We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
345
315
139
39
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
315
139
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front leisure facilities marriott hotels swimming pool steam room corner suite leisure club superior room separate shower trouser press changing rooms two double beds lounge area seaburn beach car park bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

This hotel is very well situated facing the sea. I regretted to not have taken a room with sea view and I would advise to take it. The hotel is a little old but very comfortable and the staffs are very helpful.
the rice is very good for the quality, compared to some other Marriott hotels

Room Tip: take a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi joelle m
Many thanks for posting your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the future, when your travels bring you to Sunderland.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

What a brilliant hotel. We only stayed there two nights, but we were mega impressed by the staff and also the fact that the hotel was right next to the beach. Wonderful. It was a great hotel and we were treated so well by the staff. They couldn't do enough to help us. I was mega impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or even a partial one.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NRGRJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

It is great to read your review and thank you so much for your lovely comments which have now been shared with the team. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to Sunderland.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Another week and another Marriott, I have stayed here before a couple of times, at different times of the year, during the summer the hotel is busy as is the seafront and beach, winter time it is nice a quiet, the exterior of the building is a bit dated, inside the decor is pleasant.

The views from the sea facing rooms are fabulous with very little road noise, rooms are spacious and clean but probably due a refurb soon.

The staff are great all of them, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Ideal for business or leisure stays.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank SouthEastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi SouthEastUK
We really appreciate your valuable and constructive feedback on the facilities and services we provide, here at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoy the location of the hotel, overlooking the sandy beaches at Seaburn and the North Sea. We hope to serve you again very soon.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it lovely room on the corner overlooking park and sea front with bay window . Warm and comfy twin room with bath and separate shower cubicle nice large towels brilliant white ,beds were immaculate and very comfortable. Staff are lovely and very helpful. Pool etc is great and so warm this is so 5 star wonderful will be looking again for a bargain.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank avisburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi avisburnham
Thank you so much for your great review and your high scoring. I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and your kind words have been shared with the team. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit to the area.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel very friendly and efficient staff. The sea front facing rooms are spacious well presented with comfortable beds and large on suite bathrooms. Swimming pool and fitness room for those that wish to work off the excesses of the dining room. Hotel is in a lovely location for walks along the prom and other local eateries. Car parking is free and also secure inside the hotel walled grounds. All in all a very enjoyable stay and one we shall repeat...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LauraM16572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Laura M
Thank you so much for writing your review in a forum such as this one and I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to Sunderland.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews