We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tuftelia Vertshus(Geilo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
6
26
21
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
26
21
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifthamsrailway stationwintertoiletmountains
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Ro Hotel. Only downside was that the last guest in our room had "forgotten" something personal in the toilet. The cleaning staff had obviously not detected it. This is unacceptable!!!! Besides this I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you want a cheap place to stay in Geilo. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after retreating from bad weather in the mountains. We were made very welcome and had a lovely room with a view across to the ski slopes. The room had a proper seating area, it was warm and we could control the temperature easily. There was a free computer downstairs for internet access.

We didn't eat in the cafe but breakfast was fine. Only comment is that there is no lift and all rooms are at least two floors up - no problem for us with rucsacs but to bear in mind if you have heavy cases.

As the owner said, Norway isn't expensive, it's very expensive. By Norwegian standards it was very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_H42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Ro Hotel, always a friendly welcome. Warm and clean , good hot showers, view of ski slopes across the glen. Good filling three course meals with coffee or tea served in the Ro Kro downstairs, candle lit beside fire. Winter pension a good deal for Norway, incuding packed lunch made from breakfast buffet.
Very handy for train - at end of platform but trains do not disturb sleep too much.
Ten minute walk to chair lift or ski bus stop. highly recommende for Geilo! Will be back again.

Room Tip: Ensuite rooms with view at front of hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenM551806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A "Spartan" facility, which is fine for active people hill walking or skiing. There is no pretence of luxury. The hotel is very expensive though modest in comparison to others in Geilo, which is a premium priced resort Summer or Winter. Hence the 4 star rating.

Right beside railway station and saved an expensive taxi fare to other hotels. Train noise was minimal and did not disturb sleep. Shower was good- hot and good pressure. Good base to start from for hikes in the area. Across the road from a fine restaurant. The host was cordial but not over expansive in his advice on the area

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms overlook the railway, do not have en suite showers and have no outlook. Rooms to the front of the building are brighter, have showers and a lovely view but cost more.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonOvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

we booked this hotel as a stopover for a night instead of taking a 6 to 7hour train ride to oslo. The hotel right next to the rail station. Our room was facing the ski mountains instead of the track. There were only 3 rooms occupied. We can still hear a slight noise but it was ok. The hotel is quite clean although there were dusts on some areas that were not used. Doesnt bother us since we only stayed a night. The guy who maintain the counter was really nice. Breakfast was included in the price and had some spreads of hams, cheeses, juices, cereals and bread. There is a bakery next to it and coop supermarket just opposite to the left. Generally ok. Just a little pricey for something not worth as much.by the way there is no lifts in this old building and rooms are from level 3 to 5.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews