We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
90
39
19
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
39
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a sea view room evening meal air conditioning units large chairs soft drinks in the fridge complimentary nibbles the small car park coffee pods half board drinking glasses pedestrian walkway wonderful position pool area tui rep coastal walks bed and breakfast coarse sand
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Was very skeptical about staying here as when we booked it there weren't many reviews! My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Mar Menuda for a week half board. We arrived late at night and were instantly impressed with our room, the bathroom especially which looked great and had a great powerful shower that didnt change temperature like most hotel showers! Breakfast was great and there was a huge selection which I was really impressed with and the entire outdoor area was so nice. The whole of it looked lovely and was decorated really nicely, right on the beach front and the pool area was also great with big beds and comfortable large chairs for two as well as plenty of sun beds. We decided to go to Barcelona for the day and go and watch the football in Barcelona too so decided we would rather spend more on doing things and just eat at the hotel for our evening meals - expecting a buffet! The evening meals were waiter service with a 3 course menu option with a selection of 4 different starters, mains and desserts and the menu changed every night. The food was great and catered perfectly for me who is pescatarian. One evening the waiter even had the chef cook up something different for me to suit what I wanted. Food was great, hotel was great, Tossa old town is lovely with loads of streets to explore and lots of little shops. We also visited the water park in Lloret whilst we were there which was a bit disappointing but a good day nontheless.The only thing that let us down was the weather which can't be helped!!! Overall very clean, friendly and fantastic hotel with a coffee machine in the room which is topped up with more coffee pods every day and free cans of fanta and coke in the fridge. Towels were changed every day and room was cleaned every day. Very impressed would definitely reccomend this hotel!!! Lovely relaxing break before heading back to the stress of uni!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Eliza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Eliza D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this Great 5-stars review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay with us at Golden Mar Menuda was a good one. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

First impressions at The Golden Mar Menuda were very good. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and everything looks really clean and new. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was a very nice surprise. The hotel is adjacent to small beach with only a pedestrian walkway between the two.

The room we had was simple but nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and great shower. There is also a coffee machine and some free soft drinks which is a nice touch.

The standout feature of the hotel is the patio area, pool and bar / dining room which all look on to the sea and view of the castle. In September it was not very busy and there were always plenty of sun loungers and parasols available.

I didn't use the pool because the sea is so close and really clear and warm.

Tossa is a nice town with lots of restaurant options and the old town area has lots of small streets to explore. It is also easy to travel further afield if you have a car. There is free car parking in the white bays further up the hill from the hotel.

Breakfast was also excellent. I basically can't think of a bad word to say about this place. Just a friendly and relaxing place to be.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 103JamesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear James T,
We were delighted to read your comment about your recent stay at Golden Mar Menuda. At Golden Hotels our team works with the objective of providing the best experience for our guests. We are glad you had a lovely holiday and that our hotel and staff were part of it. For this reason opinions such as yours give us a really great satisfaction.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We booked through booking.com bed and breakfast only. On arrival we were upgraded to a sea-view room, which was great. I guess we benefitted from travelling out of season, as the hotel didn't seem very busy. The room was quiet and well equipped, with a coffee machine and soft drinks in the fridge. The breakfast was really good and had everything you could ask for. This hotel is right by the beach, so you can sunbathe by the pool and then wander down to the beach for a swim. We didn't eat in the restaurant, as Tossa has so many good places to eat, and it was nice to wander into town in the evening.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MmmmmCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear MmmmmCoffee,
First of all, I want to thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was ideal for you.
I hope we can welcome you back to Golden Mar Menuda for future stays and thank you again for sharing your experience.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Very good small hotel. All staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast good but some evening meals were a bit dry and there were very few fresh vegetables and potatoes. My husband has a good appetite but the amount of meat was huge and even he couldn't eat it all, so would suggest less meat and more veg! Fish dishes good and some puddings delicious. The room was very clean with a very good bathroom. The balcony had no overhead cover. Got a bit fed up with the constant piped music in the bar area. The Tui rep was not truthful about the excursions and based solely on this, we would not go back to this hotel or book a holiday with Tui ever again They are not interested in the customers, just intent on earning their commission and misled us about one of the trips. We spent over £600 on these excursions - never again. I discussed our concerns politely and constructively with the Team Leader who promised to report back to me after consulting his Manager. Not a dicky bird!! The tour guides themselves were good.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Cheryl W,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Golden Mar Menuda.
I was delighted to read your great feedback regarding the team, room and breakfast. About the issues you mention concerning some aspects at the restaurant, please be assured we have taken note and will work with it to better improve the service we offer.
I am also so sorry about your disappointment with your travel agency, but I hope this did not impair your stay too much and we would be glad to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated right by the beach at the end of a promenade. Rooms are comfortable although a little austere,a very comfortable bed and a modern bathroom with walk in shower. Very clean with new towels provided every day. The staff are friendly and efficient. We were on half board and breakfast was a delight, dinner was a little hit and miss , sometime no meat dish with two fish courses other time two vegetarian. That said they were well presented and prepared. There were occasions when the wrong meals went to the wrong tables and a system of numbering the tables would certainly help the waiters. Diego our waiter was particularly helpful in recommending wine to accompany our meal and although the wine list is not extensive it does contain some very nice variations. There are a number of things that would add significantly to the hotel, first and foremost a fire notice in the room,we did raise this with our Thompson representative who shrugged it off. It is extremely important to know what to do in an emergency. This is the only hotel that we've been in that didn't have a folder of information available, how to operate the safe, the TV channels, how to contact reception. A doctors number and a list of pharmacies would have been helpful and reassuring.. This information would sometimes be given by the tour operator, but ours was only interested in selling trips and excursions. I hope these observations are picked up by management. They would certainly have made what was a good holiday even better. This despite our grumbles is a good hotel and is recommended, I would certainly stay again if I come back to Tossa de Mar.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank nelliederbyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear nelliederbyengland,
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you liked our location and that you found our rooms comfortable and clean. We are also so glad to read your good words towards the staff.
On the other hand, we want to inform you that we are already looking into the issues you mention in your review and will be dealt with accordingly.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you againg in your next visit to Tossa de Mar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews