We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We stayed here for several nights in this spotlessly clean hotel. Parking is very convenient in the nearby Plaza de España underground parking lot - 10 Euros a night. It's a nice uphill walk from the historic hotel to some of the major sights and restaurants. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We paid 60 Euros a night.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi S, Propietario at Hotel La Fonda del Califa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Thank you very much for your opinion, hope we see yopu back on the future, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in Arcos one night mid May and found the rooms OK but fairly basic. Large old hotel that has obviously seen better days but it is well located to walk up to the old town. The rooms are of reasonable size, beds OK. Bathroom was basic and I had to repair loo cistern as when I pulled the button to release the water the knob came out in my hand and the rest fell back into the water!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful but when we came down for breakfast at 9 am on Sunday we were told they did not begin service until 9:30. Breakfast was fairly basic and in a dark and dingy room. We were given a reduced rate on the parking at the main underground car park a couple of hundred yards away. All in all it was fine for the price.

Room Tip: We were given rooms on first floor facing the street but cannot say any more as we did not see any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This lovely historic hotel is well worth staying in. It was built in 1822 (I think), is spotlessly clean and brimming with character. Emilio, one of the receptionists, is a really great person and can't do enough to help you. He is a credit to the establishment. The restaurant below the hotel (separate business) is also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Really lovely old building beautifully decorated incorporating many original features. Guy who worked on reception genuinely friendly and really went out of his way to help, had terribly painful tooth at the time guided me to pharmacist and even went to talk to them on my behalf. Above and beyond the call of duty. Also situated in great part of town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Hotel is a step back in time we had a pleasant stay for two nights. First night a there was an electrical fault on the building which stopped the AC working if you have to open the windows can be a little noisey, the electric fault was fixed the next day. After those negatives Very clean rooms, friendly staff and comfy beds with loads of old world charm, bathroom was a fair size, clean with good shower. Breakfast was not being served so we walked 100yds and got a full breakfast for 10euros. The owner wrote a letter to the carpark for us and they discounted their rate by 5euros / night. Very good cheap accomodation which we would consider again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.6 km away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
603 reviews
0.7 km away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
268 reviews
4.2 km away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
292 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
121 reviews
3.1 km away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda del Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda del Califa

Address: Calle Corredera 83, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: RM 171 - RM 382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Fonda del Califa 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda was built in 1834, that makes La Fonda to be the oldest hotel in Andalucía, and even in Spain.Completely restored; nowadays offers you a confortable accommodation full of traditional and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Fonda del Califa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing