We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Italian Restaurant with excellent service”
Review of Don Royale

Don Royale
Ranked #157 of 310 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Description: Don Royale offers a menu accessible to all. Michael is most definitely the Don when it comes to sourcing the best ingredients and in making sure you get the freshest food a restaurant has to offer. The dishes are prepared to order by genuine, Italian chefs, and our wines are specially curated to match the delicious dishes. For an authentic Italian experience, we are the real deal.
Restaurant details
Description: Don Royale offers a menu accessible to all. Michael is most definitely the Don when it comes to sourcing the best ingredients and in making sure you get the freshest food a restaurant has to offer. The dishes are prepared to order by genuine, Italian chefs, and our wines are specially curated to match the delicious dishes. For an authentic Italian experience, we are the real deal.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delicious pizza and food, lots of gluten free and veggie options. Staff were attentive and great with guests. Friendly atmosphere and beautiful views.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ej270296
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Situated at a high point right above St George's Bay, this restaurant offers spectacular views of St. Julians.
Being owned by the renowned chef Marvin Gauci, one can already set high expectations of the food
With plus points for ambiance, we eagerly ordered two pizzas: Don Stromboli Pizza (closed pizza filled with Sausage, Tomato sauce and Mozzarella) and Don Funghi e Fratelli Pizza with Charcoal Dough (Topped with Porcini and regular mushroom and truffle)
The pizzas were excellent, not the standard usual kind. The dough was super and the toppings perfect.
We took two Royale Zeppole for dessert, which were mainly fried dough balls topped with honey and icing sugar, served with Ice Cream. These were super sweet but so delicious!
Prices are a bit on the high side but very worth it. Good service also
Will be back for sure!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank N842QVjessicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Booked a table on the terrace overlooking St George's Bay. It was a lovely night and the moon shone on the calm mediterranean sea which along with the soft Italian music in the background created a wonderful and relaxing atmosphere for me and my wife. We didn't wait too much for the food which was good but to be honest my vitella palermitana was a bit dry. My wife had a pollo farcita which is chicken breast filled with mushrooms. She asked for boiled veg to replace the cold salad but was told it was not possible. Portions were decent and service was ok and friendly. Unfortunately the bathroom seemed not to be inspected regularly and was in a mess. We plan to go back to the magnificent bay view but would stick to drinks and pizzas.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Carm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

The smale restaurant have a stunning view, shadow outdoor places (late afternoon) and a competend crew .
We had drinks, wine and differend plates. All was well presentend and well cocked.
Price is quiet .

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank heinzm973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

I had a salad that from the description and price looked rich and filling , instead ITV was just several pieces of lettuce a couple of cherry tomatoes and some cut beef with no dressing whatsoeve or other types of vegetables although it was stated in the menu .

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank florianap337
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Don Royale also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Don Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.