We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was probably great at one time but slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Checked in yesterday on our honeymoon and they suprised us with an upgrade. a larger room with a kitchenette and balcony. Sounded great but it seems more like they wanted to stick us with the room that doesn't work. And the kitchenette is locked, not that we intended to use it anyway.

This hotel feels like it is a classy establishment when you walk in but it seems like it's about 5 years past its prime. The furniture is all chipped and damaged, the air conditioner control panel is dirty with finger prints and broken. Even on the low setting it blows things off the bed, and you can't make it blow anywhere else so you're in trouble if you don't like cold air blowing on you while you sleep. The wiring for the bedside light is hanging out of the wall so when you look up from your bed you see the exposed wires.

The TV worked for about 1 minute then just stopped receiving any signal when I tried to change the channel. The hotel has to send someone up to fix it. Little comfort late at night when you're trying to relax before bed. No tv for me tonight.

The makeup mirror in the bathroom is broken, the room smells like someone dropped a bottle of perfume and the floor is dirty under the table and desk.

The cleaning service woke us up twice before 830am trying to clean our room. Make sure you put the do not disturb card out if you plan to sleep past 8. I'm not sure why they knocked a second time after we told them no the first time.

We're traveling for several weeks so we decided to hang a few shirts to air out, except the pull out laundry cord in the shower is a foot short and didn't reach the hook. I'm not even sure how that happens. Did it ever work?

The staff seem friendly enough but at around €120 a night, this is not a good deal in our opinion. We stayed in an apartment a few nights ago that was less than half this cost and nicer.

The saving point is that the hotel is close to good transit routes and very close to the town parish, which is celebrating its feast this week (which is why we are here). So at least we can enjoy the festivities and amazing fireworks.

Room Tip: Hallway noise is a bit much close to the elevators. Not all balcony rooms have a view of outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank russ772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent short break celebrating your honey-moon and we appreciate your sharing with us this valuable feedback.

We regret finding out that there may have been some aspects, which have affected your overall enjoyment while sojourning with us, only here, on Trip Advisor. We would have certainly did our utmost to ensure you have a tranquil and relaxing stay, had we known before. We pride ourselves with the professional yet personalized customer service and it saddens us when our approach, such as the complimentary upgrade from an economy room to a Junior Suite, does not give much value to our guests.

Without going into details on the reality of the reported maintenance in the unit you were accommodated in, we wish to thank you, as it is thanks to such criticism that we can continue to improve and aim higher in meeting and exceeding our esteemed guests' expectations, regardless of how high these may be.

While wishing you a very happy newly married life together, we thank you for your custom and consideration.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Smart hotel with excellent facilities in the heart of town, perfect location for experiencing the busy town after dark. Families can enjoy the locals friendship and hospitality. The Hotel has lots to offer should you wish a quiet and relaxing time. Very very enjoyable and good value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken the time in sharing this review with us.

We are pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and have appreciated the Hotel's central location and the hospitality, which our village is renowned for.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my two daughters, half board. Room large enough and has privacy curtain.
The staff were brilliant.
First night we were due to arrive late and after enquiring about restaurant times via email, cold platters were arranged FOC.
Restaurant staff were great and the food was good quality and plentiful, although if you are looking for top top quality it was off the mark. Basic food (chips and plain pasta)was specially prepared for my youngest who has peculiar eating habits and had little desire for the buffet offerings.
The front desk staff, were extra helpful, and the attitude to the customer was first class.
The housekeeping was excellent and we had no complaints.
Criticisms- The bar facilities were lacking, the bar doubling up as a coffee shop in the main reception, although the sister hotel- The Pergola has better bar facilities, and is a short walk away.
Something not the fault of the hotel is the on street parking restrictions on the main road outside he hotel. There is limited on site parking and in peak times certain roads away from the main road may need to be used.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to sojourn at the Solana Hotel & Spa for your summer holidays and we appreciate that you have dedicated some of your precious time in sharing your experience with all of us.

We are delighted to read that you and your family have had a thoroughly enjoyable time and we are grateful towards your recognition towards our Team, food offerings and the Housekeeping's efficiency.

While hoping to host you for another stay in the nearest future, we take this opportunity in wish your family all the very best for the remaining summer.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Hotel is very clean the rooms are comfortable, the roof terrace is fab so is the indoor pool, but if you visit the gym you will be disappointed. The equipment is basic the hotel could really do with investing in better and more updated equipment, what they currently supply is cheap and cheerful . The staff are very polite and friendly but there are a couple of grumpy ones you will meet them trust.

Room Tip: They do a selection of rooms we had a studio with a balcony it was nice. Do not get a room at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronaldpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are thankful that you have chosen to stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa for your summer holidays and we're equally appreciative that you have shared your accommodation experience with us.

Your generous comments related to the Hotel's cleanliness and room comfort are very much welcome, whereas thanks to your valuable feedback towards the other mentioned aspects, we will endeavor in continuing to strive harder in improving our quality of service and product.

While thanking you for your time and consideration, we send you our best of regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great hotel, the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were given a local soft drink as soon as we arrived when other guests were being booked in hotel. The receptionist was super. The hotel was spotless, the brekfast was good. Only problem was that our room had no balcony, we didn;t relaise this at time of booking. Would defintely stay there again, just a room with balcony. Great place to stay

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the Team at the Solana Hotel & Spa, we wish to thank you for having chosen us for your recent holidays in Malta.

Your generous feedback was overwhelming and we have no doubt that you will reconsider our Hotel should your holiday plans bring you back to Malta. Please feel free to contact us directly prior to making a reservation so we will ensure that the room type booked will meet and even exceed your expectations this time.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
3.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.0 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,876 reviews
3.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,049 reviews
4.2 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: RM188 - RM5,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing