We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They treat you like family”
Review of Coati Tours

Coati Tours
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Naranjo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Self guided and private tours, nature and wildlife hikes, private and sightseeing tours and private transportation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We contacted Coati on the recommendation of our friends who used them last year and we are so glad we did! I usually plan our vacation activities and did not have the time to do so this year. So, in addition to driving us between Liberia and Arenal and Arenal to Tamarindo, Elsy planned our activities for our stay in Arenal. She was extremely thoughtful in picking activities based on our preferences, with really top quality companies. She was very flexible in altering some activities once we got there. She constantly communicated with us to make sure everything was going well and that the companies they selected for our activities were doing a great job (they were!). It was like having an expert personal concierge service delivered with care and kindness.

We drove with Wilson and his son from Arenal to Tamarindo for the Guanacaste leg of our trip. His van was super clean and well stocked with drinks and snacks. Wilson, who speaks fluent English, provided us a lot of information about everywhere we went. While he was our driver, he was really more of a tour guide and a treasure trove of information about anything you may want to know about the history of Costa Rica, restaurants to visit, etc. It was a pleasure spending several hours with him while we trekked from Arenal to Tamarindo.

I cannot recommend Coati Tours enough. Because their services are in high demand and they are committed to limiting the number of customers they work with at a time, I would recommend trying to retain them as soon as possible. They are forced to turn away business from time to time, which is probably the strongest endorsement of their services.

Wilson and Elsy, thank you very much for making our trip so great, your Chicago friends.

Thank UberChicagoDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodadvices781, Propietario at Coati Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hola Amigos ,


Thank you so much for your kind words. We will always do our best for our clients.
Hotels , Tours, Restaurants , Transportation , even a cup a coffee most be a nice experience. Our team is very aware of that.
Again , thank you for taking your time to write a comment that will inspire us to keep working hard. Greetings to your beautiful family .


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"manuel antonio"
in 9 reviews
"his wife"
in 5 reviews
"monte verde"
in 4 reviews
"pura vida"
in 6 reviews
"snacks and drinks"
in 4 reviews
"customer service"
in 4 reviews
"costa rica"
in 23 reviews
"friends and family"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"long drive"
in 3 reviews
"an adventure"
in 3 reviews
"in advance"
in 3 reviews
"great driver"
in 2 reviews
"spoke good english"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 2 reviews
"mango"
in 2 reviews
"flight was delayed"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a driver to take us from the San Jose Airport to our hotel, Nayara Garden and Spa (3 hours from airport). I stumbled upon Coati tours and booked a ride with Wilson and Elsy based on their great reviews. I am so happy that I did!! The ride to Nayara was comfortable and informative. Wilson and Elsy both know a ton about Costa Rica and gave us lots of interesting information. The van we rode in was very comfortable: snacks, drinks, and wi-fi! Once we arrived at the hotel, we kept in contact with Wilson and he helped us get tickets for tours, organize taxi rides, and gave us many great restaurant recommendations. I can’t recommend Coati highly enough!

Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodadvices781, Propietario at Coati Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for your comments and it was a pleasure meeting and assisting you during your trip! Hopefully we can do it again when you visit with your children!
Many activities to explore around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I contacted Elsy Bonilla on the recommendation of a colleague. She was wonderful. Even though we were going to Monteverde and she was too far for us to meet, she arranged for us to meet with a guide to take us on tours in Monteverde. She also was very proactive in reaching out to us to see how our experience has been, what we want to do, giving recommendations for restaurants and tours. It was so good to know that we had someone local who was just a phone call or email away. I would highly recommend Coati Tours, you couldn't ask for nicer, more helpful guidance in a foreign land.

Thank InPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodadvices781, Propietario at Coati Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

You are very welcome! Always a pleasure to assist our visitors and help as much as we can, happy to share our knowledge and be part of a memorable experience during your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Wilson made our trip from San Ramon to Tamarindo amazing. He is very nice and speaks perfect English. He stopped at a good restaurant and beach along the way.

His van was modern and the air conditioning was perfect. He also had snacks and drinks available.

Thanks for a fun adventure! Now back to winter in Canada!

Thank mrpetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodadvices781, Propietario at Coati Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Muchas Gracias !! It is a big satisfaction when people appreciate your efforts. We hope you will visit us again to provide an excellent service . Greetings from the Hot Costa Rica !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

I cannot say enough good things about Coati Tours! Wilson and Elsy are wonderful people who made our trip incredibly memorable! The guides who work with them were always on time. And, the activities were well thought out and coordinated. We had Wilson drive us during the last portion of our trip. He is great at finding great restaurants to eat at along the way and interesting fruit stands for a snack. He is also an outstanding cultural ambassador for Costa Rica. We learned so much about the country and people from him. Elsy does a great job keeping you informed, and responds quickly to inquiries. They began as our tour vendors, but I feel blessed to now call them our friends!

Thank ForrestBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodadvices781, Propietario at Coati Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks a lot for giving us the opportunity to assist you during your family vacation...we love when people ask for recommendations, since as locals we know pretty well the country...learning every single day to give the best from us to our visitors...that leave as our friends...
God bless you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coati Tours also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Naranjo, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Coati Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing