We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Fun Day”
Review of Rippon Lea

Rippon Lea
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.57*
and up
Melbourne Attractions Pass Including Melbourne...
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Elsternwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We took the family to the Easter Event and had a wonderful day. We got there early to give ourselves enough time to do everything and lucky we did - we go every year and this year was the busiest by far.
There were lots of activities - games, face painting, craft and we always love walking through the beautiful mansion.
The Easter egg hunt was a different set up this year and while we had no issues, as the day went on the queues got longer as there were just huge numbers of people. My advice to people planning to go next year is to arrive early as it gets very busy.
We love this event and happily pay the entry fees as it supports the National Trust. We will definitely be back next year!

1  Thank GraceKellyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatTrustVic, General Manager at Rippon Lea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Our busiest Easter yet!
So glad that despite the crowds you had a good time. We are currently reviewing our Easter hunt for next year to make it more accessible and easier for smaller children to experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"miss fisher"
in 34 reviews
"national trust"
in 32 reviews
"murder mysteries"
in 22 reviews
"old house"
in 13 reviews
"on display"
in 16 reviews
"lookout tower"
in 8 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 10 reviews
"guided tour"
in 9 reviews
"house tour"
in 7 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 6 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 6 reviews
"devonshire tea"
in 7 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 8 reviews
"sunny day"
in 5 reviews
"special events"
in 5 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 4 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

I had two very big issues during my visit to Rippon Lea, the staff and the house itself.

The staff: When we arrived to buy our tour tickets, the lady who served us was very rude and abrasive. Honestly, if we hadn't of traveled so far, her behaviour would have made me turn around and walk back out. I don't care if you're a volunteer or a paid staff member, if you're having a bad day you NEVER take it out on a customer! Our actual tour guide was an older gentleman who was late and was admonished for it in from of the group by another lady, very unprofessional/uncomfortable. He was very quiet, which coupled with the power tool noise of the renovation meant he was very hard to hear. This would have been more of an issue except he didn't know anything! He had very basic information and every follow up question his answer was "I don't know". Wikipedia knows more than he did. I can understand he was a volunteer, but surely you should know what you're talking about if you're leading a paid tour?!!!

As for the house, it was NOT worth the money for the tour. Look at the images online and you will see more. I understand the trust is run on donations to maintain and furnish the house, but it was just tired, dirty, empty and sad. Plus we only got to see maybe a third of the whole house? Downstairs: parlor, bathroom, study, living room, dining room, hallway/stairs. Upstairs: one bedroom, dressing room and we could look into two bathrooms from the roped off doorways.

I wish I had of had my review to read before I went. Hopefully I can save other people from wasting their time and money.

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatTrustVic, General Manager at Rippon Lea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

We apologise if your visit was not the best experience on the public holiday. We have discussed the day with staff and volunteers and are actively working into our training program direction, help and support to the staff on these busy days. Without your comments and that of others about the site we cannot work towards improving the visitor experience.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Visited beautiful RipponLea with a National Seniors Tour.
Magnificient gardens and wonderful home full of old world pieces.
Right in the middle of surburbia but very peaceful and tranquil.
Gave a glimse of times gone by.

Thank Lindyl0u54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatTrustVic, Manager at Rippon Lea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are glad that you had a good visit to Ripponlea. Both the house and the gardens are maintained by the National Trust Volunteers and staff who take great pride in presenting it to you the visitor. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Ive toured this estate and historic mansion before so brought my sister here for a treat

Internet says open until 5pm We arrive at 2.45pm and are turned away with other hopeful tourists being told no tours available... sold out at 10am...can't book ahead (and come back) ...run by volunteers who they don't know will turn up or not.... and NO tour NO see house!!! This is terrible and the adds should state this information Very bad to advertise open until 5pm and not helpful for visitors in any way Not Happy at all

Thank Clover M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatTrustVic, Manager at Rippon Lea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is only through feedback that we can review and improve our services to visitors. I do apologise that you had an misleading trip to Rippon Lea on what was a particularly busy day. We are now looking into reviewing these days to provide an open house system that can at certain times accomodate high numbers into the house as a normal tour usually take about 45 minutes. We will also look into improving the information on our website and telephone information line to ensure that future visitors can be made more aware of our booking system on these busy days. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The house is very representative of its period,not over furnished,and the gardens are a delight to walk around on a bright sunny day,with plenty of shady dells.A great spot for a pcnic,with plenty of space for children to burn off excess energy!

Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatTrustVic, Manager at Rippon Lea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our gardens are a testament to the design and creativity of Mr Sargood over 150 years ago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rippon Lea also viewed

 

Been to Rippon Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing