We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Scandic Svolvaer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Svolvaer
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A nice spot to start Aurora borealis hunting... It's located just 5 min walking from the center. The breakfast was nice and the restaurant has a nice view, but no ventilation... but it was really worthy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makocwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, General Manager at Scandic Svolvaer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Makocwk,

Thank you for a great review on your stay.
Wish you a great day!

Best regards,
Gunhild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

This is the most peaceful, silent and wonderful place , where you can feel your soul and the incredible nature! Almost no tourists and very friendly people . In the middle of the central square you can find a tinny market ( four stands) , where you can find wool , little animals fur , dry fish and dry elks meet . Everything in small quantities!
In this tinny town live a lot of artists , you will find art an photograph galleries! Wonderful paintings I recommend Galleri Stig Tobiassen the real Lofoten art.

Room Tip: First floor beside the sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, General Manager at Scandic Svolvaer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ivonne G,

Thank you for nice comments and good tips for our town.
Hope to see you another time visiting Svolvær and Lofoten.

Best regards,
Gunhild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located on it's on island for say and is close to the city's shopping area. The rooms are not big. We liked the breakfast and lunch very much. We just didn't enjoy much the reception desk worker, she was not very polite. The lady that works at the reception desk at night is very kind.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank g-cardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, General Manager at Scandic Svolvaer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear g-cardozo,

Thank you for your nice feedback for your stay here with us. Every day we work to get a little better than we were yesterday, your comments helps us getting there.
Hope to see you another time visiting Lofoten and Svolvær.

Best regards,
Gunhild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Would seem to be in a great location, which it is, but somehow you can't enjoy that. It is conveniently close to where Hurtigruten dock - its only saving grace.A hotel with little charm though helpful staff. Our "King Room" was small and minimalist. The evening buffet the worst meal we had in the whole of our magical time in Norway. Only partly related to our experience we suggest you try and stay outside Svolvaer if you can. For us it was a town that undersold the Lofotens.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philipConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Daglig leder at Scandic Svolvaer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear PhilipConwy,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I'm sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Every day we work to give our guests the best service, your feedback helps us to improve.
Wish you a good day.

Best regards,
Gunhild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The hotel is located on a small island in the bay of Svolvaer and has great view on the harbor from the rooms, the lobby and the restaurant.
The room was small, but comfortable, clean and well equipped, with free and quick wifi. Interior design is modern and cosy.
Food was excellent, the breakfast buffet is copious, for lunch and dinner fresh greens, vegetables, fruits, fish, and seafood were offered.
The hotel is suitable for small meetings and conferences, with 2 separate business rooms. It is 5-10 min drive from Svolvaer airport.
The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, General Manager at Scandic Svolvaer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Maria D,

Thank you for your valuation and your comments about Scandic Svolvær. Your comments about the rooms, design and food is appreciated.
We hope to welcome you soon again here at Lofoten and Scandic Svolvær.

Best regards,
Gunhild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.3 km away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 4 in Svolvaer
576 reviews
0.5 km away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 4 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
17.4 km away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 7 in Svolvaer
146 reviews
0.2 km away
Lofoten Suite Hotel
Lofoten Suite Hotel
#1 of 1 in Svolvaer
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Svolvaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Svolvaer

Address: Lamholmen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Svolvaer)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range: RM462 - RM1,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Svolvaer 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Svolvaer located on its own island in the middle of the harbour in Svolvaer, the capital of Lofoten, is excellent for recreation, activities and holidays. Our hotel offers 146 rooms with sea view, balcony or both and if you are planning a meeting, conference or event we can provide venues for up to 100 participants. The hotel's a la carte restaurant and bar is located in a boat-shaped building with a panoramic view of the Svolvaer harbour and the magnificent surrounding countryside. Free outdoor parking is available for guest arriving by car. As a hotel guest you always have free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Svolvaer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing