We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,464)
Filter reviews
4,464 results
Traveller rating
1,389
1,468
923
454
230
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,389
1,468
923
454
230
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kailyard restaurant nick nairn cookies cocktail bar separate building front facing main building leisure facilities junior suite steam room both nights dinner bed and breakfast doubletree by hilton relaxing break self service beautiful building short break
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 4,464 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean room in the newer part of the building, delicious meal at the Kailyard restaurant and room service fantastic breakfast (£5 supplement) all for £110!
This hotel is lovely with excellent staff - nothing was a problem
we didn’t use the pool so can’t comment on that but it is in a separate building.
The sun was out so we managed to sit outside for a while taking in the stunning views.
Sat in the cocktail bar in the evening and there was a piano player on which was lovely.
10 min walk to high street in Dunblane where are a few little shops and bars, we went to the riverside bar which was lovely.
We will definitely be returning to the fabulous hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartCran, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Deborah r

Thank you for taking the time to leave the hotel and team feedback. It's great to hear your enjoyed your experience with us and thought it was great value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully the sun will be shining then.

Regards

Stuart Cran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Another nice wee break here,we had a nice room309 ,as usual a friendly welcome and a yummy cookie,lovely walks and delicious breakfast.We used the pool in the evening and the morning lovely and warm,I love that you can choose your room online.As Arnie said we will be back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartCran, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Elizabeth L

Thank you for being a returning guest at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro Hotel. I'm delighted you continue to enjoy your experience with us. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Stuart Cran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We arrived at the Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro on Friday, where we were checked in quickly (and given our cookies), and told a quick explanation where our room was. After getting lost and not finding our room, a second trip to reception and a better explanation, we found our room in the Stirling Wing.

Room: we were VERY disappointed with our first room, based in the Stirling Wing. It was very small, had a storage heater, no toiletries, a view of the rear car park where you can hear the cars driving about, and scuff marks around the walls. It honestly felt like a Premier Inn room, not a Hilton standard room which you pay a very high amount for per night. After one call to reception who said there was nothing they could do until Saturday morning, I phoned back again and spoke to another gentleman, who was an absolute star. He gave us room 411 (in the body of the actual Hotel, on the top floor with lovely views), without any questions at all. We just met him at reception, switched cards, and we were happy again! The room was bigger than initial room, had all the amenities, and even toiletries this time.

Restaurant: Breakfast - buffet style breakfast, and it is top notch. All the fry up food you could want (apart from Hash Browns), and the sausages are amazing! Never had to wait for a table at breakfast, and we went down at their normally busy time, which is a major good point!
Dinner - amazing!! We stayed 2 nights, and I believe they switch between Purple and Silver menus every 2 nights, so luckily we had different choice both nights in the Kailyard. Service is very good, and efficient. Food is AMAZING! If you dine in the restaurant, I recommend you phone and book a table if you want to dine between 6:30 and 8pm as it gets very busy.

Swimming Pool: very tired and in need of a major refurb. The pool itself is small, and half of it is blocked off for lane swimming, so if there are a couple of families in with kids, then it's a tight squeeze. The Jacuzzi has broken bubble blowers, and was cold compared to the pool. The changing rooms were cold, and very drab too. Slightly disappointed, as we had planned on going more than the once.

Overall, we would definitely recommend the Dunblane Hydro, and we will be back - and will ask to be given a room in the body of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the body of the Hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskjcv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartCran, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to offer your review. I am sorry to hear you were initially disappointed with your room but I am pleased to hear a member of our team was able to move you. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food served, both at dinner and breakfast. Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not find all of your stay to your liking and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Stuart Cran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Brought a coach party here for 2 nights. Hotel is fantastic. Set in its own grounds on top of a hill. Great views. Staff are very friendly and helpful and friendly. Rooms are very well decorated and very clean. Food is excellent very hot and fresh lots of choice at breakfast. Only downside for coaches exit is not that good. Parked cars blocking oneway . Other way very tight bend with brushes on one side big rocks on other side. But would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartcran, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Gary H

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay. It's great to hear your enjoyed the views and our food, and our staff made you feel welcome. Thank you for also highlighting the coach departure issue when exiting our grounds and this is something we can look at for future coach trips.

Regards

Stuart Cran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

A lovely approach to the hotel and a welcoming reception area, where coffee and tablet are available upon arrival.

There were three generations in our party ranging from 10 years old to 76 years old. We had booked two nights to celebrate a 70th birthday.

The rooms were of good standard however some corridor areas were tired and in need of refreshing.

The restaurant was excellent both evenings; service and food of the highest quality. The restaurant had a lovely ambience and was well lit, creating a relaxed atmosphere.

Breakfast is a highlight, one of the best we have experienced. Scottish, local and freshly prepared. Lovely.

Also a surprise to be offered a complimentary quality newspaper at breakfast in this Wi-fi age. All adds to the relaxed and leisurely atmosphere within the hotel.

Parking is sufficient, we managed to find a parking space even though there were events on in the hotel both nights.

The accessible rooms for the less abled are first floor and above towards the rear of the hotel, therefore a distance to the main part of the hotel for the restaurant and bar areas.

Top tip - Family interconnecting rooms are discounted by 50% for second room.

A fantastic stay that resulted in complements from all in our party,which is a ringing endorsement given the wide age range in our group.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank DialP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartCran, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Dial P

We are delighted to hear that yourself, and all your party, enjoyed marking a very special occasion with us. And it is great to hear that you all felt relaxed, comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast - something the hotel prides itself on.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Stuart Cran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews