We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub
Ranked #55 of 316 Restaurants in St Helens
Price range: US$23 - US$51
Description: Overlooking a cricket square in the Dentons Green area of St Helens, Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub offers two distinct areas - the dining room and the bar. Food can be taken in both areas with reservations taken for the dining room. Offering quality dining, the food is prepared fresh with healthiness in mind. The ethos is 'Simple Classics, Beautifully Cooked'.
Restaurant details
Description: Overlooking a cricket square in the Dentons Green area of St Helens, Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub offers two distinct areas - the dining room and the bar. Food can be taken in both areas with reservations taken for the dining room. Offering quality dining, the food is prepared fresh with healthiness in mind. The ethos is 'Simple Classics, Beautifully Cooked'.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food was delicious and served in a lovely warm comfortable setting.
I would definitely recommend this place to everyone who loves good food.

1  Thank orangetea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

My wife, 2 children and I had a lovely meal last night. The food was absolutely brilliant, nice atmosphere, great pint and cracking service. We will be back there very soon and it will be even better in the summer months when you can sit outside and watch the cricket. Looking forward to it!!

1  Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StickyWicketStH, Manager at Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thanks Gavin, we're always pleased to hear when people have enjoyed the food and service.

We're also looking forward to the summer sports season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

my friend and I ate here on Friday evening, it isnt a big restaurant but the service and food quality were spot on. Will return to try weekend breakfasts and Sunday lunch in Summer.

1  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StickyWicketStH, Manager at Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely, kind words Louise. We look forward to seeing you again for Breakfast or Sunday lunch.

The Sticky Wicket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Went today for Sunday lunch I phoned yesterday to book and they only had one booking left! First impressions a relatively small restraunt area but tastefully decorated and had a nice ambience. We ordered the salt and pepper chicken and pate to start and both had the roast beef dinner which had at least 6 portions of veg as well as two types of potato and the gravy was very tasty. I had the sticky toffee pudding to finish. I would like to come again in the week to try the main menu as I am hoping it's all as delicious as the food I had today. At only £17 For 3 courses of lovely food I shall certainly be returning and recommending to family and friends. Staff also very friendly and attentive.

1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StickyWicketStH, Manager at Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi Andrea

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your compliments on the food & service.

Hopefully we will see you back very soon to try the main menu.

The Sticky Wicket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Looked for somewhere different to try and this place came up on here.
Very nice clean place. Food was good with a nice choice. I tried the Guinness pie which was nice but was a little fatty, pastry and everything else was very nice. Daughter had the gourmet burger which she enjoyed but did say the burger itself was a little thick to try to pick up and eat.
We had a chocolate brownie and ice cream sundae for desert, brownie was nice and sundae was different being laid out on a plate with fruit instead of a glass.
Overall we enjoyed it and will definitely be trying here again. Credit must go to the girl that served us as she was very friendly and helpful.

1  Thank Jonathan46anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StickyWicketStH, Owner at Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks you for the review Jonathan46anna, it's always nice to hear when people have enjoyed their food and that they plan to return

The Sticky Wicket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub also viewed

St Helens, Merseyside
St Helens, Merseyside
 
St Helens, Merseyside
St Helens, Merseyside
 
St Helens, Merseyside
 

Been to Sticky Wicket Bar & Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing