We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop along the way!”
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This was like stopping in a quaint little village and overnighting at an Inn. Coming from Canada, we didn`t know what to expect but Trip Advisor didn`t let us down. The rooms were very nice, clean and modern. The staff was really nice and the restaurant was very good. Found a great mall close by to stop at.
My only suggestion is that if you`re travelling by car and using a GPS, make sure you type in the area East Kilbride as we just said Main Street and ended up in a different area all together which was not a good first impression.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janascottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear janascottage,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at The Torrance Hotel.

It is always lovely to read such great feedback from our guests therefore is a pleasure to hear your wonderful comments about our hotel and the service you recieved from our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are once again here on your travels!

Kind regards,
The Torrance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Bed very uncomfortable, room was cold. Hotel and Surroundings beautiful. Staff were brilliant and very accommodating, faultless. Food and Drinks, Entertainment Excellent. Overall cleanliness was 10/10.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynnquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear lynnquinn,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at The Torrance Hotel.

It is always lovely to read such great feedback from our guests therefore is a pleasure to hear your wonderful comments about our hotel and the service you recieved from our team.

I can only apologise that your room was cold. Our heating times have now changed for the winter so thank you for your feedback with regards to this.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Torrance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

They wouldn’t let us stay with our friends in a room that was clearly big enough and suited for at least 3/4 due to there being a pull out bed in the room. So we paid for another room...more expensive and it was way smaller. When we were getting ready to go to bed, my husband noticed a huge spider on the ceiling so we killed it. Then he noticed a bunch more. After killing those and removing cobwebs, we found a spider nest in a corner. We decided to just ignore it because we’d been traveling all day and didn’t want to leave and sleep in the airport. Anyways, extremely nice staff but still kind of crap service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rebecca_bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Rebecca_bog,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay.

I delighted that your found our staff to be extremely nice as our team strive to ensure that they provide the best service to our guests at all times.

I can only apologise that you found a spider in your room. When checking the room you stayed in and could find no evidence of this nest but thank you for passing the feedback in in case of further issues. Our customer safety and cleanliness is paramount to us and if mentioned on the evening could have been rectified and/or another room provided for you.

Unfortunately your booking was originally for two adults and was stated at check in that another room for the accompanying adults would be purchased. Our sofa beds are recommended for years 12 and under therefore unfortunately would not have been suitable for adults.

I do hope that you visit us again, please call us and we can advise of the best room for your needs to make your stay more enjoyable for you.

Kind regards,
The Torrance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The room was spacious and comfortable. The shower was heavenly!!!! Staying here is a must on your travels. We had breakfast brought to the room which was pretty quick as those things go and still warm. We will be stayin again one day!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LinselyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear LinselyP,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at The Torrance Hotel.

It is always lovely to read such great feedback from our guests therefore is a pleasure to hear your wonderful comments about our hotel and the service you recieved from our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
The Torrance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

First of all this is a good hotel with most areas fresh and new.
Staff were friendly and in the main efficient. Cooked breakfast selection was good.
We were in room 17. Although modern with a great shower room the bed space itself was cramped. The bed is squeezed in a raised area with only a foot either side for access. The room is also next to the service room and I was wakened at 6 ish with people walking back and forth. When we opened the door there was about 20 laundry bags in the corridor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank derekm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Derekm6,

Thank you for your review on your stay.

I am delighted that your overall staff was good and your feedback on our team and food is great to read.

I can only apologise that you found the room you were booked into unsatisfactory with regards to space. We have a wide variety of shapes and sizes for our rooms so please do come back again and let us know what you are looking for and we can accommodate this for you. Our Executive rooms provide a larger floor space compared to our doubles which I'm sure you would enjoy.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Torrance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
5.8 km away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
782 reviews
0.8 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
420 reviews
3.7 km away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
718 reviews
14.7 km away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Nerston Toll) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range: RM432 - RM914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing