We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Tanjung Bulat Jungle Camp(Kinabatangan District)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
565
198
44
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
198
44
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsborneo eco tourspygmy elephantsnight cruisethe riverboat tripceiling fansmall poolplunge poolexcellent guideair conditioningsir davidrooms are clean and comfortablewildlife viewingrainforest lodgesandakan airportserved buffet stylegomantong caves
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We went expecting basic accommodation and facilities so we were astounded to find such comfortable accommodation in the jungle! Fabulous welcome, delightful rooms, great meals and incredible wildlife. Our guide Fernando, Captain Jack the skipper, Peter and Annie were great. A trip of a lifetime - thank you

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TpoNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Sukau Rainforest Lodge along the shore of the Kinabatangan River. I drove from Sandakan and left my car at Lepit jetty for the few nights I was there. There was a bit of a mix-up in getting me picked-up from the jetty but the on-side manager Donnie was there to welcome me upon my arrival and was very accommodating. I was taken to my room, which had recently been remodeled. For a room in the rainforest, it was very nice and provided two beds, a nice bathroom, and a sun room. There is a boardwalk behind the hotel that lets you wander worry-free through the rainforest where you can spot macaques, hornbills, and if you are lucky an orangutan or even a pygmy elephant. My guide, Jumairi, was extremely nice and passionate about his work. He helped us spot wildlife (snakes, birds, elephants, etc.) around the Kinabatangan river. Food is served on a wooden terrace/jetty built over the river, and you are well fed (for non-vegetarians) throughout the stay. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at the Sukau Rainforest Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Wonderful. You need to understand what this place is about. If you go expecting resort-style luxury and facilities you will be disappointed, so don't !

It's a lodge in the rainforest, and a fantastic location in a beautiful environment. The facilities are very good, the rooms are comfortable, the showers are hot, the staff are excellent and the food is good.

And you will see fantastic wildlife in a natural environment; we saw orang utans, proboscis monkeys, macaques, langurs, pygmy elephants, a crocodile and a good selection of birdlife. OK, you don't get as close as you would in a sanctuary like Labuk Bay or Sepilok, but you do still get good views, and you are seeing them in the genuine wild. The place has a very relaxed atmosphere, there are activities which you can do or not as you choose, and the guides from Borneo Eco Tours (who run the lodge) are excellent and entertaining. Ours was a guy called Fernando, highly recommended.

Be warned, it's a rainforest, there's a clue in the name, you're likely to get wet on a boat trip, so have changes of clothing, as it is difficult to get stuff dry quickly.

I thought it was a magical place and I really like what they are trying to do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanSamways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

this is a very impressive facilityand we were very well looked after and left to our own devices which is so refreshing in the so called PC world we live in. our guide was fernando nicknamed 'last train'. very attentive. we were a party of 8 and learnt a huge amount of palm oil which gave us all a fright. although its an eco lodge and does not have any a/c, the rooms are designed in such a way that they are at an acceptable temperature. thoroughly recommend the whole experience particualry the boat ride there and back and the canoes into the jungle.

Room Tip: all the same.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Sukau Rainforest Lodge as part of our Borneo Eco Tour and we had an amazing time!

Our guide Jamaidi (or Jay) was excellent! He made sure his group was always ready to go and were the first ones in line for the turtles (at Selingan) and orang-utans (at Sepilok). So when he heard there were a herd of pygmy elephants feeding beside the river, he quickly gathered us up early for our afternoon cruise. The experience was surreal - these large gentle creatures feeding beside the river, not overly concerned by our presence in the boats - amazing! We saw a crocodile, plenty of monkeys, a wild orang-utan and and her baby and heaps of birds!

The staff at the lodge were helpful and extremely friendly. Once they found out we were enthusiastic about just about anything that moved they pointed out lizards and insects etc for us to see.

The rooms were very comfortable - they only have a fan which some of our European tour buddies found a bit uncomfortable.

The food was also good although sometimes there didn't seem like enough fruit to go around. And I highly recommend the locally caught prawns/shrimps - yum!

There is a boardwalk at the back of the lodge which you are able to walk alone. You can see elephant footprints all throughout. We went by ourselves one afternoon and saw plenty of macaques and also went for a short walk at night and saw frogs, snakes and geckos.

The lodge is a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_El_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews