We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel GHT Costa Brava(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Windsor(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel GHT Sa Riera(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Avenida(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diana(Tossa de Mar)
US$259
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$218
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Delfin(Tossa de Mar)
US$146
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Cap d'Or(Tossa de Mar)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capri Hotel(Tossa de Mar)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$378
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
249
271
119
50
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
271
119
50
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree busevery hourentertainment teamsnack barfamily holidayground floorkids and adultsbar staffgreat holidaytoastieshotel busthere is no air conditioningsomething for everyonebedroom apartmentmini golfpastacrisps
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

ARRIVAL
We arrived at 1 o clock on a Wednesday morning, we were dropped off by the TUI transfer coach and left to find the reception. The reception is a hut situated outside In the middle of the rooms. We checked in and given our key and pointed in the right direction. We went in the direction shown and were met by a rickety wooden staircase which consisted of 36 stairs. So we struggled to carry our suitcases up the stairs with no assistance or informed there was a lift.
ROOM
The room was a 1 bedroom apartment which was clean, I cannot complain about the room, yes it was basic and there was no air con. The main issue was the music which was very loud and the shouting of other guests and children screaming and shouting at midnight. I would recommend not having a room situated near the entertainment area. The shower was powerful and plenty of hot water. There was a bath but you could not use as the plug did not stop the water from escaping. The room was cleaned on a daily basis not very thorough as there dead flies in the fridge and they were still there when we left. The rooms were also cleaned very late during the day usually about 3pm.
RESTAURANT or so called
Once again we were faced with a rickety wooden staircase which consisted of about 30 steps. We tried to use the lift but were told no it was for kitchen staff! The food was the most disgusting slop I have ever seen. The food was cold, even if you were there as they opened the doors. The only food that was hot was the soup in the evening. You had to lay your own table with cutlery, dry your plate as they were always wet, play hunt the salt and pepper as there were not enough for each table and clear your own plates from the table putting your leftovers in a slop bucket at the end of the trolley, these were also situated near tables where people were eating. The staff in the restaurant were more interested in standing around chatting to each other, the restaurant manager did not acknowledge your presence and would not talk to you about any complaints. Saw a lady complaining about a fly in her food he just ignored her. Don't expect butter for your rolls except at breakfast and if you ask for any at other meal times you are met with dirty looks from the staff. The salads in the evening did not have cold meats or cheese to accompany them. Due to the disgusting cold food we ensured that we ate out every day to ensure we had 1 decent meal. 2 days before our sentence ended they ran out of cornflakes and when asked about it was told finished!
BAR AREA / PATIO AREA FOR ENTERTAINMENT
After the evening slop we liked to sit and have a coffee unfortunately this is served in polystyrene cups - so not very nice. The tables and chairs in the outside area are never wiped clean and the outside area is not swept or mopped and is covered in spilt drinks and patches where people have been sick after too much alcohol. Entertainment (using this term loosely) for adults does not start till 10 and when you have to sit waiting in a dirty environment is not appealing.
CHECKING OUT
You have to check out at 10 am, we were unable to extend our room, we were due to be collected at 10pm, we were told that there was a shower room we could use, so after a day enjoying the beach we returned and went to use the shower room and asked for a towel and were told they did not have any! So the choice was travel home feeling dirty or shower and put your wet towel in your bag.

This is rated by TUI as 3T's in my opinion it should be 1, it is also rated 2* as I was told when I complained about the food although I don't care how many *'s a venue has I expect hot food and a clean environment.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday, hot meals and a clean environment with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel if you want a good room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank sanpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear sanpez,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay at MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as our main aim is to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We apologise if we did not inform you about the lift on your arrival.
We are glad to hear that the room was of your pleasure. We will forward your comments regarding the cleaning and the plug from the bath to the correspondent departments.
We inform you that, for safety reasons, we do not use glass near the pool area. We apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Your feedback is very important and we appreciate it very much as it helps us to improve our services. We will forward your comments and suggestions on the restaurant, bar and services provided on to the hotel management.
As we are constantly seeking to improve our services, we would love to have another opportunity to offer our services and regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

So myself husband and 3 year old stayed here and there's good points such as the ppl we met and the town and the free bus but unfortunately so much is wrong and for the money I paid it just didn't add up to what we got and I would not go back . The best parts were the entertainment staff who were lovely and the breakfast although cold most of the time was still nice . This is a 2* at most I just wish it had been better as it was my sons first holiday .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Mel M,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your stay at the MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as our main aim is to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Thank you for mentioning our entertainment staff and we are glad to hear that the breakfast has been nice. Our guest opinion is of utmost importance to us as it helps us to improve our services. We will forward your comments regarding the breakfast to the correspondant department.
We are sorry to hear that you would not come back. As we continually strive for improvement, we look forward to have another opportunity and regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We arrived at the hotel at 11:00 and had no idea where to book in. The reception wasnt sign posted and was a dimly lit portabin. As we were starving (arriving late) we were told there would be snacks available at the bar. This turned out to be crisps & sliced bread which wasnt buttered and had no filling. In the room, we were met by some ants, and a little lizard (who stayed with us all week - the cleaners obviously hadnt seen him). The apartment is big enough and has sky news and one other british channel (+ disney ones) and has the most filthiest fan i have ever seen hanging in the lounge (no air con).
The bus was available every hour to take you into town (free for AI) but it broke down half way through our stay and hadnt been repaired when we left. We walked into town (25 mins) theough the woodland every morning, but would take the bus/taxi of a nightime.
The food is awful. The "fry up" was swimming in oil, and the only cereals were for kids (no muesli, boxed selections etc). The only other options were sliced cheese, salami ham, toast, fairy cakes or croissants...oh or plain yoghurt. Everything is cold, so they have a microwave on hand to warm things up. The evening meals were equally horrific. I followed the staff as he carried the only thing i had fancied available from the kitchen only to find it stone cold. The whole kitchen area looks dirty - i took a picture of the door which was absolutely filthy. I hoped to get some food from the "supermarket" but was gobsmacked to find that it only had a handful (i'm not joking here - i could count the number of items they sold) of goods. This didnt include bread, milk, tuna, meats - basic stuff..nothing. They dont get newspapers either. Some of the staff cant be bothered to make eye contact - let alone smile. The evening entertainment was bareable (probably due to the alcohol consumption). This is most definately not a 3 star - i would give it a 1 star rating. The only positive thing about the place is that its great for kids under 10 as there's plenty to do in a safe environment - otherwise avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cymraes_lleol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear cymraes_lleol,
Thank you for sharing your views with us.
We are sorry to hear that the MedPlaya San Eloy did not live up to your expectations.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused for the bus broken down and we would have liked to know about the incidents in your apartment in order to offer you another apartment.
Thank you for mentioning about our hotel being suitable for children.
As we continually strive for improvement, we will pass on your comments regarding the food and the supermarket to the corresponding department.
As you may have seen in the hotel, we are pleased to confirm the refurbish of the pools areas and of some of the rooms that will provide air conditioning for next season.
We look forward that we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back at MedPlaya San Eloy in a nearest of future.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived in pouring rain at 6 pm ,but hey it happens. Booked in via wooden shack by unfriendly staff member. First impressions... get me out of here!! Spoke with Rep who was not helpful, said if you want to move hotels you will have pay for a whole new holiday! Contacted Company by email, response promised within 24 hours, 6 days later....response, talk to Rep!! Booked this hotel as told 3 star, it's a 2 star but not even that in our opinion.
It's old and tired and reminds you of army barracks portrayed in old films!! A lift is available to room for luggage, but usual ascent to room by narrow, old,slippery, creeper covered stairway. Coming down quite hazardous in all conditions. Walk ways and paths often uneven (I tripped, injuring ankle, reported to reception , jotted in a book!) . Also tiles cracked around pool areas.
The restaurant food is bland, lukewarm at best and noisy and very rushed, not an enjoyable experience at all. One star only ! Oh and accessed by very old wooden staircase, lift behind bar through door that says " no entry" !!
The Music played around pool areas during day is very loud, so if your looking to relax around pool, you can't. The bar areas are grubby, no one regularly cleaning up.
Room is poky and hot with constant noise from main road outside, no air con , broken dirty fan only. Ants everywhere. Didn't unpack as nowhere for clothes.
Bus into town broke down day after we arrived not fixed 4 days, site van which usually transports rubbish used instead, absolutely filthy. Would I stay here again or recommend the San Eloy Aparthotel?? Absolutely NOT !!!!

Sorry really don't think the good reviews are about the same place!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sez76311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Sez76311,
Thank you for sharing your views regarding your stay at MedPlaya San Eloy.
First of all, we are really sorry to hear about you tripped and injured your ankle at MedPlaya San Eloy. We hope you have recovered from the accidental injury and we apologise for all the inconveniences.
We are sorry to hear that the hotel San Eloy did not live up to your expectations.
Wish we would have known about your room displeasure to offer you another room and try to make your stay more comfortable.
We apologise for the inconveniences caused for the broken-down bus and we would like to clear that we do not used the van to transport rubbish.
We are sorry to hear that you will not return to our hotel. As we continually strive for improvement, we would love to have another opportunity to offer our services and regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

On arrival thought it was a prison with the bars on the windows, but once inside looks a lot better. Our appartment was tired, basic but clean, bedding only changed once during our 8 day stay, fresh towels every 3rd day. 2 main pools and a children's pool all very cold. Hotel provides a bus to tossa every hour but it broke down for 2 days during our stay and was replaced with a van that could only take four people per journey. Food at the restaurant very limited and it's absolute chaos in there, very much like school dinner time. My daughter who has special needs really struggled with the Chaos in there so one morning at breakfast I went to take some coissionts and toast to take back to the room for her and was refused by the restaurant manager even tho I explained my daughter struggles in the restaurant and had paid for the all inclusive. Also another guest went to use the microwave at breakfast time and there was pasta from the night before still in there with ants crawling everywhere, this was reported to staff who just cleaned it out with a tissue, and no cleaning products, gros.Made the best of the holl, had a nice time but would not return or recommend this hotel. I would return to tossa as it's a lovely place with a nice beach and plenty of shops ,but in a different hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Claireedav1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Claireedav1404,
Thank you for sharing your views regarding your stay at MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We apologise for the inconvenience due to the bus broke down and we did our best with the van while the bus was repaired.
We apologise for not allowing you to take the breakfast for your daughter. We will forward your comment to the correspondent department to prevent this to happen again. We are sorry about the incident at restaurant and will forward your remark to review the restaurant proceedings and avoid future incidents.
We continually strive for improvement, we hope you reconsider giving us another opportunity in the future to offer our services and regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews