We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

National Glass Centre
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in a unique, contemporary glass and steel building, the National Glass Centre houses exhibition galleries, artists' studios and production facilities, a craft & design shop and an award winning café/restaurant. National Glass Centre is part of the University of Sunderland. We deliver a programme of changing exhibitions, education programmes and events for schools, families, adults and children. We are dedicated to exploring ideas through glass and providing opportunities for people to be creative, enjoy themselves and feel inspired.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited here over the Easter weekend. Lots of exhibits and interesting history of glass making in Sunderland. The glass blowing demonstration was amazing and not to be missed. Lunch in the cafe was tasty and good value.

1  Thank ajksmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"for sale"
in 23 reviews
"overlooking the river"
in 16 reviews
"christmas baubles"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 38 reviews
"free entry"
in 41 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 54 reviews
"modern building"
in 8 reviews
"cafe restaurant"
in 11 reviews
"scones"
in 20 reviews
"interesting history"
in 9 reviews
"interesting place"
in 16 reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 11 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 20 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 19 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 14 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first time here and it was really nice . The Glass Centre is free admission and also car parking free which was great but when we arrived it was full so had to wait until a space became available. Cafe ok but we did wait a long time until our meals arrived maybe this was because of staffing a bank holiday? The shop was good and the glass making demonstration really informative. A nice afternoon out.

1  Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not really much to see - Except a glass roof upon which one may walk while being supposedly marvelled at the room beneath the glass floor. Maybe the place was closed when i went hence i had such a poor experience haha.

Thank Syed_Ibrahim_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't find enough to look at during your visit. I hope you managed to visit our galleries. Our Heritage Gallery is very popular and informative and the exhibitions installed in our Main Gallery include work from established national and international artists. We've also just opened the new Northern Gallery for Contemporary Art on 24th March on the lower floor.

We do hope you make a return visit to National Glass Centre in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place. Watch a demo, very well done and free.
Food and drink always great quality. Great service, friendly informative staff.

Thank Moleman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited the glass centre on many occasions just for a fleeting coffee but there is much more to do as I discovered yesterday. Parking is FREE! and your first port of call must be the roof. (Yes you read that correctly). The roof has some clear glass panels where you can view the centre 2 floors below which is not for the faint hearted. Entry to the centre is also FREE!!!
On the top floor of the centre there are lots of educational materials where you can learn about the centre and its acheivements. However the lower floor is where all of the magic happens. Stairs or a lift take you to the lower floors. You are treated to numerous exhibits which you can buy all made at the centre. You can see demonstrations of small glass pieces being made in detail or attend a live demonstration narrated by the workers where the larger peices are made in front of your eyes by in house professionals. There is a lovely cafe where you wait to be seated and then are waited upon by the lovely staff. Not a fantastic choice but very good quality. The views of the river Wear are stunning and the cafe leads onto the river front wheer you can walk as far as your legs allow you and view the Riverside artwork at intervals. Definitely a must visit if in Sunderland

1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope you make a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Glass Centre also viewed

 

Been to National Glass Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing