We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Overrated”
Review of The Kikar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rupnagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kikar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went their with family and friends on a biking event .Service is just o k. Food wasn't very good. Atmosphere is serene . Property is good for people looking for a quiet place away from city rush . Advanture activities like zipline, Quad Bike are available on payment.

Room Tip: Plan your tour in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsbasur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. Though we are very good in service and our quality of food is also of a good standard, I am sorry that it did not meet up to your expectations. I wish you had expressed this during your stay and we would have given you a choice immediately. I look forward to having you back with us and do give us an opportunity to change your thoughts about us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We went in a big group from Delhi to kikar lodge for a weekend getaway.
It was a 5hour non stop ride by road. Few of us reached late. The last few kilometres are a little scary in the evening.

Rooms- rooms are okay. Wooden huts, small washrooms with buckets and mugs. Very indian style. Hot water off and on. Very stinky washroom in our room.

Food- all meals inclusive. Breakfast very indian. Don't expect pancakes or waffles here.

Lunch and dinner were decent.

Activities-paintball- bad guns
Table tennis-broken racquets but didn't really matter, we enjoyed playing.
Have other activities too but didnt try.
Bonfire at night.

Overall property- huge!
Swimming pool

We had to carry our own suitcases at check out as their staff was too slow.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anuraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback,
I have already taken the required action in regard to the table tennis and paintball guns. We have replaced the old ones with new. Though we do not have wooden huts at the Lodge, we do have hot water boilers that give out constant hot water which does not finish.

Breakfast at the Lodge consists of 3 North Indian dishes, 3 South Indian dishes, 3 continental dishes, a fruit spread, cereals hot and cold milk, tea coffee and eggs to order, and yes from our bakery we have muffins, Danish pastry and 2 types of bread. We do not have waffles and pancakes presently.

As your group was large the luggage was being sent to each room and it does take a little time before all the luggage gets to all the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Situated in the foothills of Shivalik range the Kikar lodge is 6km from Nurpur Bedi town of Ropar Distt of Punjab The approach to is horrible Road is narrow bad and ill maintained Property is not well maintained Rooms are ordinary Restaurant is stinky Services provided are ordinary at exorbitant price Staff is rustic rude and un-co-operative It was nightmare to visit this place

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Satinder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Satinder,
Thank you for your feedback,
The last bit to Kikar is narrow, i.e. 15 feet and then once you enter the property it opens up again. We have concreted the entire road from our main gate to the Lodge.
i do apologise if you found our staff rude, this is a first as never before, and I mean never before has this issue been raised. Having said I shall look into it personally and again do apologise that you did not enjoy our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We were looking for a two-day holiday near Delhi and booked The Kikar Lodge after reading a few reviews on the internet. I was not too confident of the place amenities and service as it is located at a secluded location. However, it happened to be a surprise package. Service was good and stay was comfortable but the hero of the trip was food. Overall, a calm experience.

The best way to go to this place is by road. Train timings are bad and flights are non-existent.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PraveenSingh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Praveen,
Thank you for your feedback,
Trains and flights during the winter months are slightly tricky due to the fog, though driving is not a bad option too.
I look forward to seeing you and the family back with us soon.

Best wishes,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Ok, lets start by saying that this is not a place where you will get a great view of things or nature... Rather this is a place where you have to find excitement by doing activities/adventure sports. Which are facilitated by the lodge itself. But make sure you do not reach there in a rainy season.

Way to the lodge was through the village and was deep inside. We reached there and went straight for lunch. The food was delicious and also ample of verity to choose from, later we were guided to the cottage which was spacious enough and clean as well.

The entire staff is very well behaved and with very warm hospitality. Food is awesome, and verity to choose from. A hand full of adventure sports to choose from, which makes it a different experience. Use your GPS to reach this place easily, overall a good experience. In the end I would like to say the Hospitality really stands out and is far better than the competition.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Ashish,
Thank you for your feedback,
GPS would be a great thing to get to us, though we do have sign boards all along the road. It was great having you with us and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rupnagar
27.7 km away
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
38.2 km away
The Oberoi Sukhvilas Resort
35.9 km away
Royal Park
Royal Park
#1 of 9 in Baddi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
Legend Sarovar Portico
30.6 km away
Hotel Gianz
Hotel Gianz
#6 of 9 in Baddi
21 reviews
26.8 km away
Heritage Haveli
Heritage Haveli
#2 of 10 in Rupnagar
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kikar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kikar Lodge

Address: Village Kangar, Nurpur Bedi | Ropar, Rupnagar 140117, India
Region: India > Punjab > Rupnagarr District > Rupnagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Price Range: RM 453 - RM 543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing