We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable room, helpful staff”
Review of Scandic Kirkenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Kirkenes
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed for 3 nights after our week long (expensive) Hurtigruten ferry experience and were very comfortable in our room. Our only complaint is that no one thought to mention that Kirkenes is closed on a Sunday so no hotel restaurant, or supermarket to get food from for dinner. Be sure to visit the museum, it is a gem!

Room Tip: any room would be good, Kirkenes is a very quiet, small town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzandvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear guest ( suzandvo )

Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your experience of Our hotel.

I am very glad that you have found yourself comfortable and that our helpful and service minded staff have made your stay extra pleasant.
It is a pity to hear regarding missing information of opening hours of the restaurants in Kirkenes.
Our restaurant is open 7 days a week from 17 to 22.00, I hope that you have had a chance to taste some local specialties.

Wish you a great autumn and safe travels!

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager
Scandic Kirkenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Very nice hotel atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and charming, there are not that many things worth to visit in Kirkenes, but they recommended us with quite good options.
Hotels rooms were new and cozy.
Breakfast very tasty and varied

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear guest ( mar m )

Thank you for taking time to give us such a fantastic feedback regarding your stay, here at Scandic Kirkenes.

It is true pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed so much both our various breakfast and our facilities. It is especially pleasant that our helpfull and serviceminded staff has made your stay extra comfortable.

Safe travels and welcome back!

With warmest regards

Jevgeni M
General manager
Scandic Kirkenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Ok size of the room. Hotel in the middle of the city but not walking distance to the Hurtigruten if you have bags. The breakfast is good like most Scandics hotels. You know what you get with Scandic and this was good as it usually is.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Roger K.

Thank you for choosing Scandic Kirkenes and leaving such a nice review here on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed both the hotel and especially our various breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you back at the next occasion.

Wish you a great autumn back home!

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager
Scandic Kirkenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This hotel is a little basic but perfect for a quick stop before embarking on the Hurtigtuten. The bus to and from the airport and the one to and from the Hurtigruten stop directly outside so it's very convenient. It was very good value - easily the cheapest of our hotels on this trip. It's right in town, although not on the waterfront but that is only a five minute stroll away.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 535family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear guest (535family)

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after you stay with us here at Scandic Kirkenes. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities and the convenient location.

Wish you a great summer and welcome back to us at the next occasion.

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly reception on arrival from Russia. A little bit hostelesque but it fits this frontier town. We appreciated the freebies for Scandic Friends. Pool ok, breakfast excellent- plenty of choice but not excessive. Restaurant crowded in evening so we had falafel and pizza in a very friendly kebab joint five minutes walk away instead.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear John P!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after you stay with us here at Scandic Kirkenes. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
It a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and our various breakfast buffet. I wish you could get a chance to experience our new a la carte menu as well so you could get a taste of some tremendous local products.

Wish you a great summer and welcome back to us at the next occasion.

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.3 km away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
660 reviews
0.1 km away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
44 reviews
8.5 km away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
36.9 km away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
39.6 km away
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
#1 of 1 in Vadso
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kirkenes

Address: Kongensgate 1-3, Kirkenes 9915, Norway (Formerly Rica Arctic Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range: RM515 - RM874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located, close to the Snow Hotel and the Varanger museum. Take a trip on snowmobiles, ATVs or dog sleds along the Russian border. Flexible meeting and conference facilities. Why not finish off with a session at our spa, which offers a swimming pool and a sauna? Scandic Kirkenes offers a whole host of possibilities for anyone who wants to explore the region. The hotel has flexible meeting facilities, with 10 rooms and capacity for up to 450 guests. Set aside some time to visit our spa with swimming pool and sauna. If you are arriving by car, we have many outdoor parking spaces. Free WiFi for all hotel guests. With its ideal location and access to authentic Norwegian nature, Scandic Kirkenes is perfect for anyone looking for a fantastic experience, whether you are on holiday or at your next conference. Try out king-crab fishing or a snowmobile safari when you visit us. We can also recommend a husky dog tour for experiencing the majestic nature of Kirkenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing