained...". Also, the advertised WiFi service was not working throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlsterFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My fiancée and I received a Groupon voucher for Christmas for a stay in the Clanree for two nights. Thank God I hadn't paid for it because there's no way I would. 
We arrived and went to check in, we were greeted by friendly reception staff. We checked in and were handed two glasses of fizzy wine. Or should I say, two dirty glasses of warm fizzy wine. We were left to juggle bags, suitcases and now the fizzy wine. A nice touch, had it been done right. Maybe with someone to help with your bags to your room. 

The room left a lot to be desired. Very dated decore, lamp shades hanging off the lamps, window catch was broken which left a draft coming into the room for the entire trip, ring marks on almost every flat surface, taps on the bathroom sink were so stiff that once you got them on, turning them off was mission impossible. The rubber seal around the bath was coming away which left a build up of what I can only describe as brown gunk? The beds were uncomfortable and the top cover seemed to me to smell of feet. It probably wasn't changed from the last guests who stayed. That only left a thin brown scratchy blanket and a white sheet to sleep under. Everything about the room just seemed grubby. The corridors were the same. Grubby marks around door handles and door frames.  
The bar looked like it had been recently renovated, quite new and modern looking. However not very clean. The menu we were handed was greasy and had bits of food stuck to it, the table was wiped with a formly white, now grey 'damp' cloth when we were sitting at it, my food arrived and was incorrect and had to be sent back (how hard is it to get a panini right?!), the bar staff forgot our drinks and the bar itself was freezing.
The second night of our stay we decided to give the restaurant a try, thinking it might be of a slightly higher standard than the bar. Same food but with different service. The staff were very welcoming. The menu we were shown was the same one we had seen the night before in the bar. The food was very quick to come out. I ordered a rib-eye but had to leave at least 3/4's of it as it was mostly fat. Very disappointed at this as I had paid an extra €5 to have it from the early bird table d'ote menu.

I would not stay here again considering the amount of hotels in the same area offering the same facilities for the same price. The staff were pleasant enough and the food and drink, had it been up to scratch, wouldn't have been badly priced for a hotel but the cleanliness of the place was shocking. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollupandshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cushendall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and i visited this hotel with our four children, it was very clean and the staff were all very friendly the rooms maybe could have been a wee bit updated but overall were very comfortable and the bathroom had under floor heating!! we ate in the bar it was really nice and not too dear, breakfast was lovely and alot of choice, the children loved the swimming pool and again was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padraigjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.3 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
2.6 km away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
2.7 km away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
5.2 km away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price range (per night): RM325 - RM877
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing