We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hovden Fjellstoge(Hovden)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hovden Hoyfjellsenter & Hyttepark(Hovden)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morgedal Hotell(Morgedal)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hovdehytta(Hovden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
7
6
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
6
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed a weekend mid february 2014 at this hotel. Very nice common areas but you can smell the stinking fireplace as soon as you open your room door. The rooms are poorly ventilated and difficult to dry clothes in. For some, it may be so bad that it ruins your sleep (if you are used to fresh air in your home). There is no common drying room facilities neither. Our toilet was continously flushing water, so condenced water formed droplets on the outside of it and made the bathroom floor wet. In-floor heating on the bathroom did not work.

All in all, Hovden is a great place to stay, but just don't stay inside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here last week during a skiing trip with my husband's work. What a wonderful week it was full of skiing and great food!

Pros: Location is absolutely perfect. You can walk to the ski trails, it is so close. Also, the surroundings is just absolutely majestic....but that is Norway in general. We really enjoyed the set menu the first few nights that we were there. The portions were perfect and the food was VERY high quality. They served a buffet the last few nights and we didn't enjoy that as much, though it was still ok. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions. The rooms were big enough...we had a family room and had plenty of room for us with our 2 children. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection, traditionally european. Our children enjoyed the pool very much and we enjoyed the sauna each evening. They have a lovely fireplace lounge by the bar that we would meet our friends at before dinner and also a lovely library area with gigantic windows where you could enjoy some quiet reading and the view. There was a "practice" slope out back with a little conveyor belt and our children LOVED using their sleds on it. What a great feature!

Cons: The charge to bring your dog was absolutely exorbitant! So much that we actually decided to kennel our dog at the last minute because the fee was so absurd. While the breakfast buffet was good, the "hot bar" was cold every single morning. That got old after a few days because we were forced to just eat cold items for breakfast. The game room was a nice feature, but FULL of germs. There was an odd smell in there and many children were coughing their heads off while we were visiting. I am sure it was never wiped down or cleaned during our week there and as a result (not surprisingly) we all got sick upon our return home. The kitchen staff needs help in a major way. During our visit there were only 2 ladies who were working their tails off during the meals with no help whatsoever. They were obviously overextended and could not keep things restocked. Several customers were frustrated at the lack of bread, cold eggs, etc. The beds in the rooms are 2 single beds pushed together to make a double. The problem is that if you toss and turn, they separate very easily. Many times I fell into the "hole" in the middle. :)

We would definitely stay here again! The pros far outweigh the cons and we are so thankful at having the opportunity to visit Hovden and enjoy a week of fun there!

Room Tip: Don't forget that they offer family rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A nice hotel in the southern mountains of Norway. Had a good stay in a business errand. Had a cabin outside the hotel and it was good space and easy to get in for the meals.
No wi-fi in cabins but you ca get it in the hotel lobby. Had two dinner parties here in the big restaurant. Good food and surroundings. But ordered the wine pack which was made especially for a menu. This was not a good choice from the hotel. But all in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjørnar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at Hovden Høyfjellshotell during winter holiday and I must say we had some great days there. A lot of snow and primarily outdoor activities like cross country skiing, slalom, snowboarding etc.

The hotel is surrounded by proper ski facilities like the cross country tracks that are continuously maintained from early in the morning. I was out 6:30AM one day and the tracks were already prepared! Outside the hotel there is also a very popular ski slope with an easy-to-use lift. It is primarily for kids, but also serves as a great starting-point for newbies on slalom or snowboard to work on developing basic skills.

We went to the Hovden Ski Centre for two days as well to do alpine skiing. The ski centre is just a walking distance away, but I recommend the shuttle bus.The ski centre has free ski lifts for kids and they have indeed more challenging slopes starting from the mountain top. We also went to the Aqualand, a walking distance away, where they have a popular indoor pool, hot tubs as well as a connecting outdoor pool.

We also spent time at the hotel indoor pool and the sauna. The indoor pool can be a bit noisy, but kids seem to love it. The hotel sauna, on the other hand, is very relaxing.

There is a popular dinner buffet at the hotel during weekends that I recommend. Great selection of food, desserts and a help yourself ice cream bar. With two kids room plus a fireplace close by it was easy for the kids to mingle and to play while we stayed in the restaurant for another hour or so.

We went up to the new Hovden Alpin Lodge one day as well. Good selection of Brewdog beers and some classy and well-prepared coctails. The lodge is located in the middle of the ski centre so it's easy to find.

Have a look at the attatched pics.

Best Regards,
André

Room Tip: The hotel has a number of family rooms that you should try to book as early as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Travelling with a small coach party of people we arrived and were provided with a key card to our room. On opening the door it was found to be occupied so a long trek back to reception and eventually provided with another room. Staff was limited and the two of them seemed to have to do everything from reception, bar and serving. Our room was adequately comfortable and clean. Set evening meal was of excellent salmon, but others in our party would have liked an alternative. Service took a long time due to lack of staff. This was a one night stop over on our tour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews