We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take them stretchy trousers with you!”
Review of Stockyard

Stockyard
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Hale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Visited on a bit of whim on Sunday lunchtime and we were really glad we chose here. The menu emphasis is on burgers but there's also barbecue and hot dogs thrown into the mix. As a huge fan of texas barbecue I was a touch disappointed that they don't have a slow smoked beef brisket on there but that aside there was plenty to choose from.

I had the smoked chicken and my wife the half metre hotdog... We thought we were hungry but they showed us. The portion sizes were ridiculous but that didn't stop us having a good go at polishing them off. I'm guessing the staff are more than used to putting together leftover doggy bags!

Nice and a touch different, makes a change from the norm. Seemed family friendly. Nice decor that suited it's no nonsense menu. Hope to be back soon...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockyardHale, Manager at Stockyard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thanks so much for the great review. Stretchy trousers conjures up images of Joey from friends. Maybe we could start a new range of Stockyard stretchy pants. Sorry you were disappointed that we didn't have brisket on, its is something we have had on special in the past and we will definitely consider it when we change our menu soon. Hope to see you again soon then you can sample some more treats from our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

We went as a family of 11 but we had made a booking. The menu is extensive and there is a children's menu. The staff were friendly and efficient. I tried the meat platter which was excellent but had to have a box and take some food home. The ribs are superb.

2  Thank Blakes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockyardHale, Manager at Stockyard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Don't feel too down, you aren't the first person to be defeated by our platters and you won't be the last. Lots of people take food home with them, it's nothing to be ashamed of.

We are glad you liked our ribs, they are smoked in our specially imported smoker from the US to give them that authentic, slow cooked, smoky bbq flavour.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Tried here as a friend had been before, good atmosphere and child friendly. Check the menu out online before you go and spend a minute checking out the other diners plates for inspiration. We had a shared starter which was really enough and then a massive and I mean huge burger.
The drinks and food came quickly and the service was ok.
Not a fan of the industrialised toilets, can't see how you could keep them clean enough.
Check out the poor lobsters stick in a tank between the people wanting to eat them and the people going to cook them.
All in all a good visit and will return, once my stomach has got back to its original size.

1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockyardHale, Manager at Stockyard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Glad you enjoyed our big portions. The lobsters don't stay in the tank longs we do sell quite a lot of them. As for our toilets I am sorry you don't like how they look but I promise we have a very good cleaner and they are very clean.

We look forward toy returning and hopefully we can get an even better score next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Had the Greek burger which was the only thing I had all day so later that night when I was struck down with severe diarrhea I knew it was from your restaurant.
Plus it was freezing cold in there.
Won't be returning.

4  Thank Tpre87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockyardHale, Manager at Stockyard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016


We are sorry you haven't been well. We take all allegations of food poisoning extremely seriously and will always investigate the matter fully. We already sent you a private message to try and get more details so we can investigate but haven't heard anything back from you. Please let us know what day and time you were in then we can look into it.

We serve lots of lamb burgers (they are also often eaten by the staff) usually selling around 50 on weekend nights and no one else has been ill. The fact that the burger was all you ate that day certainly doesn't mean that was the cause of your illness. It could be a bug or something you ate the previous day, so its unfortunate you have jumped to these conclusions on a public forum without giving us the chance to look into it.

We strictly follow all HACCP procedures and only recently scored a maximum score of 5 with Trafford councils environmental health department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Our first visit to Stockyard and we are already looking forward to returning! We chose a sharing starter which was delicious, it was a big portion and very filling, the Mac and cheese balls were my favourite.
We had lobster and prawn soft tacos and a huge burger for our mains , both were really tasty and cooked really nicely. Cocktails were great too and the staff are really helpful and attentive. Will be back very soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JLC86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockyardHale, Manager at Stockyard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such nice words. We are glad you enjoyed everything about your visit. the mac and cheese balls are great especially dipped in our cheese sauce... TASTY. Glad you enjoyed the burger and the soft shell lobster and prawn tacos also.

Look forward to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockyard also viewed

Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Stockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing