We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
123
22
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
22
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelsh cakeshigh standardlovely placestayed for two nightsthe ground floorbrecon beaconscooked breakfasta lovely stayshort drivetwo night stayon arrivalother guestsgood sizefriendly welcomelittle gemout of the waylocal area
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We stayed one night in February. the whole guest house was very warm and exceptionally clean. The team were most welcoming and we found that lots of thought had been given to adding the little things which make a stay memorable. Could not recommend enough.

Room Tip: we enjoyed room 5 which had a large double bed in a generously sized room, lots of hanging space, a spa bath and a walk in shower.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. Leslie and family were all very friendly and really knowledgable of the local area even making us home made Welsh cakes on arrival, which were mouth watering (and I don’t usually like them). Best nights sleep I’ve had throughout my whole pregnancy if I could move back for the remainder I would in a heart beat the bed was just that comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, really nice locally sourced produce and a fantastic choice, loved my poached eggs. (Home made pancakes were an added bonus) Myself and my husband will definetly be returning, next time also bringing the new little addition of our family.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic time it was freezing out side but it was like beeing in Spain in side the room was very big bath we had was very big heating was on full which my wife loved christmas decorations We're still up it looked fantastic very nice indeeded not far from outlet store lots of shop for everyone walked to local Indian for tea to very nice. breakfast was spot on we just chillaxed all the time will go agian around the same time thanks soar
Chapel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We saw a 2 night stay at Soar Chapel on Groupon and thought it looked lovely and booked to stay at the beginning of December, for the weekend.

When we arrived, tired on a Friday night after a busy week, Lesley, the owner, made us feel very welcome. The guest house was all trimmed up for Christmas and looked absolutely stunning! It all looked so magical! It felt just like walking into someone’s home, we were made to feel that welcome.

We were shown to our room, which again was amazing. It was spotlessly clean, very tastefully decorated and really big. Even with a mini fridge, sofa bed, recliner chair and a huge bed in, there was lots of space. The bathroom was gorgeous, with a whirlpool bath and separate shower cubicle in also.

Along with the deal came some homemade welsh cakes on arrival, and whilst we were settling in, Lesley went to fetch them. Oh my goodness!! They were gorgeous!

We popped out for some dinner, and on returning, again we were struck with how lovely Soar Chapel is and how it has been beautifully renovated. You can tell this is a family home, not just a business. There are 3 very comfy seating areas to relax in, with a television if you wanted. All 3 areas were decorated differently to suit different visitors, but equally relaxing.

Continental Breakfast was included, with a very good selection of food available, and if you wanted to, you could order cooked breakfast too, at an additional cost. This too was absolutely lovely.

We hadn’t originally planned to but we went to the local theatre, literally a stones throw away, and watched the pantomime, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and then stopped for a curry on the way back. Both of these are within 200m of Soar Chapel.

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We really can’t recommend it enough. Lesley was a really lovely host, and takes a lot of pride in her guesthouse/home, making you feel like invited guests.

Soar Chapel is an absolute gem. We loved our stay and hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I am glad we had only booked one night here - on arrival on a wet and windy evening we were kept waiting for what seemed ages to be let in. The place has been imaginatively converted and the room was very nice. When I enquired about the Welsh Cakes which were part of the deal, the lady said they had all gone by 4pm! She said there would be more in the morning, but they never materialised! The worst thing about the place was the creaking and cracking noise from the floorboards or whatever which seemed to go on all night and early in the morning - worst night's sleep ever. Breakfast was quite basic, Hard boiled eggs, salami (no ham). All hot items were at a surcharge although there was no mention of this on the breakfast menu on the table, but we were forewarned by other guests already seated!!
The house is not situated in a nice area and I think the good reviews of this place must be for the decor and certainly not for the food. Still waiting for our Welsh cakes!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Ardamine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews