We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything perfect, friendly owners, well located !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baarstua Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Alta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I spent 7 nights with a friend at Baarstua last week, and I would highly recommend this establishment !

Everything was perfect from the beginning to the end :
- very king owners who answer all of your questions and try to make your stay the most comfortable they can (help for booking etc)
- good location (walk 10min left you'll be in town, walk 20min right you'll be next to the sea, perfect spot to watch the northern lights)
- small kitchen very useful (with toaster, kettle,...)
- bathroom very clean and functional
- good beds (important for me because of my back)
- you can regulate the room's temperature by yourself
- towels, forks, knives, salt, mustard, tea,... are in the hall (you can use it when you need)
- TV (we never used it because there are so many better things to do ;)) and magazines
- passcode for the main door in the night so you feel safe
- and so many other good things !

We felt like at home and it was really nice !
We saw the northern lights 6 nights from 7 (only 1 cloudy evening), so I could confirm that the location is perfect ! (we even saw the auroras from the guesthouse's door !)
One last thing : don't forget to walk up the Komsa hill, the view is wonderful from there !!

Taxi from the airport is 120 NOK

Room Tip: ground floor is better because I think there was no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joy_Lykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent 5 (2 the first time and 3 after a week) nights in this beautiful guesthouse, as we broken our car and we had some problem to fix it... Despite the bad mood we had for the car, we enjoy our stay and the owners were so kind with us!
The rooms are big, well furnished and is equipped with a little kitchen (fridge, electric cooker, kettle, toaster, cutlery, pots&pans, plates, mugs, glasses...), very useful to cook your own food in this very expensive country (in each room there is free tea and coffee).
There is also a shared washing machine and a dryer.
Free wi fi (very useful if you need to re-organize your trip).
In the garden there is a lovely wooden house with a big barbecue (our 2yo boy enjoyed it so much!) and the owners allows you to use it.
And, last but not least, the price is very correct: compared with other solutions in Norway it could be defined "cheap".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Bårstua; it was warm, quiet, very clean, with private bathroom and kitchen with all the cooking facilities.

We asked to the owner if he can pick up us at the airport when we arrived (at 11 p.m.) but he couldn't..anyway it was close to the airport, and we took a taxi (10 minutes, 12 € ca.).
It's close to Alta Sentrum (where you can find supermarkets and some places to eat); it is also not far from the Rock carvings (about 5 km: we went by foot following the cycle path...but there is also a bus that can take you there).
There are a lot of nice walks in Alta, most of wich near the guesthouse! (i.e. Komsa Toppen, from where you can see the beautiful Altafjorden)

On the third day we had to return to the airport for pick up the car at the car rental, and we went by foot (30 min trough the wood).

We definitely enjoyed Alta and our stay at Bårstua!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2aba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst riding 1400km from the Arctic Circle to North Cape. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owners who went out of their way to help us out (we needed some secure storage for bikes and to do some washing for example). The room was immaculately clean with good facilities including toilet, shower and kitchenette which we used for dinner and breakfast. Location is good and within a few minutes walk of the town centre. This was also the first place we stayed which had tea and coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi was useful too and allowed me to write this review. Overall this is a fantastic place to stay at a very reasonable price (we've stayed in a lot worse which were much more expensive). Highly recommended and we would definitely use the place again if we ever came back this way. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadic-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We drove 322km from Tromso to Alta (we skipped the ferry, shd have taken that) and the guesthouse was the ideal place to rest our ourselves. The place is conveniently located off the main road. Furnishing was modern and the room was spacious for our big luggage and backpacks. Lot of carpark space for our car just beside the building so that we don't have to carry our heavy bags too far. The room has all the amenities with a kitchen area and its own toilet. In Norway hotels come with toilet, but cabins in campsites doesn't. Everything was great, the room, the bed, the decor and of course free internet which city people like us can't stay too long away from the internet.

The owners were friendly people who just live in the next building. A drive to town centre takes about 5mins. We use Alta as a base to visit Nordkapp in the same day. An affordable accommodation, with good cleaniness and standard comprable or may even be higher that hotels in Alta. And you get a kitchen like a motel to cook your favourite dishes.

Room Tip: Just email and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alta hotels
1.2 km away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
539 reviews
2.3 km away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
21.4 km away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
342 reviews
3.8 km away
Holmen Husky Lodge
Holmen Husky Lodge
#2 of 8 in Alta
38 reviews
20.3 km away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baarstua Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baarstua Guesthouse

Address: Kongleveien 2A, Alta 9510, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alta
Price Range: RM363 - RM493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Baarstua Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing