We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax by the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax by the pool
Lovely pool area in tranquil setting Spacious lounge area beautifully furnished for your every comfort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Relax by the pool
Lovely pool area in tranquil setting
Spacious lounge area beautifully furnished for your every comfort
fireplace
Dining area off the lounge
modern, fully equipped kitchen leading out to poolside and BBQ area
Relax in the peaceful bedroom
Side view of cottage with sun loungers and patio area
Pretty cottage with front balcony from lounge
beaches at Isle d' oleron
rather large prawns!
ST Emilion
holyhocks at Talmont
local fishing hut
SUNFLOWER COUNTRY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Palais de Phiolin, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Angharad...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I visited this quaint little cottage in July with my boyfriend and his 8 year old daughter. We wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. The cottage is very well presented and homely with all the amenities we could need. The cottage comes with a pool which my boyfriends daughter loved, and we could lay by the pool and sunbathe with no disturbance. The shops in Pons are only 10 minute drive away and if you want to do something for the kids, Royan is an hour drive to the zoo and 30 mins to the beach. There is a BBQ at the cottage so we spent most evenings outside (which was lovely). The kitchen is well equipped so we bought food from the supermarket so could eat in without spending too much on restaurants. Overall we had an amazing time, and I felt like I really relaxed. As we didn't stay in a hotel we were not restricted to meal times or have to share the pool. Definitely recommend this place and the owner is lovely and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review . I am pleased that you had a lovely relaxing holiday .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa I
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Gite is beautiful!
Not overlooked so very private. The surrounding area is good for cycling and lots of attractions within a 10 minute drive.
We're booking again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnsmark...
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow! what a find. The gite and pool was absolutely wonderful. lovely and quiet.. Our pool was a lot bigger than we thought and very refreshing after a hot day in the sun! We visited most places which included: Cognac, Saintes, Royan, Pons and Jonzac. It was very easy to get around with main roads not far from the gite. Our weather was mixed but a lot better than back in the UK! Our teenage boys would recommend go-karting and bike hire. We would definitely recommend the gite to all our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool to ourselves.
Liked least: Having no wi-fi.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diaaav
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Gite in quiet, rural France”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely time in the gite last week. We had some fab weather days of 26-29 degrees which was unexpected and a real bonus. The pool was lovely and refreshing, being solar panel heated it will warm up more later in the year.

Everything was provided which we could have wanted, including clean BBQ, dishwasher, DVD player. The gite is really well kept and well equipped. We travelled as a couple though the gite would also be good for families.

We explored Pons, Jonzac, Congnac and Royan. I also cycled daily (it's so nice and flat!) so explored the surrounding villages that way. The nearest bakery is 2.5 miles away in Champagnolles. It's lovely countryside and was a really nice retreat in sleepy, rural France. We would gladly stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuft1966
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Gite in quiet, rural France”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Gite is very well equipped, beautifully restored and has a good sized, private pool. It's in a rural location so a car is essential, but only a few minutes drive to some lovely nearby towns including Royan, Cognac, Saintes, La Rochelle and Pons. We had a good week and felt thoroughly relaxed by the end of it. The weather was fine and dry although not warm enough to use the pool unfortunately however, it would no doubt be lovely during the hot Summer months. Some excellent restaurants nearby and plenty of opportunities to practice your French!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, relaxed location.
Liked least: Not being able to use the pool as too cold for the time of year.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing