We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$159
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$191
US$187
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$91
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,000
US$276
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$313
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
74
53
21
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
53
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage pubfried breakfastan excellent basemain buildingexcellent roomcar parkhuge bathroomovernight staycomfortable bedsa lovely place to stayshort stayper nightvisit bathhintonaccommodationlandladyhairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Recently been taken over, the new tenants have done a great job. Rooms are very spacious huge bathroom with bath and very good free standing shower. Room was very big with wardrobe and dressing table. Very clean and bed very comfortable. We ate there both nights and the food was excellent. Breakfast equally as good plenty of choice. I would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay just outside of Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sawbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday for Sunday lunch. Very happy. We have been using the pub for several years but had not been for a while and had heard nee people are running the pub. Nice welcome and a lovely roast dinner. There was a choice of 3 roast meet and 3 size options. Also a very good vegetarian choice. The new people are very nice as well.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Really top quality. Excellent service and friendly staff, excellent room, top quality food, first class breakfast. What more could one ask for. Beautiful pub in a lovely cotswold village. An excellent base if you're touring Somerset and Wiltshire (Longleat). A little expensive but top quality, typically English country pub.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I treated my Father in law to a spontaneous Sunday Roast and chose the Rose and Crown as it always so good. 3 years ago my Father in law celebrated his 90th birthday here with a party for over 50 people! It was excellent then and didn't let us down, the Roasts come in 3 different sizes and were delicious. I would definitely recommend this as such a lovely country pub.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cazzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We had a two night stay in the Rose and Crown in Hinton Charterhouse whilst visiting relatives and also the city of Bath nearby. We booked the venue via an internet room booking website and got what we considered a reasonable bed and breakfast room rate of £90 per night.
The venue is easy to reach by road and has ample (free), off road parking spaces though we noticed that there seems to be more cars in the car park than patrons. The village of Hinton Charterhouse is not large and has a main road passing through it though this was not particularly busy.
The accommodation comes either internal to the main building or in an adjacent annexe and was ensuite, both types of accommodation were reached by stairs. Inside the rooms were clean and tidy with a double bed and two bedside cabinets complete with bedside lamps. Each room was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities (though the milk cartons were out of date), a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. The bathroom had a basin, shower and toilet and was again clean, some free toiletries were also provided together with towels.
The room overlooked an outside seating area / car park and this may be a problem to patrons should the venue be busy perhaps on a nice evening. Overall the accommodation was not large, but certainly not cramped either and suited our needs as we tended to only use the room to sleep in.
Breakfast was served in the public house itself and consisted of help yourself cereal and fruit juices with the option of a fried breakfast and a tea or coffee to accompany this. A time slot for breakfast had to be pre booked the previous evening.
Overall, we were satisfied with the accommodation and would certainly consider using this venue again if we were staying in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews