We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ab-fab!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pod- 4th floor living area Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
155 reviews
The Pod- 4th floor living area
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
The Pod at nightime
Lounging in comfort at The Windmill Suffolk
Treats at The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony of The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony with a view at The Windmill Suffolk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cockfield, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 155 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sightseer...
1 review
“Ab-fab!”
Reviewed 11 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

Wow- from start to finish we were very well looked after by the lovely Natalie.
Stayed for a week- plenty of exercise going up and down the stairs....but it was well worth it. I was even lucky enough to see the owl fly past the MIll from the pod upstairs. Went for a 60th birthday treat for my partner - managaged to keep it a suprrise until we got near enough to the front door!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Aug 2019
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Windmill Suffolk as a 60th birthday surprise for your husband Dee- it was lovely to host you both for such a special occasion. You did so well in managing to keep it under wraps from him!
We are so pleased you saw the owl from the balcony- there really is the best of what nature has to offer on view from up there!
We hope to welcome you both back to The Windmill in future.
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelssm...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 10 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

This has been our second time staying at the windmill and certainly won’t be our last as we plan to come back every year on our anniversary and will be staying next year when we renew our wedding vows. There is simply no better place to stay. Everything is so tasteful and stylish and as for the views- amazing. There really is nothing more you could ask for in a place to stay. It really is money well spent for total luxury. Natalie is absolutely one of the most nicest people I’ve met and couldn’t do more for us to make things special for our break, for that we really appreciate. So for anyone contemplating this as a holiday break then don’t look anywhere else, nothing will surpass this. Thanks again Natalie for giving us all the chance of a little piece of heaven x

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Aug 2019
Thankyou so much for this absolutely beautiful review Rachel- as you know we are SO pleased that you like The Windmill Suffolk enough to want to return to celebrate your anniversary with us every year.
We are so excited about your vow renewal next year and cannot wait to see the photographs and hear all the details when you come to stay with us again.
Your kind words really touched me- it is an absolute pleasure to welcome you both and I'm looking forward to a "cat update" next summer! Tee Hee!
With kind regards as always
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"SENSATIONAL"”
Reviewed 2 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

This is not simply just a fantastic property, it is a fabulous experience.
Over the years, we have stayed in some of the best hotels and self catering accommodation both in the UK and overseas and The Windmill Suffolk is right up with the best of them.
No expense has been spared on the quality of the fixtures and fittings and the location and views over the Suffolk countryside are stunning.
(As a professional composer these provided me with great inspiration for my work)

The modern kitchen/diner is fully equipped, the bedrooms comfortable and the bathroom spacious.
The "jewel in the crown" however is the top floor lounge.
It has comfortable sofas, a wide screen TV with an impressive sound system, a drinks fridge and, very thoughtfully, an air conditioning unit (the outside temperatures reached the mid 30's during our stay).
There are also wonderful views from both sides of the lounge and an outdoor balcony.

Not only is this a superb property, the owners (Natalie and Steve) could not be more welcoming and helpful.
For example, we had run our car a little low on fuel by departure day and Steve was more than happy to go to fill a jerrycan of diesel at the nearest filling station for us.

The Windmill is also a great base from which to explore Suffolk.
The beautiful town of Lavenham is only 2 miles away and we also visited Long Melford, Flatford Mill, Aldeburgh and the Suffolk coast during our stay.

We will certainly be returning and, in my opinion, this magical property should be on the list ("bucket" or otherwise) of anybody who wants to take a relaxing break in a location that combines luxury with "something a little different" from the run of the mill (no pun intended) vacation property.

Date of stay: July 2019
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Aug 2019
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Windmill Suffolk. We are so very flattered to be called sensational and we are so pleased that you both had such a great time with us. You are very welcome regards popping to get some more diesel for you- Steve to the rescue- it's all part of making sure that everything is as perfect as possible for you when you stay.
We are very excited to hear your finished composition knowing that some of the inspiration came from the views you witnessed from the balcony during your stay.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to The Windmill and hope you will be able to explore even more of our wonderful county!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rweal
Lavenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing property in an amazing location”
Reviewed 30 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

Absolutely magic weekend. Feel like you are living in a Grand Designs finished project. Everything is finished to a very high and tasteful standard and all mod cons are included.
Tranquil setting in the heart of the countryside just outside Lavenham.
As you climb the stairs you get glimpses of the beauty of Suffolk and you reach the top which offers an expansive view where you can sit for hours just looking.
The local town is really interesting with a good selection of quality eateries and only a short drive away from a number of larger towns.
Superb weekend

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Jul 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review Julie- we really appreciate it.
It's so wonderful to hear your stay with us described as magic and superb- we are over the moon to know you enjoyed your time with us so much!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

We have just returned from an amazing few days at The Windmill, celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary, we cannot thank Natalie and Steve enough for making this stay so special for us especially with the banners, cake and card!
We were made to feel so welcome by Natalie who met us as we arrived and showed us around the beautiful Windmill explaining all of the mod cons and sharing information about the local area and wildlife. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing, surrounded by rolling countryside.
The Windmill itself is amazing, it has been finished to a very high standard with luxury modern fixtures, fittings and furnishings but has still managed to keep a cosy 'home from home' feel. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the beds are sooo comfortable and the bathroom with a choice of a huge bath or rainfall shower is beautiful. The Pod at the top is the perfect place to chill out, with the comfy sofas and curved TV but the best thing to do is sit out on the balcony and watch the world go by!!
Natalie & Steve have thought of everything from the design & layout of the Windmill right down to the little finishing touches that make your break away just perfect, cannot wait to go back!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Jul 2019
Thankyou so much for this lovely review of your anniversary stay at The Windmill Suffolk Chris. We are so pleased you chose to spend such a special occasion with us. I'm sure your description of The Windmill will be of help to others considering a stay at The Windmill as it's making me want to stay again!
Thankyou too for your comments about the cleanliness of The Windmill- we take great pride in ensuring everything is as fresh and clean as our opening day so it's lovely to know this is noticed.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back to The Windmill very soon!
Kind regards Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.