We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another winning place”

The Good Earth Food and Wine Co.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 25/05
20:00
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Beamsville
Price range: US$8 - US$43
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Good Earth is located among orchards and vineyards. It offers local farm to table cuisine, prepared fresh daily with a global inspired twist. In the warm weather months, outdoor dining is offered among beautiful gardens. Open daily for lunch and seasonally for dinner. Please check the website for details.Reservations are strongly recommended.
Reviewed 13 November 2014

My wife and I visited here about 2011 on a wine tour of Niagara. We stopped in for lunch again on this year's tour and it's even better!
Added since last visit is a large covered terrace( this doubles their seating capacity) and an outdoor wine tasting pavilion.
We had the special of the day starting with a lovely soup and the main of pan seared scallops, with cous cous(?) mixed with cranberry, pomegranate, pistachio and a small dabs of a green sauce( my wife assures me it was not wasabi) that looked like guacamole.
Two glasses of Viognier white wine completed a delicious meal. Total meal was $90 tax in-very reasonable for the quality.
The only negative I can add is the excessive outdoor propane space heaters( at least four were running and the temperature was +29C( too hot for us)
Thank you, Sandy. Job well done.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twowheelfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2014

This place was recommended to us and did not disappoint. Food was very flavourful and nicely presented. The tortierre that had been suggested to us was not on the menu that day so instead we had the Beef Tartini ($20), which came with French fries that really were not necessary (but I ate them anyway!), and some of their own Cabernet Franc ( 2012) which you can buy in 3 oz glasses. There were some gluten free and vegetarian options. There are several eating areas; an inside dining area, an outdoor area and also a covered patio which has high wood plank ceiling and covered and with drop down plastic "Windows" to protect against the wind if necessary. Every chair came with a cosy lap blanket and there were also large heaters in case the weather was chilly. My only complaint was it was easy to miss the place as there was no real sign that we saw on the road beyond a small finger board at the top of the street. It also would have been nice if they had "recommended" wine pairings posted with each menu item!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2014

After having had a wonderful meal at The Good Earth this summer, I signed up for their newsletter to find out more about news and special events. I was ecstatic to see an announcement of their Good Girth Supper Club: Dios de los Muertos event featuring a prix fixe menu of mexican cuisine - my favorite! I just knew I had to attend this and had high hopes of a meal that would be just as good as the one I had earlier in the year.

On Nov 1, my husband and I were joined by my best friend for our 6pm reservation. We were greeted warmly by staff, and given our choice of tables inside or out on the covered, heated patio. Both rooms were decorated with festive ribbons, bright daisies, tissue paper flowers, mexican bunting, and brightly painted Corona bottles. We selected the patio so we could get snuggled in some blankets and bask in the glow of the atmospheric fire column heat lamps.

Our server was wonderful - helpful, friendly, and attentive but not over bearing. I opted for the suggested wine pairings with my courses and was offered 3, 6, or 9oz pours - a very nice touch. I enjoyed both wines (2011 Riesling and Big Fork Red) and they were extremely well matched to my food.

For starters, we ordered one of each option: a pork and green chile tamale (tender and delicious), shrimp tostada (my husband called this the BEST shrimp of his life!), and savory Mexican parfait (a unique layered presentation that was part salad, part dip, and all AMAZING!!!). For mains, we could have selected fish tacos or vegan posole but we all ordered the fabulous chile rellenos - stuffed with beef and cheese, perched atop rice and beans, and topped with pomegranate seeds - an outstanding and unexpected addition (which we later found out is common in Mexico!)

Dessert was the icing on the cake - no pun intended. Our server brought out a french press of rich coffee for us to share, and then a drop dead gorgeous presentation platter of mini deserts to share (there was one of each, with fresh berries and candied lime peel as garnishes). The tres leches cake was milky and delicate. The churros were crisp, spiced, and perfectly paired with a silky dulche de leche. But the star was the deep fried chocolate chili ice cream - I've had dreams about that bite in the days since our meal!

We were very comfortable to enjoy our dessert and finish on our own time - not at all rushed. My friend (who had not yet been to The Good Earth) tweeted that it was one of the best meals of her life!

I cannot wait for my next Good Earth experience, and plan to keep a lookout for the Good Girth Supper Club in the future. Run, don't walk, to this amazing winery and restaurant! It's more than a restaurant, it's a destination!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

Such an interesting little restaurant. The atmosphere was so interesting. In a good way! The service was very good and the prices for the experience were reasonable. They also had menu items listed as vegetarian and/ or gluten free. I actually had the poutine. I never get GF poutine! Had way too much gravy (I know that sounds like a stupid complaint hut was actually swimming in it) but beside that everything else was great! I'll be back

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveljunkigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2014

This is called Good Earth Food for a reason. It is simply GOOD FOOD.
One of the best restaurants in the Bench Wine area. The setting is lovely and the menu is amazing.

My husband is a fussy eater coming from a catering background and he doesn't like sweet and savoury together but let me tell you he loves the food here.

Definitely worth the drive. They also have a great rose wine that they produce.

They also have some fabulous events and cooking classes.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TamaraB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Good Earth Food and Wine Co. also viewed

 

Been to The Good Earth Food and Wine Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.