We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”
Review of Agrodome

Agrodome
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.94*
and up
Agrodome Sheep Show and Farm Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In the heart of 350-acres of lush farmland, yet only 10 minutes from Rotorua city centre, you’ll find New Zealand’s Agrodome. Join us for a unique New Zealand farm experience! For over 40 years, visitors from all over the globe have come to the Agrodome to see our world-famous Farm Show starring a cast of talented animals… and you! You’ll hear amazing facts and have a few laughs as you’re introduced to 19 breeds of sheep. After the show you can visit the Farmyard Nursery, which is home to our cutest baby animals who are available for cuddles and photos! There are three exciting shows a day at 9.30am, 11.00am and 2.30pm. Plus, if you really want to explore the Agrodome 350-acre working farm then join our Farm Tour. During this guided tour, you'll get to hand-feed loads of friendly animals including Romney sheep, cattle, deer, llamas, ostrich, pigs and alpaca! You’ll also sample delicious kiwifruit juice and honey from our land. Tours depart daily at 10.40am, 12.10pm, 1.30pm and 3.40pm.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It's a very entertaining activity for the family. The hosts were funny and informative and everyone in our family, from the grandparents to the great grandchildren, enjoyed this very much.

Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Kia ora (Hello), thank you for your review. I'm really glad you and your family enjoyed your time at Agrodome and watching the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sheep shearing"
in 109 reviews
"farm tour"
in 233 reviews
"lamb"
in 38 reviews
"new zealand"
in 131 reviews
"different types"
in 44 reviews
"audience participation"
in 36 reviews
"kiwi juice"
in 26 reviews
"baby animals"
in 21 reviews
"working farm"
in 19 reviews
"dog show"
in 14 reviews
"gift shop"
in 35 reviews
"manuka honey"
in 13 reviews
"all ages"
in 40 reviews
"rainy day"
in 15 reviews
"on display"
in 16 reviews
"great fun"
in 45 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 12 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We went to the show as part of a tour and it is well worth seeing. The man (sorry not sure of his name) did a fabulous job. We had a lot of laughs and he is wonderful with the sheep and the dogs. I didn't realize there was so many kinds of sheep in NZ!

Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Kia ora (Hello) Patricia L, thank you for your review. I'm really glad you enjoyed watching the Farm Show and learning about our different sheep breeds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Our visit to the Agrodome was a part of a Rotorua city tour. We were there for the show, which probably lasted about 45 minutes to an hour.

As part of the show we we’re introduced to the many different breeds of sheep. We also got to watch a sheep getting sheared. The sheep dogs also climbed onto the backs of the sheep and ran along the sheep. The show itself was pretty entertaining.

After the show, they had a brief demonstration of how the sheep dogs rounded up the sheep.

The property also had a farm that had other activities as well. Our guide told us that there are other thrill adventures that you could sign up for.

Thank badmaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Kia ora (Hello) badmaru, thank you for your review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit to Agrodome and watching the Farm Show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

An excellent show, showing us the major breeds of sheep farmed in NZ. with a bit of kiwi humour along the way. See working dogs at work; bottle feed lambs, and also interact with all the animals after the show. Great facilities and very helpful and enthusiastic staff. Highly recommend; even for kiwis.

Thank dymo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Kia ora (Hello) dymo61, thank you for your review. I'm really glad you enjoyed the farm show and interacting with our different farm animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

I never had the slightest of idea that there were so many variety of sheeps before I visited this place. Its a stage show where the host first introduces to the various variety of sheeps from around the world at the same time explaining the speciality of each one. Its amazing to see how the sheeps fall in line and climb to their designated spot in the stage. The host keeps the crowd entertained throughout the show by calling them of stage. He also shows how wool is extracted from a sheep, which is one of the highest practiced occupations in New Zealand.

Thank AltafVali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Kia ora (Hello) AltafVali, thank you for your review. I'm really glad you enjoyed the farm show and learning about the variety of sheep that we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agrodome also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Agrodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing