We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice apartment next to the river Thames!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christa G
Itter, Tirol, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice apartment next to the river Thames!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A fantastic place to stay if you wante to explore Oxford or the Cotswolds.
The busstop is easyly to reach and the bus to the towncenter leaves every 20 min.
We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evening and watching the swans, ducks and riverboats passing by.
We would strongly recommend this home and hopefully stay there again sometime in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The flat we rented in Stanford on Thames was in a great location and wonderful location. The view of the river and Stanford lock was perfect to watch the boats, barges, rowing boats and joggers go by. It was close to a bus stop into Oxford. The flat had everything we needed and more to make our stay a success.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregorHS
Leiden
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An exceptionally outstanding apartment”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was really exceptional. We thought it to be the best house in the whole neighbourhood, with its ground-floor balcony right on the Thames. But all other rooms had marvellous views, without exception. Also a picknicktable, BBQ and relax chairs were available in the garden around the apartment.
We had a private parking lot right in front and other parking lots for visitors were available within 100m.
All rooms were spacious with comfortable furniture. The box-spring matrasses were very good, so were the duvets and towels. The kitchen contained more than enough cutlery, glasses, cups, plates, and so on.

And, above all, the location! The Sandford-lock with the Kings Arms pub is just 3 min walk avay, which means that both sides of the Thames can easily be reached. The towpath to Folly Bridge and Christ Church College in Oxford is just over 4 km. This path is part of the famous 285km long Thames footpath. We took bus 35 from St Aldates back to the bus stop Sandford Lane, which is the bus stop right after Manor Grove. This bus runs quite often. The Sainsbury Super Store is nearby at the Heyford Hill Roundabout, some 2 km away.

We were a few times in the Kings Arms. Especially the Game Menu exceeded our expectations. But also the open wines were better than expected.

And last but not least: this was the first apartment in which the wifi fully met the high expectations of our son.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, wifi
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our fifth visit to the flat and it still tops the list when we return. Everything is to hand, plenty of space and lovely outlook onto the Thames and Sandford Lock. Val and Malcolm always very helpful when needed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaI...
Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful flat in a fantastic position”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I loved every minute of my stay in this beautiful apartment which has everything you could possibly need and is spacious, light and airy. There are beautiful views of the river on three sides and it is very peaceful. With the lock almost opposite there is plenty to watch on the river: boats of all shapes and sizes; geese, ducks and herons; and, of course, the people passing by. I don't think I would ever get tired of the beautiful scenery but if you do the city of Oxford is nearby with all it has to offer. I will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing