We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish shop”
Review of The Fish Shop

The Fish Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 March 2021

We had some great fish and chips from here on a recent trip to the south coast which we enjoyed on a picnic table just on the edge of the river.
Burrill beach and the south side of Dolphin Point are well worth a visit when in the same area.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank jeffd613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2021

Love this place for the fish and prawns. Could easily give the chips a miss as they are absolutely nothing special.....just frozen yellow unpleasant things.

There is always a decent wait, but the staff work hard to power through.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicbensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

My friend & I ordered a bunch of things to try out, calamari rings & seafood sticks & fish cocktails & a bunch of chips, with a handful of fresh school prawns.
The calamari rings were delicious & were so tender, not chewy at all, definitely the best part. The seafood sticks were fine, it's hard to mess those up. The fish was okay, the flavour was basic but the crumbs were good. None of it was too greasy or oily. The chips were average though. It took maybe 10 minutes to cook the whole thing, pretty reasonable.
The prawns were so fresh & delicious, I only grabbed maybe 200 grams but I wish I'd bought more, they were so good.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021

Walked over from Burrill lake. The staff were very helpful with our order and even though there was a long queue it was ready quite quickly.

Just ordered fish and chips and calamari, but all tasted great and fresh. Great location and service just tops it off.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank AussieJames123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020

Outstanding food as always.
Unfortunately, very poor customer service experience.
Female staff member very rude and hostile towards me (the customer). Displayed clear signs of unfriendly and unhelpful manners.
Argued with customer in front of other customers.
This negative experience reflects poorly on a small local business.
Will be reluctant to visit again, after being treated so badly in front of other customers and staff members.
One bad experience goes a very long way in a small town.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank melbA7555NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.