We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect little gîte with everything for a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Geais

les Geais
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
les Geais
view of gite from the garden Main bedroom (bedroom 1)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
les Geais
view of gite from the garden
Main bedroom (bedroom 1)
Washstand in bedroom 1
Wood burner
Living area
Kitchen area
Open plan living room
Shower room
Bedroom 2 (twin beds)
The lane through the village
Local pathway
Lac de Vassiviere
Play area on a beach.
rural life on your doorstep
Collognes Les Rouges
cafe life
Christmas
Les Geais
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bugeat, Correze, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
judith t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect little gîte with everything for a comfortable stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Last month my husband, our adult daughter, her little dog and I spent a lovely week at Les Geais. Although it is in a tiny hamlet we didn't feel isolated, even when we had a mini crisis with our car, as the neighbour's/ housekeepers , Mo & Richard, were so kind and helpful.
The gîte is very well equipped and the area around is peaceful, beautiful and lacking in tourists! Whilst we were there we visited a beautiful medieval town , Chateau le Ségur and a very atmospheric deserted village. Suited us all very well. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a quiet,unspoilt location in rural France.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ian k
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Damp!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The property is situated in a hamlet with very helpful caretakers on hand if you need them and unobtrusive if you don't and we were very grateful that they were able to shop for basic provisions for us as we arrived on a Sunday.The property is well furnished, good shower and well equipped kitchen. Mattress and pillows should be replaced. There is no WiFi and no phone signal at this property and having neither is unacceptable in this day and age and wasn't made clear until final payment had been made. This meant we were unable to maintain contact with elderly relatives or children who were travelling.
Unfortunately the ground floor of the property felt damp and it was only when cleaning on the final day when we found a pool of water underneath the log basket that we understood why. Water had been coming in through the end wall during rainy periods.
There was little useful information regarding local shops and bakery opening times which was unhelpful & there were no restaurants open within 20km during our stay at the end of June/July.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Location, lack of clarity on booking regarding WiFi/phone coverage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Unfortunately the stormy weather experienced before your arrival highlighted a problem with the roof which once discovered, was promptly repaired before the next guests came to stay (and any further rain could fall). The cottage was dried out and aired with no lasting effects. We do not advertise the property as having WiFi as there is no land-line. Most people seem able to pick up a 3G mobile signal in the area without too much trouble, although the cottage itself has thick granite walls and hi-tech layered insulation under the roof which can hinder reception indoors. Free WiFi is available in at least 2 locations in the village, one being at (or outside if closed) the Tourist Info office where they would also have been delighted to help with the latest local information and events taking place early in the summer. When WiFi was queried, several months after the initial reservation and around the time the final balance became due, I endeavoured to explain all this clearly so that you were not taken by surprise and could inform your family in good time. I'm sorry you didn't find what you were looking for at Les Geais.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nespebe
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had lovely time. Very well equipped gite!Felt just like at home! Shame garden is not a bit bigger as we had a dog but still we enjoyed every minut at !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing