We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Old Phuket Town
from US$60.52
More Info
from US$30.99
More Info
from US$39.73
More Info
from US$31.78
More Info
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
1,887 results
Traveller rating
736
719
321
75
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
736
719
321
75
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sino portuguese shop houses street art sunday night market interesting architecture street food walk around few hours worth a visit patong beach graffiti chino phuket stroll heritage restored shophouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,887 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

You definitely need to spend a full day in Old Phuket Town, I was amazed at how many coffee shops there were, the streets are filled with old buildings and lots of little hidden gems, easy to shop a lot here

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank TheRealChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2019

We stayed at Patong Resort, plan for a full day trip to Old Phuket Town. We took the local blue bus to arrive Phuket Town, cheap and convenience, and it is quite an experience to travel like local people. Upon arrival and alight from the Blue Bus, local people were kind enough to brief and show you direction when to go. We noted that it is mostly inhabit by Chinese, from ages ago. Many of the old houses were kept and we can see the history of the town. We walked around and head to the main attraction of Chino-Portugal Architecture Building and various old building around the area. It is within walking distance and can be easily access.
We took the local lunch and is tasteful, worth trying.
Then before the Blue Bus stop service at 5:00 pm, we return to Patong by the local bus. It was really a relaxing and good day to spend at this Old Phuket Town.
One thing we wish to say is that the old town is very similar to that at Melacca, Penang, Malaysia. It is good to visit there, either join the tour, or by yourself.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Frankie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2019 via mobile

We spent the day in old Phuket town walking around through the different stores and street vendors. If you're looking for souvenirs that are not mass-produced and more of the handmaid variety old Phuket Town is the place to go. We found many unique and high quality gifts to bring back home.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Venture793426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2019

I liked this area better than the congested area around Bangla road. This area has some great old architecture and everything is painted brightly. There are some historical places, Chinpracha house and Phuket Thaihua Museum and there are probably more places we didn’t get a chance to see. The only disappointment I would saw would be the lack of souvenir shops that carry Phuket Tshirts. Many sell the exact same thing for some reason, many fabric stores. But I couldn’t find and XXL Tshirt in the two stores that I saw that carried Tshirts. I sort of felt bad because there wasn’t any visitors in some of the stores and yet if they sold Tshirts they might do better. It’s sort of amazing, oh well. There were some restaurants that seemed quite nice bet we didn’t eat there.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank ephyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

This is well worth a visit. Vibrant, bustling, fun and good value for money. The colours of the buildings are picture perfect. The stalls are interesting and many unique but it is the overall atmosphere that we really enjoyed. The street food is absolutely second to none. It is delicious and the choice is endless. All the stands are down the centre of the main street and either side there are rows of shops and bars.The market is on Sundays only I believe and it was one of the hilights of our visit. We never felt it was pushy and by that I mean the vendors are busy and selling without too much effort and you can view all the produce gently and at your ease without the hard sell. A fab experience. We highly recommend Old Town as a place to visit. Look out for some fun local charachters too. We spotted a lady carrying a cat in a harness
and wearing shades. !!!! Live music all evening and authentic Thai dance and performances also.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank aingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews