We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting and Owner”
Review of Rose Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Farm Inn
Ranked #9 of 27 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful room with jazzi bath that opened onto a back semi-private porch where we enjoyed our wine, grapes, cheese, and crackers in the evenings.

Owner is wonderfully personable and a truly lovely individual.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vivian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed here before and will do so again. The owners/managers are super nice and accommodating, the rooms are clean and pleasant to stay in, the location is fantastic (quiet but very close to town), the "cold" breakfast is nutritious with enough variety, the setting is serene and pastoral and we love the lounge chairs on their deck (nice for getting a tan)! We also liked that we could rent bicycles right on the property (the bikes are in great condition). The one issue: we were constantly frustrated by the wifi. We stayed in both the "farmhouse" and the "extension" and in both places the wifi was mostly unavailable (even though they had several options for connecting). We ended up having to use my phone to connect to the internet, which resulted in a $45 data overage charge on Verizon. I know this is also a problem in other properties on the Island, so I don't want to single out Rose Farm. Just be aware it's an issue (one that I believe is fixable by the owners with some limited investment - either using a "mesh network" or a "powerline"). It's the reason this was a four star review and not five stars. Regardless, I still strongly recommend this property for your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arcticsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The hosts were accommodating and the setting was lovely. Sitting by the fire pit and enjoying the starry night was enjoyable. The breakfast room was conducive to sharing ideas for the best Block Island activities with other guests.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor,if accessibility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We enjoyed the views of the lovely meadow surrounding the hotel, complete with a white tent for weddings. The room's decor is charming in a '60s chic way (complete with rose-themed wallpaper). The breakfast is pretty bare-bones--for the room price, we'd expect higher-quality foods. Even if they don't provide a hot breakfast, Earl Grey and English Breakfast teas would be a good addition, as would fresh breads, and better quality cold cereals. Nevertheless, we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Captain Rooms 19 & 20 have very slow Internet (websites took very long to load, and we found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This was my first time to Block Island. The Rose Farm Inn was wonderful! The staff was friendly, the flowers were everywhere! I loved the fact that the bike rental place was right there, so convenient. We stayed in the barn house and hung out on the porch a lot and met a lot of other guests out there. I would definitely go back, and Igor was fantastic, a great help and sense of humor!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.2 km away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#1 of 6 in New Shoreham
307 reviews
0.9 km away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#4 of 6 in New Shoreham
89 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Manisses
Hotel Manisses
#1 of 7 in Block Island
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 6 in New Shoreham
252 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Dory Inn
Blue Dory Inn
#3 of 27 in New Shoreham
501 reviews
0.9 km away
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
#5 of 27 in New Shoreham
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Farm Inn

Address: 1005 High Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Farm Inn is known for its natural setting, romantic rooms and informal hospitality. A working farm until 1963, the twenty acres of farmland are now home to marsh hawks, ring-necked pheasant and white-tailed deer. This peaceful sea and country setting is only a few minutes walk from the village and beaches. The Farm House offers eight rooms, and the Captain Rose House offers nine rooms - all with private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rose Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Farm Hotel Block Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing