We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baarstua Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Alta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We stayed in a triple room. The room was very nice with kitchenette. We could not cook big meals but still good for some light ones in order not to bother the alarm in the room. There were some utensils and plates and stuff in the room. Some more were in the hall that you're free to use. Clean and tidy.
The room was spacious enough even with a dining table. There were extra folded chairs for your convenience. The bed was a bit soft to me but I think the softness level is common in Norway.
Supermarket was a few minute walking away. The town was around 15 minutes walk (we have short legs). There were a mall, some supermarkets, Northern light cathedral in the town. We even walked to the Alta Museum. It took around an hour or so.
Mrs. owner was very friendly and helpful during my booking and our stay. She gave us tips on where to get off the bus. She also helped in calling to ask for my delayed luggage and booking for a taxi. Taxi ride, by the way, was Kr129 for our trip from the Guesthouse to Alta airport. Took 2-3 minutes only.
The guesthouse was just like a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2015

We spent two weeks in this lovely place. It was super clean, with extremely comfortable beds that I did not want to leave in the mornings.
The owner could not have been nicer and more helpful.
As we were often out at night the self-catering option was perfect for us. The kitchenette was small but really good to use and plenty of pots and tools were available.
We loved the big bathroom with the underfloor heating!
Free and reliable WiFi was also brilliant to have.
It is conveniently located and only a few minutes drive (or walk) to the airport.

We werfe probably a bit unlucky that the person above us had his alarm go off at 6.00 am and did not turn it off, so it went on and on for ages. Not so good if you only got to bed very late after a night out aurora watching. :)

We would definitely go back there but I would ask for an upstairs room.

Great place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: upstairs is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingvet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Nice place to sleep, with a good bedroom, roomy bathroom (with heated floor) and a small (but sufficient) space to cook and eat (and save on the expensive dining options around...).
Was even lucky to see the northern lights - aurora - from the window of our room.
And something important that's often overlooked, there are some spots to park cars - which seems to be really necessary for reaching the landmarks and activities around.
The location is pretty good, midway between the airport and the city centre.
Just book well in advance, because the number of rooms is limited.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubens E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

The room is modern, clean and cozy. Is possible to get there by walking from the airport, and is possible to walk to the city center too.
The owner is a realy nice lady, who cares about offering a good experience in Alta.
I came here to see the northen lights and I was able to see it starting from my window! Fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauravbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I ordered after reading the recommendations here on Tripadvisor, and they don't lie. This is a small guesthouse with good rooms, flatscreen TV, spacious bathroom and your own little kitchen with a dining table. It's about midway between the airport and the city centre. The owner is very helpful in helping out with recommendations on where to go and what to see. Wifi is free. It's not really a B&B since they don't serve breakfast, but the beds are very good. I think this is a place that gives you good value for your money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Daffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alta hotels
1.2 km away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
539 reviews
2.3 km away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
21.4 km away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
342 reviews
3.8 km away
Holmen Husky Lodge
Holmen Husky Lodge
#2 of 8 in Alta
38 reviews
20.3 km away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baarstua Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baarstua Guesthouse

Address: Kongleveien 2A, Alta 9510, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alta
Price Range: RM364 - RM494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Baarstua Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing