We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday but wouldnt return to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Me & my boyfriend visited 25th-29th September. When we booked, the recent reviews were all good. However, as soon as we booked the reviews seemed to be pretty bad so we were preparing ourselves for the worst!
Taking into consideration our low expectations & the price we paid, we weren’t expecting much and weren’t too disappointed. The place is very run down, but staff were polite and rooms were a decent size and cleanliness OK. For the price we paid, we were reasonably satisfied. All-inclusive snack bar & drinks OK - again what we expected.
What really let the hotel down was the food. I have been to numerous all-inclusive resorts so don’t expect a lot. We went for the evening meal when we arrived and it was horrendous & this is the reason I can’t give more than 2 stars. There was hardly any choice but I can live with this. The issue was it wasn’t even warm which meant the microwave had to be used. I am not comfortable microwaving meat which meant no meat on my plate. My boyfriend had chicken nuggets which were a funny colour and meatballs which looked like dog food - safe to say we had chips for tea and vowed we would eat out for the remainder of our evening meals. As we were only there for 4 nights & this was one of them, we could afford to do this but had we been there longer we would have struggled. This would have been a real issue for us. Breakfast was no issue – there was a toastie machine which was enough for us – fruit, pastries, toast etc. I never really eat the cooked breakfast on holiday so cant comment on that but safe to say I wouldn’t expect much from this hotel. Lunch again was OK. We just had a bit of pasta which was enough, same issues as with the evening meal but I wasn’t as bothered at lunch as we didn’t want too much anyway.
The town of Tossa De Mar is really lovely and the hourly free bus into town was a GODSEND. We would pop into town for an hour or so in the day, have a walk round, sangria on the beach then pop to the supermarket and get some snacks before getting the bus back. Most nights we would get the bus into town for our evening meal and then get a taxi back which were always around 12euros. This meant we had a lovely holiday but like I said if we had of been there for longer we wouldn’t be able to afford this.
The children at the hotel seemed to enjoy it. The entertainment staff tried hard, it wasn’t the best but it was OK. I would say this is more of a family hotel but then again the stairs that have been mentioned in numerous reviews would be an issue if I had children there.
To summarise – do I regret booking the San Eloy? No, we had a good holiday. Would I book again? No – maybe a different hotel in Tossa De Mar though.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gemma F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your holiday with us MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are pleased to read that you had a good holiday with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff and we are happy to hear that the room and the cleanliness have meet your expectations.
Our guest’s opinion is of utmost importance to us as it helps us to improve our services and we will forward your comments regarding the food to the correspondent department. Thank you for mentioning our entertainment team and we are glad that you enjoyed all that Tossa has to offer.
As we continually strive for improvement, we would love to have another opportunity to offer you our services and regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Just had a great week in San eloy tossa,glad we didnt go peak time because this place is not for couples. Hotel a bit tired in need of refurbishment, no air conditioning. However the staff are friendly and work hard. Meals ok you won't go hungry there just boring, if your a young family with kids this hotel is your haven abroad. The best bit of this place is the hourly bus into tossa de mar which is full of lovely little streets,a fort which is a beautiful walk fantastic view at top with bar and restaurant. Dont expect a relaxing holiday at san eloy very loud and busy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Julie B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your holiday with us at the MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great week with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and for your opinion regarding our hotel being suitable for families with children.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all that Tossa has to offer.
Thank you for your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at any MedPlaya Hotels.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We are a family of four adults who holiday three or more times every year mostly all inc to Spain, Portugal and Spanish Islands.
We booked this last minute as a cheapie end of season break 18th to 25th Sep 2017.
We chose San Eloy after reading the many positive tripadvisor reviews and the fact that so many people seem to return year after year.
We enjoyed the break despite the San Eloy rather than because of it as we definitely would not have booked had we known what it was really like.
The reason for this review is that I wish to correct the inaccuracies and false five star praise that some people are giving to a resort that clearly has major problems.
Where else have these poor unfortunates been holidaying that could be so much worse than this place. Why are they so easily pleased.that they keep returning when there are resorts at similar prices that offer so much more and are so much better in every way. I agree with most of the negative comments. This place sucks.

The resort is too far away from Tossa for most to walk but is set in beautiful surroundings. The exterior resembles an ivy covered romantic Spanish castle.
Sadly upon entry the interiors of the castle resemble a run down Butlins holiday camp circa 1960. To say this needs a lick of paint is a gross understatement.
It needs torn down and rebuilt.
Uneven cracked roadways and paving, many rickety steps and a first floor restaurant where the only entrance is by an external fire escape are a danger to everyone and make it a no go area for young families the elderly and the disabled. I could not believe it in this day and age.
Cleanliness does not seem a priority as everywhere seems to need a good clean.
The maid service is virtually non existent and we discovered that you are treated ike a second class citizen if you have not booked direct with hotel.
We got a clean once in seven days if you can call it a clean. We were told that we were not entitled to daily maid service as we had booked as a package.
Only those who book direct with hotel get full maid service. I am dumbfounded
The food is average all inc but I have had better even in a similar star rated hotel. No excuse for cold food when supposedly in a heated gantry tray.
The plates are horrible most have big chips out of the edges are soaking wet when layed in dispenser and some are still dirty.
The staff are with a couple of exceptions generally sullen and unhelpful. Two drinks policy is strictly enforced. The convenience store has to be seen to be believed it is empty...I mean empty.
The Animacion/entertainment team are pretty average in a different league to the ones we normally experience. They could have done a lot more especially for more discerning adults. The evening shows and games were dated and amateurish as were the daytime acticities.
The free hourly bus is great but I am sure peak season will struggle to cope.
In short this resort has a whole string of negatives and not too many positives. We did not expect much but were still very dissapointed
I fail to see just what could be improved with a simple cosmetic refurb. I will be interested to see the 2018 reviews.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank EdinburghBigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear EdinburghBigjim,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your stay at the MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. As you have read on reviews, many people return year after year as they enjoy the friendly atmosphere and find the Hotel to be good value for money. We are sad to hear that you did not find this to be the case.
We are sorry that our cleanliness standards have not been up to expectations and we are sorry that you did not know about the cleaning service when you booked with your hotel supplier.
We apologize if you perceived poor customer service from our staff members. As you will see on different websites, our staff is one of our strong points and highly rated for our customers.
As you have seen, the refurbish for next year will provide air conditioning to the new superior rooms and the complete renovation of swimming pools and outdoor areas.
We value our customers feedback as gives us an opportunity to further enhance our services and achieve our customers satisfaction.
We would love to have another opportunity to offer our services and regain your confidence in MedPlaya hotels.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed from 16th Sept to 23rd Sept 2017. The building facade itself is lovely. It's a castle! The rooms need a minor paint job but otherwise no complaints, daily housekeeping were great. The food is all inclusive 2* (sometimes the same, sometimes cold, if you want it warm get there at the specified times) again for 2* and the price you pay stop complaining. We had 2 pack lunches which were the best we've had from even a 4 star! As for the staff they were all polite and accommodating. During my stay I had more sympathy for the staff than guests (it's the luck of the draw who you have to share a complex with, not the hotels fault). The entertainment team were just great. So good with the children and then later in the evening with the adults. Sam on the bar needs a special mention for his dedication to making sure people had a great time. Love and Aigars were amazing animators! The walk into Tossa only took 20 mins and we wanted to walk as it takes you through some lively little woodland. Sant eloi has a free bus for all inclusive, or 1 euro if not, every hour from 9am till 9pm. A nice mention for the bus driver who was a great driver and had to deal with families that were less than pleasant. The sant eloi is having a refurb in 2018 and even before that i would recommend based mainly on the staffs integrity and politeness in the face of less than pleasant guests. 2 star hotel that deserves at least 3 star. I've stayed in worse 4 stars! From a 2 holiday per year reviewer.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Leanne C,
Thank you for choosing out hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your stay at the MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are very pleased to hear that your holiday with us have meet your expectations.
Thank you for mentioning our staff, Sam on the bar, our entertainment team and our bus driver. We will forward your kind words to our team that for sure will be encouraged by your remarks.
We are very flattered to read such positive comments regarding our category and our staff and we greatly appreciate your recommendation.
Thank you for your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Just come back from a week all inclusive and cant really find fault to be honest.
Rooms nice and big,food was ok ,you wouldn't starve.
The hotel puts a free bus on for you to go into town centre.
My only moan is don't go from Barcelona airport it is a night mare of a transfer
3 1/2 hours,go from girona is my advice

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Joanne G,
Thank you for your confidence and for sharing your impressions of your holiday at MedPlaya San Eloy.
We are happy to hear that your stay has meet your expectations. Our main aim is to make your stay as pleasant as possible and we are glad to know that the room and the food have been to your liking. Thank you for mentioning our bus to the town centre.
Thank you again for your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you soon at any MedPlaya Hotels.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
2.0 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
338 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#18 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
316 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
519 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
114 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: RM390 - RM1,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing