We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A chic cottage commanding the best position in...”
other travellers have booked this property
BBQ and private patio area of Canal View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BBQ and private patio area of Canal View
Large Heated pool with far reaching views Canal View Cottage - open plan well equiped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
BBQ and private patio area of Canal View
Large Heated pool with far reaching views
Canal View Cottage - open plan well equiped kitchen
Inside dining area
Canal View sitting area
Double bedroom overlooking the canal
Twin bedroom overlooking the canal
Large shower - basin and cupboard
Landing in Canal View
View of the lock from outside Canal View
Outside Canal View
Swings and Trampoline play area
View from one of the bedroom windows in Canal View
Marseillette
Carcassonne Medieval Cite light up at night
Pretty sea-side town of Collioure popular with artists
Spectacular vineyards
One of the many beautiful Mediteranean beaches
Golf Course, Carcassonne
Canal du Midi
Carcassonne old cite with the Pyrenees in the background
Minerve old village
Canal du Midi
Garden towards the pool
Perypertuse cathar chateau
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marseillette, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris G
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“A chic cottage commanding the best position in the village and a great location to discover the area.”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A short drive from Bezier airport, Canal Cottage commands the best position in the small village of Marseillette overlooking a canal lock. It is a smart and chic house that easily accommodated us and our two teenage children and the pool was a must after a day at the beach, sightseeing or just simply having a lazy day with a good book. Ann-Marie and Adrian were excellent hosts and made sure that our stay was comfortable as well as being a font of local knowledge. It was our first visit to the area and the cottage was a great location for visiting Carcassonne, the beach or simply walking and cycling along the canal. My favourite memories however were just driving through the vineyards and into the mountains and finding a host of hamlets and villages steeped in history and with the obligatory family owned restaurants and bars where you could enjoy memorable meals and just soak it all in!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you! We are genuinely touched by such a lovely review. The comfort and enjoyment of our guests stay is our priority and it's great to hear you had a fabulous stay with us made the most of exploring this beautiful region of France.
Ann-Marie & Adrian Randle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights while travelling a little around the languedoc region. The gite is lovely, and really well equipped. I thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the place.
You'd need a car to get to closest supermarket so come well equipped if arriving late in the day.
Great place to relax and watch the holiday makers go by in the canal.
Only issue for some may be the toilet on ground floor so a slightly narrow staircase to negotiate in the middle of the night if needed.
We'd love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thank you Mary for the review. You are right the Canal and the Lock never fail to entertain us! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki1953
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Canal View for 2 weeks from the beginning of September 2014, Ann Marie and Adrian are a great couple who do all they can to make the stay great. This was the first time we have visited this area and will definitely be back. The accommodation was all one could expect. The views were wonderful. The antics of people trying to get through the lock were very entertaining. We hope that they continue to have a great success with their venture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliePLei...
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and a Very Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Canal View Cottage for 5 days as part of a wider tour around France and couldn't have asked for a better base from which to explore the wider area.

The cottage is very well equipped, rooms tastefully furnished and bed very comfortable with great views of the Canal du Midi to wake up to. Ann-Marie and husband Adrian offered a warm welcome and were on hand to help with any advice or recommendations for the area.

We didn't use the pool but I'm sure its a welcome relief in the hotter temperatures. The only reason we didn't give an 'excellent' was because the loo was on the ground floor and not well ventilated. Would definitely recommend to another couple or family of four.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and warm welcome
Liked least: Only loo on ground floor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing