We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gargia Fjellstue(Alta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa(Alta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ongajok Mountain Lodge(Alta)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Holmen Husky Lodge(Alta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CampAlta AS(Alta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
14
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
10
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent 5 (2 the first time and 3 after a week) nights in this beautiful guesthouse, as we broken our car and we had some problem to fix it... Despite the bad mood we had for the car, we enjoy our stay and the owners were so kind with us!
The rooms are big, well furnished and is equipped with a little kitchen (fridge, electric cooker, kettle, toaster, cutlery, pots&pans, plates, mugs, glasses...), very useful to cook your own food in this very expensive country (in each room there is free tea and coffee).
There is also a shared washing machine and a dryer.
Free wi fi (very useful if you need to re-organize your trip).
In the garden there is a lovely wooden house with a big barbecue (our 2yo boy enjoyed it so much!) and the owners allows you to use it.
And, last but not least, the price is very correct: compared with other solutions in Norway it could be defined "cheap".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Bårstua; it was warm, quiet, very clean, with private bathroom and kitchen with all the cooking facilities.

We asked to the owner if he can pick up us at the airport when we arrived (at 11 p.m.) but he couldn't..anyway it was close to the airport, and we took a taxi (10 minutes, 12 € ca.).
It's close to Alta Sentrum (where you can find supermarkets and some places to eat); it is also not far from the Rock carvings (about 5 km: we went by foot following the cycle path...but there is also a bus that can take you there).
There are a lot of nice walks in Alta, most of wich near the guesthouse! (i.e. Komsa Toppen, from where you can see the beautiful Altafjorden)

On the third day we had to return to the airport for pick up the car at the car rental, and we went by foot (30 min trough the wood).

We definitely enjoyed Alta and our stay at Bårstua!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2aba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst riding 1400km from the Arctic Circle to North Cape. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owners who went out of their way to help us out (we needed some secure storage for bikes and to do some washing for example). The room was immaculately clean with good facilities including toilet, shower and kitchenette which we used for dinner and breakfast. Location is good and within a few minutes walk of the town centre. This was also the first place we stayed which had tea and coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi was useful too and allowed me to write this review. Overall this is a fantastic place to stay at a very reasonable price (we've stayed in a lot worse which were much more expensive). Highly recommended and we would definitely use the place again if we ever came back this way. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadic-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We drove 322km from Tromso to Alta (we skipped the ferry, shd have taken that) and the guesthouse was the ideal place to rest our ourselves. The place is conveniently located off the main road. Furnishing was modern and the room was spacious for our big luggage and backpacks. Lot of carpark space for our car just beside the building so that we don't have to carry our heavy bags too far. The room has all the amenities with a kitchen area and its own toilet. In Norway hotels come with toilet, but cabins in campsites doesn't. Everything was great, the room, the bed, the decor and of course free internet which city people like us can't stay too long away from the internet.

The owners were friendly people who just live in the next building. A drive to town centre takes about 5mins. We use Alta as a base to visit Nordkapp in the same day. An affordable accommodation, with good cleaniness and standard comprable or may even be higher that hotels in Alta. And you get a kitchen like a motel to cook your favourite dishes.

Room Tip: Just email and ask
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

With regret, we only spent one night at this bed & breakfast, but once there we would have stayed more than one night. The house is easily reachable, five minute driving from Alta airport, just on the borders of the main street crossing Alta. The owner welcomed us and was very very kind. There is a big parking lot, so if you have a car you can park freely and without paying extra. The rooms are located in a building apart from the building where the owner lives, the owner's house lies in front, so if you need help there's a ringing bell so you can call. We took our rooms, have a bit relax after more than 24 hours of travel from Sicily, then the owners suggested us to have a thirty minutes climbing on the Komsatoppen a hill dominating the fjord of Alta and where we enjoyed the twilight at 1.00 AM. Back to the rooms, they are well equipped with television, wireless internet and you can serve for yourself coffee and tea because there is a mini kitchen. Bathroom and shower are in the room, the shower is closed with two plexiglas transparent doors so anybody in the bathroom can look at you while having a shower, these doors seem very fragile and have to pay attention because they can bump on the sink and crash! There's no shower plate and you flood the bathroom!
In the room you find 2 easy chairs, a little wooden table and furniture and at last a big modern table where you can have your breakfast. The rooms are quite big and large.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Myrdingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews