Very quiet, relaxed atmosphere & all you would expect of a 'get away' for a few days. Easy access to nearby beach 'Talland Bay' which has the fineist fresh crab sandwiches & beautiful sunsetsMore
Very quiet, relaxed atmosphere & all you would expect of a 'get away' for a few days. Easy access to nearby beach 'Talland Bay' which has the fineist fresh crab sandwiches & beautiful sunsetsMoreShow less
It was a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We stayed at The Old Rectory last week with our 2 teenage daughters (15 and 17yrs old). On arrival our hearts sank as soon as we entered the entrance. It was very in need of redecoration and resembled more a youth hostel than an 'Historic Georgian Mansion' Entering into the hallway did nothing to improve our first impressions - very dated and stale. Our apartment was mainly clean (apart from the mouldy bath mat and generally unswept bathroom floor). The 2 bedroom doors did not shut and the kitchen was so small that only one person at a time could be in there. Our main discontent was with the water supply especially in the bathroom. The 'power' shower was no more than a trickle which would often just stop altogether - our daughters both have long hair so hair washing was almost impossible and the temperature was erratic, swinging from dangerously hot to freezing cold.
The apartment and communal areas are very much in need of updating and redecoration. The fridge was clearly past it's best too judging by its constant noise.
Overall, we were hugely disappointed with the accommodation though cannot fault the welcoming and helpfulness of the owner. The 4 images shown here on this website do no reflect the true likeness of the apartment in which we stayed.
Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation, and that you did not feel able to discuss the issues with us during your stay. We may at least have been able to help with the water problem you experienced by adjusting the settings on your electric shower, which incidentally is not a power shower, nor advertised as such.
I have closed the bedroom door to the twin easily to convert the apartment to a one bedroom option for our current guests, but agree that the double door would benefit from planing - new carpets have a tendency to cause issue with 200 year old doors. My apologies for the difficulty there - I have added the item to the 'to do list'.
The entrance hall I have scheduled for redecoration at the end of this season, but your apartment has been fully redecorated recently - the choice of fabrics, finish and furniture is designed to compliment a 200 year history rather than detract from it.
I regret that I do have to disagree with your comments about the photos -they have all been taken here and do represent what we have on offer in this unique and lovely location.
Despite your disappointment, I hope you did enjoy your holiday.