We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
75
62
27
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
62
27
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake superiorapostle islandshot tubsmall casinorv campgroundpremier suitehotel areafree shuttlespacious suitepoor lightingview of the lakegreat getawaynorthern wisconsinmadeline islandthe entire hotelfamily weddinggas station
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had an excellent time here for a destination wedding--the hotel, facilities, views, value are all great. The staff is very friendly and kind and helpful. The rates for the wedding block were only $70/night, which is reasonable and all my relatives were all in the same wing, which was very fun. The kids had fun in the little pool and splashing on the little beach. And, of course, there are plenty of things to do in and around Bayfield. The casino restaurant food was pretty good and the waitstaff was excellent. The casino staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice and had doors to the inside and outside--which I really liked, a lot.

However, only stay here if you like to sleep in and smell cigarette smoke all the time. We had a family wedding here (otherwise I wouldn't have chosen a casino hotel) and the setting was very nice, lovely views, and the reception food pretty good for that purpose--if you don't mind you and your children breathing in cigarette and cigar fumes constantly. It was in the halls, the reception room, in the bedrooms, and even outside!!!!

They had a policy against smoking in the rooms or within 10 feet of the building, which no-one followed and no-one enforced. If you are considering this for a destination wedding, consider whether you would want you and your guests to be in a heavy smoking setting.

Room Tip: --rooms on the south side face the bay, swimming pool, court yard --rooms on the north side face the lake, camp ground, and parking lot --suites have the best views and are very, very lovely! --All rooms are smokey --Pool is small and shallow --Jacuzzi is indoor/outdoor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoddessFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here when we went to Bayfield, Wi for an Apostle Island Bottom Boat Tour (which was a huge mistake.) We thought we would stay at the casino since rooms at a casino are generally cheaper. Well not this one! $140 for one night stay in a casino. That bites!

The room was nice, and clean but since the casino is newer I am sure things haven't started to fall apart yet.

Staff was friendly.

Food.. well we ate in the only restaurant they have and it was not that good. For dinner we each had the sirloin and shrimp. The steak was good, the shrimp had no flavor, butter had no flavor and the veggies they put on the plate were horrible. And for breakfast I seriously think they had decided to nap before cooking because it took almost 30 minutes to get our food. And, the restaurant wasn't even 1/4 full. And the food was very greasy!

Loved our waitress for breakfast! She was very attentive and fun. And the hostess as well.

I can say one thing.... we generally don't go to casinos because we don't smoke and they always smell so bad. It was hard to tell that anyone had smoked in this casino.. so that was a plus.

Room Tip: We had a nice view from our room on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheilarae71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Some of my friends and I stayed at Legendary Waters recently for the annual Apostle Islands Offshore Powerboat Club Fun Run.

The hotel/casino staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room were very new, spacious, and tidy with a fantastic view of Lake Superior.

The marina offers easy launching for 25-50ft boats and excellent slips and docks.

We will definitely be back next year and I highly recommend Legendary Waters for either a peaceful getaway or high speed adrenaline-filled weekend on Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Reserve a walk-out room on the first level so you can enjoy easy access to the lake!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

When four friends of 60 years decided to gather in Bayfield, we chose Legendary Waters. We were delighted with the hotel, restaurant, and casino. The premiere suite was perfect for late-night conversations with great views of Lake Superior from the balcony. The staff was friendly, helpful, and engaging. This is a great place to gather a group and enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for the premiere suite with upper balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Rooms very nice and very quiet, large shower, good beds, nice setting on the lake, free shuttle to Bayfield was very nice. Hotel restaurant was OK. We would stay here again. Probably the best hotel close to Bayfield.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronhoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews