We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
289
83
27
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
83
27
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay view the pub family room the owner live music lively bar central location pudding beautiful room one night stay off season saturday night porridge irish breakfast breakfast each morning down stairs stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

A group of 20 Friends had the most wonderful experience on Saturday night last at the Bay View Hotel in Kilkee, the occasion being a Hen Party for my sis-to-be - Nicky!

Dinner was served in beautiful surroundings, a private room, excellent service and the Menu was superb - reasonably priced, great variety, and most of all tasty good food.

John the owner, and his mam Mary, along with all the other Staff Members did an excellent job.

To top the evening off then, we danced our night away to the amazing band - "Acoustic Ninjas" who were playing in the Bay View Bar. They too were amazing and
kept us on our feet for the night.

Thanks again to John and Mary and Staff at Bay View - We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Fabulous hotel, the best in Kilkee. Money has obviously been spent on this hotel and it shows, lovely décor throughout. The room was huge with two very comfortable double beds, en-suite, sea view, tea & coffee, bottled water, toiletries, free Wi-Fi, television, dressing gowns, hair dryer and the place was spotlessly clean. This is a family run establishment and Mary, John and their staff take pride in ensuring that everything runs smoothly. Michael on reception was very helpful and deserves a mention. The breakfasts include varied cold foods and cereals followed by a choice of fresh cooked breakfasts that can only be described as delicious and filling. The hotel has a lovely restaurant and a pub next door. We did not hear any noise from the pub. Kilkee is a lovely Victorian seaside resort and this hotel takes pride of place at the top of the main street. We stayed for 2 nights and then one night the next week. My daughter and her family stayed for 3 night and loved the place as well. We recommend this hotel to others and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maureenmundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhick, General Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Maureen,
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate such warm feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will be back to visit us again in future.

Many thanks for your kind words & continued custom.

Kind Regards,
John
--
John Hickie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I could not be more angry at a place. I had my reservation confirmation in paper and email form, and they claimed they didn't have it. Now how is that possible. They showed my husband a "potential"room which was way too small for two adults - and while the owner was walking with my husband to this room, she had to nerve to tell him that they had guests who wanted to stay "another day or two" and believe it or not, they essentially gave them our room. Since we prebooked, now I will have a fight to deal with credit card charges. DO NOT BOOK HERE. THEY CANNOT BE TRUSTED.

We then had to find a place at 6 p.m. in the evening after having driven from Galway - the place was okay but musty and really not the usual quality we expect. Additionally this was still low season, and a lot of places weren't even open yet. As we did not have phone or internet available, it was really really a problem.

What a horrible thing to do to someone.

Stayed: May 2018
5  Thank fromRoseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhick, Owner at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Reader,
I am quite shocked and certainly confused that this guest has chosen to write a review about this experience as the fault in this instance was entirely hers. Firstly, the guest used a card type that we do not accept to make her booking and we asked her - through the Online Travel Agent she booked with - to change card. Having not changed the card we then spoke the Online Travel Agency she booked with to request that they please cancel this booking as unfortunately we could not honour it without card details. The guest never checked her email and was therefore never aware of the fact that her booking was cancelled - an easy mistake to make.

When she arrived to our premises on the day in question, we politely informed her of the situation and even tried to offer her an alternative room in our House. She deemed this alternative to be unsatisfactory and we therefore arranged alternative accommodation for her in a guesthouse across the road from our hotel.

We are upset and insulted at the allegations made above, as a small family business in its 5th generation we always try to do the very best for our guests and we have great pride and passion in our work, however the fact is she did not provide us with acceptable information, and she did not check once after she booked to ensure her reservation was still valid.

We are very sorry to hear that this guest had a negative experience, however we cannot stand by and allow this libelous review to go unanswered. We wish her all the best in the future.

Kind Regards,
All at Bay View Hotel
Hickie's Bar & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Wonderful staff, delicious food and lively bar attached to snug hotel in Kilkee
Nothing seemed too much trouble. Rooms had dressing gowns , iron, hairdryer kettle etc and free wi fi
Mary the owner and Kevin made us feel very welcome
Thanks to all

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Flub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhick, General Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Flub55,
Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back in future.

All the best,
John
--
John Hickie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Visited for a family get together and had a really nice experience, good food, pleasant staff with a buzz and vibrant atmosphere. For anyone visiting Kilkee definitely recommend you eat here. Other family members stayed and loved the accommodation .

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank heffoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear heffoe,
Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your feedback to our staff, and I sincerely hope that you will stay with us in future.

All the best,
John
--
John Hickie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews