We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bright Spot”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A Bright Spot”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A very wet and stormy day was the setting for my golf trip to Ballybunion. James and Mary greeted me with open arms and helped me quickly get situated and comfortable and ready for my momentary tee time. Being far from home and welcomed in such a way made that day much brighter! My room was quite spacious, warm, and clean. Every morning started out with their Irish breakfast served in their light-filled dining area... a great way to greet the day and challenges of the famous, nearby golf course. I do hope to return some day soon!

Room Tip: Enjoyed my corner room for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
223
280
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My first trip to Ballybunion and I hope I will be back next year. James and Mary are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable. Fantastic Breakfast and lovely big, clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

It was my second visit of Ballybunion and stay at the 19th lodge again after 4 years interval. Spacious and clean room for a solo traveller. Mary is very kind to take care of some of my special request like laundry and other things. I will definitely stay the place again if I have a chance to visit Ballybunion again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were welcomed with spacious, elegant rooms and the kind generosity of Mary, James and their team. Couldn't ask for more and look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our recent golf trip to Ireland included a 3-night stay at The 19th Lodge. James and Mary are excellent hosts and helpful advisors for this area. Their Lodge is very clean, comfortable and the rooms are spacious/beautifully furnished. They provide the Full Irish Breakfast or virtually any alternative! Morning coffee is plentiful and delicious. James is both meticulous and conscientious in his service. The 19th Lodge is adjacent (a short walk) to The Old Course & Cashen Golf Course and a brief drive to town. James directed us to a GREAT pub in Ballybunion, as well as other worthwhile guidance. This is a terrific place to stay and a good bargain, too!

Room Tip: The Lodge is adjacent to the golf courses, in a very quiet area. Near the town, but not in the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
1.1 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
27.0 km away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.0 km away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Property: The 19th Lodge
Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price range (per night): RM547 - RM719
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing