We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
352
37
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
37
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverstar hotelfirst classwonderful hotelroom was largeseparate tub and showerwould stay here againdirect accessrelaxing weekendexcellent spaunderground garagelovely townwide selectionperfect choicemini barbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Just back from a fantastic family holiday, cannot fault the hotel at all. We were greeted by lovely ladies, in traditional costume, on the reception who were very helpful throughout the week. The breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection of foods and freshly cooked eggs always offered, the waiting staff always friendly and helpful. We stayed half board and had a 5 course gourmet meal every night, the food was marvellous. A huge thanks to our wonderful waitress Julia who looked after us most of the week, she was so friendly and helpful its a shame we missed her on our last night. The bar/lounge area (with a very friendly Hungarian barman) was a nice large airy place to chill out, as was the sun terrace. The Spa was spotless at all times and the treatments we had were of a high quality, thanks to Magdalena for a very relaxing back/shoulder massage. Wonderful pool area with an inside and outside area. The rooms were fairly large with a wide screen tv, mini bar, lots of storage space and a small balcony. The bathroom was spacious with a nice powerful shower. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean in all areas, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and the manager made a point of speaking to all his guests every day. Would highly recommend this hotel and will return if we are lucky enough to be in the area again.Thank you to everyone at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel09, Front Office at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. It is a pleasure for us to give our guests the best!
Looking forward to welcome you again in our house

we remain with very kind regards

your GHL-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This was our second time in your hotel. Last summer was perfect.
This year was another story

The good: the room, the cleanness, the breakfast, and the location are perfect.

The not so good:
The speed of the internet connexion is unacceptable. Last year, we already mentioned the slow connexion. This year was worst, and this is an easy fix.

Now, the dinners. For a 5 stars hotel, the food at dinner was sometime mediocre. Risotto rice not cooked, etc..

Now the spa. The reason we came to this hotel is to relax and the spa is a huge component of our stay. Anita, the spa manager, is wonderful and so helpful.

This being said, the rest of the spa staff is another story. The treatments were not a success, and it was not really relaxing! I had the feeling that, for most of them, I was a "ticket". You are welcome into the room, get your massage and after the treatment is over, you are asked to go to the counter to sign the ticket.

Most of the time, the empathy element seems to be lacking; and not getting any feedback or being able to discuss (even briefly) the treatment with the therapist afterward is utterly upsetting.

Also, some of the therapists seem to be rushing the treatment.

I am really sorry for this bad review. The bar was set extremely high for your establishment. if you were a 4 stars hotel, I would have give you a "very good" rating, but this hotel being a 5 stars hotel, I can only grade you as an "average".

In addition to all of this, we found out at the end of our stay that you were offering a nice discount for people staying 7 days or more. Not for us unfortunately

I am not sure we will come back, and that is quite sorrowful.

.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel09, Manager at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear William S.,

We would like to sincerely apologize that your stay with us at the Grandhotel Lienz was anything but perfect.

We appreciate the comments and the honesty and are already looking into everything you have commented on.

We will be contacting you directly to further discuss the points in detail but once again would like to express our deepest apologies that we did not live up to our standards during your stay.

We hope to be able to come to an agreement and welcome you back to the Grandhotel Lienz and give you the vacation that you deserve.

Best regards from Sunny Lienz,
Family Simonitsch and Westreicher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Austria is well known for good service. But I usually travel in Tirol and Salzburgerland. The madrass was horrible, not worthy a good hotel.
Beautiful pool area and terrace. Close to the City centre.
I have no need to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth_Norway_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel09, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Mr. Kenneth,

we are really sorry, that you didn´t feel that comfortable as you should have. Referring the madrass we are appologizing for the "horrible" condition. Just one word and we would have changed it immediately.

We regret that you didn´t found one reason to come again.
We wish you all the best and remain with

our kindest regards
Your GHL-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

I stay in this hotel on a bussines trip for 4 nigths. It close to the city, 5 minutes away, it is a pretty small village without its soul in Eastern Tyrol (Osttirol). Breakfast very good, but waiters a little bit slow for 5 star hotel. The rooms are very spacious, bathroom too, very clean, flat TV without digital signal only analog signal (nowadays ???), very bad wifi (drop off on my iphone and lap top every couple minutes), unpossible to communicate. I have just returned from Vietnam and Cambodia and the wifi in hotels was perfect never drop off, Shame for this hotel and Austia and it happened to me very frequently in Austria that or hotels do not have wifi or it works extremly slow or droff frequently. It seems to me that Austrians just want to take money from you and do nothing for that. If you pay 120 EUR for singkle room, everything must be perfect. You have to expect in Austria that the wifi is extra to pay or when is included in price it do not work.

Beside that this hotel has conference room and many guests come there on bussines and they need a perfect wifi connection. Therefore I give only three point to this hotel.

Drinks are very expensive 6 EUR for big draft beer in compare with restaurant very close Goldener Fish only 3,5 EUR for big and 2,70 for the small. Su recommend to drink and eat outside of hotel. The hotel has covered garage.

Room Tip: Drink and eat outside of hotel
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ales V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Stayed here for a family ski vacation. Was a perfect distance from the mountain. The hotel fulfilled all of our needs and beyond! The spa area was great, with numerous types of saunas and steam baths and a hot pool that started inside and led outside, to a beautiful view of the mountains. The breakfast at the hotel had anything you could dream of and the waiter will make you any type of coffee you like and make an omelette with any ingredients your heart desires. The entire time I felt like a royal!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HayleeBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews