We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Classic Rooms(Mellieha)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Aurora(Mellieha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
D View(Mellieha)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,372)
Filter reviews
2,372 results
Traveller rating
1,141
827
257
86
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,141
827
257
86
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstosca restaurantrooftop poolthe busself cateringsister hotelwelcome drinkhalf boardlovely hotelstudio roomsteep hillsmall balconybreakfast and dinnerhotel is situatedenjoyable staygreat holidaybusy roadweek stay
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 2,372 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Smart hotel with excellent facilities in the heart of town, perfect location for experiencing the busy town after dark. Families can enjoy the locals friendship and hospitality. The Hotel has lots to offer should you wish a quiet and relaxing time. Very very enjoyable and good value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken the time in sharing this review with us.

We are pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and have appreciated the Hotel's central location and the hospitality, which our village is renowned for.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my two daughters, half board. Room large enough and has privacy curtain.
The staff were brilliant.
First night we were due to arrive late and after enquiring about restaurant times via email, cold platters were arranged FOC.
Restaurant staff were great and the food was good quality and plentiful, although if you are looking for top top quality it was off the mark. Basic food (chips and plain pasta)was specially prepared for my youngest who has peculiar eating habits and had little desire for the buffet offerings.
The front desk staff, were extra helpful, and the attitude to the customer was first class.
The housekeeping was excellent and we had no complaints.
Criticisms- The bar facilities were lacking, the bar doubling up as a coffee shop in the main reception, although the sister hotel- The Pergola has better bar facilities, and is a short walk away.
Something not the fault of the hotel is the on street parking restrictions on the main road outside he hotel. There is limited on site parking and in peak times certain roads away from the main road may need to be used.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to sojourn at the Solana Hotel & Spa for your summer holidays and we appreciate that you have dedicated some of your precious time in sharing your experience with all of us.

We are delighted to read that you and your family have had a thoroughly enjoyable time and we are grateful towards your recognition towards our Team, food offerings and the Housekeeping's efficiency.

While hoping to host you for another stay in the nearest future, we take this opportunity in wish your family all the very best for the remaining summer.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Hotel is very clean the rooms are comfortable, the roof terrace is fab so is the indoor pool, but if you visit the gym you will be disappointed. The equipment is basic the hotel could really do with investing in better and more updated equipment, what they currently supply is cheap and cheerful . The staff are very polite and friendly but there are a couple of grumpy ones you will meet them trust.

Room Tip: They do a selection of rooms we had a studio with a balcony it was nice. Do not get a room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronaldpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are thankful that you have chosen to stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa for your summer holidays and we're equally appreciative that you have shared your accommodation experience with us.

Your generous comments related to the Hotel's cleanliness and room comfort are very much welcome, whereas thanks to your valuable feedback towards the other mentioned aspects, we will endeavor in continuing to strive harder in improving our quality of service and product.

While thanking you for your time and consideration, we send you our best of regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great hotel, the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were given a local soft drink as soon as we arrived when other guests were being booked in hotel. The receptionist was super. The hotel was spotless, the brekfast was good. Only problem was that our room had no balcony, we didn;t relaise this at time of booking. Would defintely stay there again, just a room with balcony. Great place to stay

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the Team at the Solana Hotel & Spa, we wish to thank you for having chosen us for your recent holidays in Malta.

Your generous feedback was overwhelming and we have no doubt that you will reconsider our Hotel should your holiday plans bring you back to Malta. Please feel free to contact us directly prior to making a reservation so we will ensure that the room type booked will meet and even exceed your expectations this time.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We arrived early in the morning and was welcomed at reception and given a drink by the bar staff - we were advised that our rooms were not quite ready but were given the option of using the lockers and facilities at the hotel.....so we headed straight to the terrace pool to relax.
Location of the hotel is one of its strong points but also its main challenge.....location is opposite of the bus stop which means you are able to hop on/off a bus whatever time of the day....
We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel which had all the facilities I expected – A/C was working and kitchenette was sufficient for a week’s stay and importantly the fridge was working so could store our cold drinks!!!
Challenge lies if you are allocated a room at the front of the hotel as it does get busy on the street and thus noisy….large number of buses/cars are always passing the hotel which is something unfortunately that the hotel cannot control or do anything about.
We did ask if we could move to another room and this is where the hotel staff excelled......Bernice was the person I approached who understood our problem and endeavoured to find us an alternative room......Pierre showed me 2 different room and was persistent in his attempts to please us - he showed us a final room and this was perfect as it had 2 bedrooms which meant kids could sleep without hearing me snore!!
Chiara and Monika were always very nice and advised us on where to go and gave us guidance on what to see and do – we were treated very well and I have to say customer service at the hotel was exceptional – they even arranged for the hotel restaurant to be opened early on the day we were flying out so we can enjoy our last breakfast at the hotel.
Food was excellent – dedicated chef in the morning to cook eggs how the customer wanted it and also in the evening cooked fish to our liking……you cannot complain – food was great and desserts were lovely – trust me the kids tasted everything!!
Cannot fault the hotel and its staff – only thing I would say is that they should advertise their sister hotel a bit more as I did not realise I could use the facilities at that hotel as well as the Solana……would have been nice to compare the two.
If I do come back to Malta then I would definitely stay at the Solana Hotel and Spa without any hesitation….I have made some good friends with the hotel staff and hope to see them one day very soon.
Regards
Dhar Family (Room 1417 - checked out on 23 August)

Room Tip: Room 1417 even though balcony view is limited still a lovely quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shofdhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Family Dhar,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing with us this review and we are equally grateful that you have chosen to stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa for your family vacation this summer!

We are very much appreciative that you have recognized those aspects, which make us a customer-friendly Hotel and that you have memorized so many names of those who have somehow impacted your accommodation with us in a positive manner.

While sending you our very best of regards, we now look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. As a result, please feel free to contact us directly, in order to ensure that your next stay with us will once again meet and even exceed the one of august 2017.

Wishing you a pleasant remaining summer!

Grazzi Ħafna,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews