We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
7
6
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
6
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Great food and location for ski holiday. The best buffet ever on New Years Eve. Stayed here with my family, great big family rooms. They have s small swimmingpool which our youngest enjoyed and great ski slope just outside the door.

Room Tip: Family room had to room and a bathroom
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

Food was quite good but the rooms are awful, need a renovation already many years ago, including the bathrooms. Terrible beds and the sofa bed for the kids was the worse they ever slept in (their words). Lots of noise in the evening too, from a party close by. Not the hotel's fault of course but don't come if you want your kids to sleep at a decent hour and comfortably...

Stayed: April 2015
Thank alopes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Our family stayed here for the first part of the Easter holiday fur nights. This was a ski holiday where This hotel has an excellent location both for downhill and alpine skiing.
This hotel has developed well over time providing good value for what you get. Public areas are modern and very cosy providing opportunities to find a calm place. Rooms have not been upgraded for a long time, but everything in our room worked perfectly and has been maintained well. We had half pension which is a good deal provided the quality of the breakfast and dinner. The swimming pool is ok and mostly for children. There is a sauna here as well. The employees where very service minded, although there where few Norwegians to spot among them.
This was a very relaxing holiday for our family where the hotel provided good quality during our stay.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank GEM_reiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We, two adults and one girl(10), spent 3 nights at Hovden Høyfjellshotell for a short skiing holiday. The hotel is centrally located in Hovden, and very close to the solpes (400 m). Overall, our stay was nice, the staff were friendly and accommodating, but I felt I overpaid, paying approx.. 700 GBP for 3 nights. In my opinion this is way too much, but there aren’t that many hotels to choose from in Hovden, and even though we booked a long time in advance, finding a room was not that easy. We ended up with a family room with a double bed, and a chair that converted into a bed for our daughter. The room was quiet and of acceptable size, with ample opportunity to store our ski boots etc., but everything was pretty dated and in my opinion most of the décor in the room and the rest of the hotel made me feel like I’d stepped through a time warp and landed in the mid-80’s. However, this is probably the case for many Norwegian skiing resort hotels. The room and bathroom were clean, but the bathroom, although functional, was not very attractive. To prevent water from flowing under the bathtub, a copious amount of silicone had been spread across the floor, which didn’t look very nice. Everything was well cleaned, though, so it wasn’t really a big problem. We were on a bed&breakfast board, and the breakfast was nice, though I sorely missed bacon. At breakfast it was rather annoying to see that most (or all) of the nice window tables were reserved for other guests, but mostly remained empty during our entire meal. It reminded me of the early morning rush to reserve a sun lounger in the morning, and then leaving it mostly unused, when on package holidays…. Disregarding the price we were happy with our stay, but unless we get a better price the next time, we probably won’t come again.

Room Tip: Half and full board are available, I'd advice to call the hotel directly and enquire before booking.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoverOfDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

This hotel is a 15 minute walk from the alpine centre. The breakfast buffet is very nice with a choice of both english and continental breakfast as well as fruit, cereal, pancakes and pretty much everything else you can think of. The room was nice and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

There's a small swimming pool available on the ground floor.

The conference room is really outdated. There's a projection screen on the wall but the projector is just standing on an old overhead projector table and it wasn't calibrated to fit the screen at all. Be sure to bring your own computer and a VGA-converter cable and be early.

The most convenient place to rent you ski/snowboard gear is at the alpine centre, but there are also other places around town.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews