We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a great location. Fantastic...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulietteO...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location. Fantastic holiday!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As a big family, we rented Old Kilmun house to celebrate my birthday and it suited our needs perfectly. The house is grand but homely, and the gardens (and Arboretum next door) and the views are simply beautiful. There was so much to do in the area, and we were blessed with the most gorgeous weather ever. Definately coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house and the location
Liked least: We could have done with a big teapot but I think this has been replaced already
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for choosing us, and also for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We don't have any illusions that we are perfect, but we do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W
1 review
“A Beautiful House in a Beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Hugely enjoyed my time at The Old Kilmun House - it's a lovely old house in a very beautiful part of the world.

John, the owner, was very helpful and kind enough to drop off a couple of bottles to welcome us to the property. We were very comfortable just lazing around the house or out exploring the area.

The property was well appointed but not fussy. Would definitely recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
I am so glad that you enjoyed it and thank you for making the effort to review us. we don't leave bottles for everyone - that was a one-off promotional thing from a sponsor agency!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison-11...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing - like a mini downtown abbey”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Kilmun House over new year. When arrived the house was clean warm and beautifully decorated for the festive season. The house had all the amenities you could ever want and more (including friendly neighbours who recommended some stunning walks up some waterfalls).

The house itself is amazing, reminded me of downtown abbey with a big christmas tree in the hall and all the different rooms round every corner and a particularly grand dining hall with an open fire.

The rooms were really clean, cosy and the beds were very comfy. Despite it being and old house in the middle of winter, we were never cold.

Location was ideal and easy to get to even with public transport all the way from London! The setting is beautiful, right on the bank of Holy Loch. I would recommend it to all!

Cheers!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Log fire, Location and the house itself.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you so much We also love the house at xmas and new year, and it is a great winter house when filled with energy as positive and warm as yours. Although 320 years old, it is actually never cold because the heating works and the walls are four feet thick. Cheers to you, too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay heaps of character”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Kilmun house was the perfect venue for our family NYE celebration. Easily accommodated everyone in the beautiful dining room and the kids loved the games room. Lots of character and beautiful views. Short drives to get you out and about walking etc

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
So glad you enjoyed it. Hope we can welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon M
Busby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent venue in superb scenary which catered well for our family and friends gathering”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a party of 20 to celebrate a birthday and an upcoming wedding. We had brought two power boats which we launched at the marina opposite the venue. We were able to water ski from the beach in front of the house.
The house offers excellent facilities for self catering. The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen is big and the dining room very comfortable. The house being where it is there is little light pollution so star gazing is good.
We felt we were nobles staying in an impressive stone building.
Can't thank John and his wife enough for their care and attention. We all had a great time and certainly recommend rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Glad you had such a good time. You left the house in great nick and would be welcome back at any time. Thanks for taking the time to post a positive review. We have worked hard to maintain and improve the house over the years and it is nice to have that appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$567
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing