We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more hostel/family hotel than beauty and wellness spa”
Review of Hotel St Georg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St Georg
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bad Aibling
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Sankt Georg in Bad Aibling. Though it has a four star rating on the Internet, it barely deserves 2.5 stars. The rooms are old with outdated furnishings from the early 60s and resembles a nicer student hostel. The student life feeling continues in the restaurant where you line up summer camp style and serve yourself passable (but certainly not 4 star) food. The breakfast buffet outshone the dinner buffet but the general feeling in the restaurant, bar area, and public lounges is one of neglect and shoddiness.
It is described as a spa hotel on the Internet but the hotel pool area was overrun with screaming children and the lounge chairs basically sit on top of the pools edge. The sauna was broken for our stay.
The wellness area offering massages, facials, and relaxation treatments is perhaps the only redeeming feature.
The Internet connection was terrible ( we had no wifi in our rooms) and the lobby lounge has two of the first computers ever made that also don't connect to the Internet.
On the bright side, there are always fresh apples in the lobby and the staff was very friendly. The surrounding landscape is great for strolling, biking and running, and there is an excellent brewery and biergarten just a few miles away called Maxlreiner that made our stay.
For families with children (which there were many durning our stay) I can understand why this would be an attractive place to vacation. There are also many outdoor facilities such as a tennis court (quite run down), children's playground, bikes for rent, soccer nets for kids, and ample free space to run around.
In the end it is an acceptable 2.5 star hotel stay but not a 4 star beauty and wellness vacation hotel as advertised (especially not for kid-less adults looking for relaxation).

Room Tip: if you are going to go, at least get a room with a balcony facing out toward the countryside (Haus W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingGirlV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

Booked through Expedia at advertised rate but was charged another 50 dollars for my 12 year old daughter. Turns out that is because they didn't have a family suite but instead shoved my family of 4 into one room. I just woke up to find myself covered in insect bites that I hope are not from the giant spider crawling across the wall. The advertised air conditioning is actually a window, there's not even a fan. We are only passing through on our way to Austria but we will not be staying any longer than necessary. In my religion, st George is the patron saint of soldiers, he surely isn't the saint looking out for weary travelers. I recommend staying here if you are desperate for lodging with a free breakfast, swim pool, and a few other resort amenities. I imagine this place was awesome back in 1982 but it's time has passed. To sum it up, the fee is not commiserate with the accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My company had a workshop at this hotel in the late fall. I stayed in the older part of the hotel and found the rooms a little dated, but clean. Food was "so so". The exercise room was so-so, and the pool area was very nice.

The service during the meeting was good.

I would not visit this hotel on my own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I have been in the hotel for two nights with a large group during an organized tour.
Very well organized for this kind of stay. 
Good cleanliness, food not bad and kind of traditional, breakfast excellent. 
Location is not exactly very interesting to visit the closest bigger cities of the Baviera.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blausetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My company held a workshop at this hotel and we had a great experience. The rooms were nice. The hotel overall is very clean and attractive. The food in the restaurant was excellent at all three meals of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrleenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Aibling
0.8 km away
Hotel Schmelmer Hof
Hotel Schmelmer Hof
#4 of 5 in Bad Aibling
183 reviews
1.5 km away
Lindners Hotel & Restaurant
Lindners Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Bad Aibling
137 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Johannisbad
Hotel Johannisbad
#3 of 5 in Bad Aibling
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
B&O Parkhotel
B&O Parkhotel
#1 of 5 in Bad Aibling
202 reviews
17.8 km away
Karma Bavaria
Karma Bavaria
#1 of 6 in Schliersee
583 reviews
8.5 km away
Hotel Garni Demmel
Hotel Garni Demmel
#1 of 1 in Bruckmuehl
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Georg

Address: Ghersburgstr. 18, 83043 Bad Aibling, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Aibling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bad Aibling
Price Range: RM 431 - RM 709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St Georg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the southern alpine landscape of Munich, only 4km away from the A8 Munich-Salzburg, the mountains are within easy reach. The hotel, idyllically located at the edge of Bad Aibling, offers more than just satisfaction. NUMBER OF ROOMS 220 rooms, of which 150 are double rooms, 42 queen-size single rooms, 24 two-room apartments and 4 disabled-adapted rooms. 17 CONFERENCE ROOMS An events pavilion is available, as well as 10 partly combinable conference and workshop rooms, e.g. for assessment centres. All rooms have daylight and are equipped with the latest conference technology. W-LAN is available throughout the hotel area (including the grounds). CATERING Various restaurant areas with conservatory and sun terrace, St. Georg room, Tyrolean and buffet room, bar and fireplace lounge, and grass area for barbecues directly at the hotel. WELLNESS AND BEAUTY AREA SPA area with indoor pool, whirlpool, underwater massage, water wall shower, rainforest shower, sauna area, fitness room and lawn, wellness centre and BeauDay cosmetics studio. LEISURE AREA Bicycle hire (including e-bikes), tennis court, table tennis, Ghersburg Forest directly next to the hotel for Nordic Walking and jogging. PARKING 90 underground garage parking spaces (against a charge) and 100 free outdoor parking spaces directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing