We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
242
78
37
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
78
37
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtstone arthurroaring firecosy barlangdale valleyhomemade biscuitsdamson ginskelwith bridgecountry house hotelfabulous foodafternoon teawell stocked barsunday lunchroll top bathhigh standardlovely settingpudding
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Today I fell in love with the Eltermere Inn, went walking with my friend and we found this wonderful Inn purely by chance. The decor is great, the staff
All happy to see you and look like they enjoy working in such a beautiful place. The food was delicious, the local ales just perfect, I will be back with my wife and dogs because I found a little piece of heaven that I have to enjoy again. Thank you to everyone there you made our visit extremely memorable

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Came here for the first time last week with a friend and opted for the Sunday lunch. It was served nicely and the beef was really good but something (I think it was the gravy) was quite sweet. The surroundings were really nice and cosy (lovely log fire in the bar area). Staff were pleasant and service was fine. I enjoyed my meal but afterwards thought it was quite expensive for what it was. I only had the one course because I thought the sweets at nearly £7 each were not worth it. I liked the place but not sure I would rush back - sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayPeaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We had the most wonderful three night stay here. The location is just right. The quirky room was decorated to the highest standard with a lovely freestanding bath, perfect for a soak after a wet day walking the fells. The food was delicious and fair value for money. We loved the breakfast with a great choice and plenty of it. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We definitely will be returning here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A friend and I love doing the walk around Elterwater and Skelwith Bridge and decided yesterday to combine it with Sunday lunch at the Eltermere which we pass every time we do the walk. I have eaten here once before but it was going to be the first time for her.

We both opted for the roast beef which was delicious and I followed it up with a beautiful and moist orange cake with chocolate mousse and ice cream.

The Eltermere is a traditional country inn and we ate in the bar area. We did find the service a little odd and not especially warm and welcoming (though the lady who took our original booking was very pleasant). When I asked for recommendations regarding the pudding, it was met with a blank stare.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely place with great food, could have eaten anything off the menu the service is excellent the rooms are nice and the location peaceful - nicely decorated and good prices
I had sirloin and my wife had hake it was all well prepared

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J0hnlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews