We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great at the right price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bang Tao Beach
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked this hotel directly via the web, they offer 40% off the regular rate on their own website which I think is about the right rate for this hotel.
Situated right on the beach, the outlook from the restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast is really good, cooked to order ever day & served right on the water.
The hotels offers a one-way transfer from the airport which is great because transport on Phuket is always a challenge but in Bangtao you really have no taxis at all - just a few guys that run the local transport & they have you over a barrel every time you want to go anywhere. There is just enough around the hotel to get by - minimarts, pharmacy, restaurants etc. but if you are here for (say) more than 4-5 days you better enjoy just lazing around reading a good book.
The hotel is old, rooms are dated but very clean. The cheapest room at the hotel (at around $30USD) is best avoided in my opinion - they are smallish and have no window for natural light. I went for the next grade up and thought my room was great for around $65USD it was very, very big & had a window overlooking the sea.
The pool is tiny, not enticing at all but I found this got me out onto the beach & walking up along the shore line was just so much fun with many local Thai traders selling drinks at regular intervals, small market stalls and even a few outstanding restaurants right on the sand.
Bangtao is nowhere near as comercialised as Patong, so if you are looking for an island getaway without the hassle and negatives of Patong, this is certainly worth considering.

Room Tip: The cheapest room at the hotel (at around $30USD) is best avoided in my opinion - they are smallish...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We got off a plane late evening and, instead of doing the long drive to busy Phuket town, we stopped here for the night. The staff found us some beer then we went out looking for food. It was pretty quiet by 11pm but we found a terrific local open air cafe nearby. We awoke next morning to a gorgeous day and swam in the ocean - bliss! As it was late in the season, there was hardly anyone else at the hotel so it was very private. The gardens are lovely, and the beach is literally one step away from the hotel. The pool is tiny, which wasn't a problem in low season, and clean. The rooms are spacious with lovely patios though the bathroom fittings need upgrading and the beds are the firmest I've ever slept on. The staff are helpful though linguistically limited - but then so were we. Breakfast was included and, all in all, this was a really nice, and inexpensive, way to break the journey. We were wishing we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sydneysider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Pre booked here for 4 nights, but up on arrival we found a worn out resort, the rooms where clean and spacious, but everything had its best time. The main reason we went of directly was because the swimmingpool was hilarious, only 7 meters or something and the terrain was very messy, heaps of sand all over and different materials all over. Very easy to clean up and absolutely unnecessary. When we said that we didn t want to stay here at all, nobody complains about it or spread some regrets. When I had a hotel and people leaving after 40 minutes I should like to know whats their motivation so that I had a chance to improve the quality.

Room Tip: All the rooms seems a little bit the same and had sea view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robertcoumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed for two nights before joining a liveaboard. We were feeling burnt out and in need of a drink on our room terrace overlooking the beach and thats is just what we got.

The property is a bit tired and could benefit from a refurbishment. The breakfast is limited (and we only had 2!). The sea comes in at high tied and takes over the entire beachfront and the sun parasols. Ask for a room in the higher numbers to get an uninterupted view of the sea.

This is a family run affair and it comes across that they are not all professionally trained or particularly passonate about runing this Hotel (though this could be a symptom of them not being confident with the languages). They are pleasant enough and not rude but they could definately enhance the experience of this lovely location if they were more engaging with their guests.

We didnt particuarly like the local area and for us there are better beach towns north and south of Bangtao but that is not a reflection of the immediate beachfront location of this Hotel. It would cost a small fortune to stay here if it belonged to a quality hotel chain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dormant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

after reading good reviews, we decided to stay for 5 nights here. since i had really good experience in Indonesia staying @ this kind of ocean view bangalow. so expected small, friendly and relaxed place.

only 2 staff could speak some english. kitchen smell like a fish whenever I walked by. pool was murky you can't see the bottom of the pool and so small. so many HUGE cockroaches found in our room everyday. not much vegetarian breakfast options. cutlery were greasy or sticky.

no taxi driver knew this place when we got a taxi from Pa Tong. so took ages to come back here. not so cheap to get to patong either from here.

overall, not happy. maybe i expected too much for this price. but it could be better definately.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KosieDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.2 km away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
565 reviews
0.8 km away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Andaman Seaside Resort
Andaman Seaside Resort
#5 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
145 reviews
0.3 km away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
161 reviews
1.6 km away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort

Address: 82/9 Moo 3 | Cherngtalay, Talang, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range: RM201 - RM926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Sawasdee so you can book your Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Bangtao Bay Hotel Thalang
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort Phuket/Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing